Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 08:15:24 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Database size  (Read 3454 times)

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Database size
« on: August 08, 2013, 12:19:09 AM »
Being a newbie:

is there a limit to the database size?
where to set it?

Actually, I'd like the size to be UNlimited. Similarly as to whát I am sending to clipboard.
When the database starts to exceed than -say- 1,5-2GB or so, I'd then like to :
- export clips to text files (add create date-time to the filenames), so they can be indexed by my desktop search tool
- then selectively remove clips

Is this possible?
=

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 03:43:48 PM »
Right now there is no set limit and it should be able to support as large a database as you can throw at it.
I really need to add an export feature, which I will move up on my todo list.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 10:52:59 PM »
Thanks a lot Mouser.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2013, 02:16:51 AM »
Edit:

I forgot I already added an export feature, it's in the file menu.  Sigh sometimes i wonder how i find my feet in the morning.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2013, 03:16:01 AM »

Thanks.

Yes indeed, it is there.

What I meant is to have the  -contents-  of all (or selected) clips exported to:
a. separate files
b. txt format
c. export files with titles something like "Exported Clip-ddmmyyyy-hhmmss.txt"

Such files can be indexed by a desktop search engine.

Because of the date/time added, in case of exporting again at a later date, CHS will skip or overwrite existing files.

=

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2013, 03:18:37 AM »
Interesting ideas.. let me consider..  i'm definitely open to the idea of supporting more ways of exporting if there is some consensus about which export options would be most useful.

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2013, 05:53:40 AM »
Hi Mouser, I coincidentally discovered that each CHS seems to create a new database folder. Is that correct?

My 'settings' are as per below:

=
SnagIt-26082013 124419.png
=

but eh .. the below _really_ indeed what has been created sofar...  :)
(clipboard copy of the path)

N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database\Backups

Am not sure how to correct this and/or what I have wrongly tagged or untagged.

The backup size, it seems a bit small, compared to database.

=
SnagIt-26082013 125222.png
=
Cud you shed some light on this?

Thanks.
=

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2013, 06:08:03 AM »
Yipes! Something is definitely going weird.  Can you experiment a bit more and see if you can figure out what it's doing?

dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2013, 07:30:18 AM »
CHS is creating a new database every day and then a backup of that database.

http://i528.photobucket.com/albums/dd330/phwul/ClipboardHelpSpel-database-backups-folders-26082013140109_zps08035999.png
Database size


and a lot is 'double'

=
CHS Double-26-08-2013 14-04-59.png
=

I am not sure how to solve this.

Guess, export all clips.
Delete the enitre folder.
Unzip the portable version again there.


It is the portable version and I first had it on another drive.
Thereafter I relocated the entire folder to another partition, created a shortcut on my desktop.

Maybe it got confused somewhere? I don't know.

I checked the CHS folder on the original drive, but no files have been changed since July, so that version could be deleted.

=
SnagIt-26082013 142721.png
=
thanks.

p.s.: later, ooops, I thought only a thumbnail would be displayed of the foldertree and one should click on it to view it.
it is stored on Photobucket, as I felt it would be too big here.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2013, 07:45:58 AM »
that is just insanity..

I wouldn't have thought it was possible to cause CHS to do this, so i'm keen to figure out what in your settings might be causing it.

But one thing that jumps out is in your ConfigDir.ini file, you should not have the \Database part.  it should be
N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable

And then the program will automatically know to use the Database subdirectory for the database, and the main directory for its settings.

That would explain why you get one level of repeated directories (N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\Database\Database) but not the infinite recursion.. that's surely a bug..  i'll try to find it.

Meanwhile you can backup and then fix your ConfigDir.ini and delete all those folders and start again, and see if it comes back.

Can you also check the "Image Capture" tab and see what it says for "Image File Naming"?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2013, 07:56:28 AM »
Also you mention ConfigDir_Default.ini.
Can you check if you have a ConfigDir.ini also?

You should be editing ConfigDir.ini to customize it, and leave the Configdir_Default.ini alone.  It will work if you edit ConfigDir_Default.ini, but that file might get overwritten if you accidentally unzip a new portable version.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2013, 08:09:38 AM »
Before you try to fix it as we've discussed -- i've sent you a debug version i'd like you to try, to see if we can identify the problem.


dcwul62

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2013, 08:44:28 AM »

a)  already changed the ConfigDir_Default.ini to
CONFIGDIR = N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\
exit relaunched

b) changed the folder under backup/maintenance accordingly.

=
SnagIt-26082013 153402.png
=

c) managed to restore a database-backup

d) when I clipboard anything and EXIT CHS then indeed only
N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\Backups and
N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\Database

are being updated.

e) I noticed that all the files in those N:\ClipboardHelpAndSpellPortable\Database\Database\Database\Database\Database-subfolders, actually, they were identical.
I ran Duplicate File Detective and all sizes/dates/hashes are the same - I delete those - they are small as well, 12,0kb 20kb etc. and july dated.

f) I did not touch the
ClipboardHelpAndSpell.ini
ClipboardHelpAndSpell_UserTools.ini

I guess everything is okay now.

My mistake by adding \database to the configDir.ini   ahum .. :-[

As always many thanks for the help!
=

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2013, 08:50:40 AM »
Sigh sometimes i wonder how i find my feet in the morning.
Tried removing your socks before sleeping?
 

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Database size
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2013, 09:00:07 AM »
An important tip:

If you are saving to the same directory as the app runs from, as suggested by your paths,
then you do not have to put these hardcoded full paths everywhere.

In the backups tab of options, just put "Backups" as the directory -- no need to specify the full path!

And in ConfigDir.ini, just put
PORTABLE = TRUE
or
CONFIGDIR = .

There is no need to specify the paths explicitly unless they are pointing somewhere other than the location of the ClipboardHelpAndSpell.exe.

Even if your ConfigDir.ini file is specifying an explicit path, the backup options tab can just specify "Backups" as the backup directory and it will go into a subdirectory named Backups of where the configuration file is stored.  The only time to specify a full path there is if you are putting it in some backup location on a totally different path.