Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 11:40:04 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - ScreenshotCaptor - v4.9.1 - Oct 10, 2014  (Read 228324 times)
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #325 on: February 06, 2012, 04:11:04 AM »

The current download doesn't seem to be renamable to .zip...

...well, that's nonsense, actually. I can rename it to screenshotcaptor.zip all I like, I just can't open it and extract its contents.  Wink

there's two versions of it now, see the download page

Logged

Tom
oblivion
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 354


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #326 on: February 06, 2012, 04:31:12 AM »

Aha. Oops.  embarassed

Thanks!
Logged

-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #327 on: February 06, 2012, 04:54:39 AM »

Bugs ?
1) When you use the 'Splice out strip by defined selection [DELUXE]' (*) Undo doesn't work (at least for me). Seems to work everywhere else even with the new [DELUXE] ragged borders etc. so is this a bug ?

2) The bug I reported where objects get left where they were put when you remove a section by  'Splice out strip by defined selection' is still present. This is not a major bug as I said when I reported it you just have to remember to remove first and then apply objects otherwise you have grab and relocate all the objects.

(*) The ragged effect is very nice once you get used to how to drive it  Kiss
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 04:54:58 AM by hubi; Reason: fix grammar » Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,479



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #328 on: February 06, 2012, 07:25:41 AM »

Oops.  Never mind smiley
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #329 on: February 06, 2012, 11:37:09 AM »

1) When you use the 'Splice out strip by defined selection [DELUXE]' (*) Undo doesn't work (at least for me). Seems to work everywhere else even with the new [DELUXE] ragged borders etc. so is this a bug ?
I've tried it and undo is working without problems for me (Win7-64)
 Have you selected "Automatically apply shadow effect to image afterwards"?
 Then there are 3 undo-steps available.

2) The bug I reported where objects get left where they were put when you remove a section by  'Splice out strip by defined selection' is still present. This is not a major bug as I said when I reported it you just have to remember to remove first and then apply objects otherwise you have grab and relocate all the objects.
Confirmed!
Logged

Ralf
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #330 on: February 06, 2012, 11:44:38 AM »

Undo doesn't work on blur splice effect -- On my todo list to fix.  I'll check into object position adjustment during splicing.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 11:56:00 AM by mouser » Logged
jinkerz7
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #331 on: February 07, 2012, 10:26:41 PM »

The new Splice out strip defined by selection (DELUXE) feature is very slick (especially after a shadow is added).
Keep up the great work!
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,790


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #332 on: February 11, 2012, 11:28:37 PM »

Minor bug? Text character truncation.
Sorry, I had noticed this last week, but forgot to mention it till I saw it again just now when I was using SSC again. (Brilliant new version, by the way.    Thmbsup)
Not sure if anyone else has already mentioned it.
Some of the characters in text boxes seem to get slightly truncated. In the example below, it seems to be the letters "w" at the ends of words with the string "...view".
It doesn't seem to be 100% consistent/repeatable - e.g., in an earlier view of this same text (which I did not capture an image of) the "v" in Preview" seemed to get slightly truncated, but I think the "w" looked OK.
Changing font size didn't seem to affect it.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #333 on: February 11, 2012, 11:58:15 PM »

strange..
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #334 on: February 12, 2012, 12:09:03 AM »

Text has always behaved a little "oddly" in ScreenshotCaptor, at least to me i.e.

a) It has always rendered as a little blury (even when Blend mode was normal)
b) The w and v don't lay out properly (kerning ?)
c) The font size seems odd Arial 16 was selected in both programs but display at radically different size.

e.g. compare two test samples from ScreenshotCaptor and Paint.Net


Nothing I can't live with  Wink.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 12:12:51 AM by hubi; Reason: Clarification » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #335 on: February 12, 2012, 12:13:29 AM »

i'll look into it -- should be fixable.
Logged
rgdot
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,643


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #336 on: February 12, 2012, 12:16:26 AM »

At first I didn't think of it but isn't this similar to the screenshot (cropped version attached) I took for my review? notice the S in the text box


* sc_cr.jpg (23.14 KB, 393x199 - viewed 132 times.)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #337 on: February 12, 2012, 01:31:49 AM »

Regarding the cut off W, I have two questions:

1. Does the W still appear cutoff when you LEAVE editing mode?
2. Do you have antialiasing disabled completely for objects (see object editing tab)?

