Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 06:12:51 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: "Save [copy of image] as" confusing cause it works different to "Save as"  (Read 1423 times)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot Captor
"Save Copy of Image As"

Screenshot - 2013-01-15 , 14_16_21.png

Okay, it doesnt say 'Save as' but I did expect it to work similarly
-
what I expected:
do a bit of work on a file, then 'save as' would leave the original untouched, and create a new copy which would include any modifications made.
what we get:
both files are changed.

i.e. the correct approach would be to create a copy and *then* edit it.

I dont expect you to change the behaviour* but I have gotten caught by this a couple of times before, and was wondering if you could make the wording clearer. I dont even have a suggestion myself, so I'm throwing it out there....


*  but if it were an option it would be clearer.
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Quote
both files are changed.
"save copy as" and "save new version" should NOT change the original.
can you give me steps to reproduce?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Okay, after a bit of misunderstanding things, I've figured it out:
the problem is that I'm saving the 'save as'/new file elsewhere, i.e. not in the same folder.

SC then cannot show it, so when I move to another file, the changes made are applied to the original.


This was complicated (for me) by the following:

I actually initially thought I was saving in the same folder, but I wasnt.
The default 'Screenshots' folder is
My Documents\DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor\Screenshots

I changed this to
Z:\My Documents\Screenshots

when I go to 'save as', it goes to the default one - I dont know is this SC's responsibility or mine ...
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
hmm... yes ok that makes some sense.

and i guess you have it set to save on changes without asking -- otherwise it should have asked you if you wanted to save changes before switching images i guess.

the default folder for save as.. let me ponder this..

you might try using the SAVE+ button on the right hand toolbar -- it was specifically made for quickly saving a new version of the file and switching to it, leaving the original alone.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
the default folder for save as.. let me ponder this..

once I figured what was happening, I saved the next one in the correct folder. It remembers that - i.e. it remembers the previous save location.
So, this could have been user 'error', I dunno.

Thanks for the button tip :up:
Tom