Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 02:40:29 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Mouse over hints  (Read 2962 times)

Maxstacks

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Mouse over hints
« on: July 12, 2013, 03:01:52 PM »
Windows 7
LBC 1.133

How to hints work.

Do i have to type in the hint for every link I add to LBC before it will pop up when I mouse over. I drag and drop many URLs from my browser to the launch bar while I am working, do I have to then go back and type in hints for everyone. Some are just temporary and it would be nice to have some sort of info pop up without me have to do each one individually.

Any help would be appreciated.




Maxstacks

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 06:20:14 PM »
Hi: Any chance of a reply to this as I am rebuilding my system and I really would like to include LBC from the start.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2013, 07:02:30 PM »
Right now you have to set the hints manually for each item -- but i think it's a good idea to have an option for a dock to automatically use captions as hints when the captions are not shown on the dock.. I will add it.

Maxstacks

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2013, 07:20:02 PM »
Thank you very much. That is so responsive and just what i needed. I'll start installing right now.

I look look forward to the implementation.


dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2013, 06:55:09 AM »
I have version 1.133.01 but none of my hints are showing.  Is there something I have accidentally disabled that is preventing the hints from displaying? Attached is an example of one of the nodes:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2013, 07:17:48 AM »
You also have to enable hints on the DOCK (node) as a whole.

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2013, 07:33:02 AM »
Is this where you mean as it's already checked:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2013, 07:43:30 AM »
Yeah that's where I meant.
Try this -- if you actually click on a menu on your bar, do the hints THEN start to kick in on mouse over?

Maxstacks

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2013, 01:01:30 AM »
Hi:

Any chance of a patch to allow 'automatically use captions as hints' before a full version release with this capability?

Very eager to get this ability.

Thanks.

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2013, 02:11:20 AM »
Hi Mouser, no clicking a menu makes no difference. It's not meant to be!

MaxStacks idea is partly what I was trying to use my hints for.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2013, 04:39:40 PM »

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Mouse over hints
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2013, 06:31:42 AM »
Still no hints!  I'll try it at home to see if it works there (but it may not be an issue there).