What I'm getting at is -- is this bad text rendering only happening when text is in anti-aliasing mode.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #338 on: February 12, 2012, 01:39:07 AM »

ps im going to split off some of these topics since they belong in their own threads.
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #339 on: February 12, 2012, 01:43:41 AM »

Regarding the cut off W, I have two questions:

1. Does the W still appear cutoff when you LEAVE editing mode?
Yes

2. Do you have antialiasing disabled completely for objects (see object editing tab)?
It was on, have disabled it result appears below


What I'm getting at is -- is this bad text rendering only happening when text is in anti-aliasing mode.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 01:47:34 AM by hubi; Reason: Attach modified image, fix errors » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #340 on: February 12, 2012, 02:02:37 AM »

I'm not sure if your problem and Ian's are the same; let's see what Ian says about his W.
You're problem is a little harder to identify.. Maybe you can make the text bigger and let's see how it looks when it is at 100% zoom and large text like 48-72point?
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,790


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #341 on: February 12, 2012, 03:16:37 AM »

Here's another example. I've rescaled (enlarged) it to show the truncation of the "w"s. It's not as marked as my previous example (above). That's what I meant by not consistent/repeatable 100%.
Same as @hubri, I too have noticed the fuzziness of SSC images/text. so I tend to use "sharpen" on them to reduce the blur and improve clarity of the text.
These sorts of issues are relatively minor as far as I am concerned.
Regarding the cut off W, I have two questions:
1. Does the W still appear cutoff when you LEAVE editing mode?
2. Do you have antialiasing disabled completely for objects (see object editing tab)?
What I'm getting at is -- is this bad text rendering only happening when text is in anti-aliasing mode.

1. Yes.
2. Antialiasing on/off seems to make no difference to the truncation of the "w"s.


* Truncated text in SSC text box 02.jpg (158.34 KB, 800x338 - viewed 120 times.)
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,790


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #342 on: February 12, 2012, 03:32:53 AM »

OK, this might be useful:
Take the string pattern "WHwh".
Starting with a font size 400, progress down in font size incrementally.
At some font sizes, there is no truncation.
At some font sizes, there is truncation of the "W" only.
At some font sizes, there is truncation of the "w" only.
At some font sizes, there is truncation of the "W" and the "w".
Doing this, it looks to me as though truncation might be occurring when the following "H" or "h" boundary moves over the preceding "W" or "w", respectively.
It's like the proportional spacing might be a bit out of whack at certain font sizes.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 03:57:24 AM by IainB; Reason: Major update to this post. » Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,790


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #343 on: February 12, 2012, 03:56:54 AM »

See major updated immediately preceding post.
Logged
hubi
Charter Member
***
Posts: 40

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #344 on: February 13, 2012, 06:45:16 AM »

Bumped into another screen capture tool & while checking reviews saw a reference to scrolling captures in Screenshotcapto which I had never used. Quick view of the demo on this site (nice work) & it looked very slick. Tried it out on a web page & came away very very impressed  cheesy  Thmbsup ! Takes a few steps but then it has quite a bit to do.

Excellent bit of coding and I have a fairly regular need/use for it.

P.S. For me it does excellent work with Firefox (my main browser) and I have a heap of addons installed including "Yet Another Smooth Scrolling" which I though might give it trouble. In my quick testing it didn't work so well with IE.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2012, 07:00:25 AM by hubi » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #345 on: March 20, 2012, 10:27:42 AM »

Minor improvements:

v3.03.01 - Mar 20, 2012
  • [BugFix] Moving of screenshots into OLD folder based on dates was not using local time zone, so folder date labels could be off by a few hours.
  • [MinorFeature] New option to clear arrow endpoint text when new arrows are created.
  • [Feature] From File menu you can now save selected screenshots into one PDF; improve page sizing for PDF files.
  • [Feature] New function in File menu to delete all selected files.
  • [Feature] Added some system SendTo items to the SendTo folder.
  • [Feature] When sending email via MAPI you can now leave TO field blank (to be filled out in your email program).
  • [MinorChange] Added longer delay after capturing selected region image with cursor, in order to give time to move cursor to desired position.
  • [Feature] After you initiate an object capture, you can now hit the hotkey to trigger it again in order to indicate that the current region should be captured and saved, but object mode left open to capture another; useful for performing several repeat captures.
  • [Feature] New option to not show email info dialog when using MAPI.
Logged
TaoPhoenix
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,585



0 - 60 ... then back to 0 again!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #346 on: March 20, 2012, 11:50:46 AM »

New Progress and features!

Any chance the CrossHairs of Death can be (optionally?) removed on the next update?

With all these surveillance stories it's making me want to draw a graphic:
(Rectangular Box - In the middle is one word in huge font: "YOU". Elsewhere in the caption it says "Who is targetting you now?"
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #347 on: March 20, 2012, 11:52:13 AM »

Quote
Any chance the CrossHairs of Death can be (optionally?) removed on the next update?


yes; i almost added it in this release -- i will try to put it in next.
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,702


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #348 on: March 20, 2012, 12:40:49 PM »

Quote
Any chance the CrossHairs of Death can be (optionally?) removed on the next update?


yes; i almost added it in this release -- i will try to put it in next.
I do enjoy the crosshairs, though.  It's similar to how I set up my Autocad crosshairs.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,578



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #349 on: March 20, 2012, 12:49:27 PM »

it will be an option to go back to old smaller crosshairs; the new big ones will be default.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.046s | Server load: 0.14 ]