Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 10:49:44 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Win7 x64 and screen shots  (Read 1517 times)

syoung300

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Win7 x64 and screen shots
« on: April 29, 2013, 12:09:05 PM »
I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Using Screenshot captor as portable: white or black images.
For troubleshooting -Another SS program ran as portable: White images.
Print screen: Works fine as one of the above programs aren't active.
Launched as admin - same issue.
Running in compatibility mode: haven't tried.

My screen shots using 3rd party programs produce an all white or black image. I've tried another program besides screenshot captor with same ending.
I'm using the portable version. Could this be the issue? Running as administrator seemed to work...but only once.

I'm about to jump on another flight and limited on time. I did try a search forum and read through 2 pages of threads.  Thanks for any suggestions.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Win7 x64 and screen shots
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 12:33:38 PM »
Welcome to the syoung!

We actually know of this problem!
It's due to a security program blocking screenshot tools.

ZoneAlarm is one program that does this, Kaspersky is another.

This thread has some more discussion of the issue:
http://www.donationc...ndex.php?topic=20962

Solution is simply to add Screenshot Captor to the allowed list.

Another thing that would be good to do is write to these companies and tell them how incredibly irresponsible it is for them to be causing this behavior without telling the user why the screenshots are made blank.

syoung300

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Win7 x64 and screen shots
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 01:12:02 PM »
Thank You Mouser

I'm using Webroot which uses HIPPS. I'm glad I posted here, I would of spent a good many a hour trying to fix this. Instead of using the portable version. I installed the normal build and still got the white screen. I just added SS Captor to the exclusion list in Webroot.  Everything is working.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Win7 x64 and screen shots
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 01:13:51 PM »
Great  :up:

I think the best thing for me to do might be to check for all all white/black capture, and show a special message suggesting the possible cause of the problem.

syoung300

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Win7 x64 and screen shots
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2013, 01:17:26 PM »
 8)