Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:22:53 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Alt+Tab  (Read 2625 times)

nmshyam

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Alt+Tab
« on: November 02, 2012, 11:45:09 PM »
I have been a regular user of FARR.

I now have a Windows 7 64-bit OS & notice that even after selecting "Show on Taskbar" option in "Window Options", I dont get to see FARR in the Alt+Tab window!

I searched the forum, but didnt find any recent comment on this issue.

@Mouser: Is there any solution to this? Is it because of my 64 bit OS? How to resolve this? I need this feature most of the times I use FARR as a list of search results would be behind another window & I want to switch to FARR to try the other result, but to no avail. I am sure this is the same case with other users too.

Please help.

Thanks
Shyam

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 11:52:13 PM »
Quote
even after selecting "Show on Taskbar" option in "Window Options"

did you make sure to restart FARR after changing that setting?

nmshyam

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 03:20:35 AM »
Thanks for the reply Mouser.

Yes. Apparently, I enabled that setting months back & the app is restarted along with system restart many times.

I notice a peculiar behavior. If I activate the app through a shortcut, and then try Alt+Tab, it shows up in the alt-tab window. I switch another window now & again try alt-tab, FARR is still there in alt-tab window & now switch back to FARR. So this accounts for two swaps of FARR & the other window. The issue is after this. FARR will not come back on alt-tab window till the time it is there in taskbar.

If I close FARR window & activate it again using the shortcut, it will again appear on alt-tab window again for two swaps only. Isnt it strange?

Plz see if this can be resolved. As I said, I am not sure if it is because of my Win 7 64 bit. Can you confirm on this?

Thanks again.

nmshyam

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2012, 02:36:18 AM »
@Mouser: Is it a bug in FARR? Plz let me know...I use FARR a lot & I miss this feature.

nmshyam

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 10:43:20 AM »
@Mouser: Is there any solution to this problem? Not sure if other FARR users dont have this problem, but find it very inconvenient. Can you plz reply? Is it an inherent problem in 64-bit Windows OS?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2013, 11:05:40 AM »
Can you clarify a bit -- you say "if i activate the app through a shortcut".
Are you saying that if you activate it using hotkey or clicking in tray, none of this happens?
Or what are you meaning by that?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,327
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2013, 11:21:00 AM »
Is it just this setting needs to be selected ? - (second option):

Screenshot - 2013-09-13 , 18_09_50.pngAlt+Tab

I notice a peculiar behavior. If I activate the app through a shortcut, and then try Alt+Tab, it shows up in the alt-tab window. I switch another window now & again try alt-tab, FARR is still there in alt-tab window & now switch back to FARR. So this accounts for two swaps of FARR & the other window. The issue is after this. FARR will not come back on alt-tab window till the time it is there in taskbar.

If I close FARR window & activate it again using the shortcut, it will again appear on alt-tab window again for two swaps only. Isnt it strange?

behaviour is slightly different here (also Win7 64) with options as above. FARR showed twice in AltTab and didnt show after that at all. FARR does show in AltTab when prefs are open. Hmm, just showed again, - *after* looking at prefs (and alttabbing to/from FARR/prefs). When it did show again, it just shows twice and then disappears. Not showing at all now again...

Actually I'm not sure what exactly you mean nmshyam, when you say: "FARR will not come back on alt-tab window till the time it is there in taskbar."
Tom

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Alt+Tab
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2013, 12:55:58 PM »
Mouser,

I can confirm that with "Show on taskbar" enabled, the FARR process does not show in the alt-tab list. This occurs when the main farr window is open (after hotkey activation). FARR still remains in the taskbar, but does not appear in the ALT+TAB listing.