Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 25, 2014, 05:41:33 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Dim rest of desktop/windows, except for focused window  (Read 69405 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2005, 05:11:13 PM »

well if you really wanted to just change theme quickly..
this does sound like a good request.

system tray menu which allows selecting themes.
or double click to switch to next theme.

would save some annoying clicks, for users who like to switch between their preset themes.

sounds like good idea for a snack..
assuming it doesnt already exist.. does it i wonder?
Logged
glenelg
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2005, 05:50:28 PM »

Well, if there was a monochrome theme, Scott's suggestion would be useful.  Then again, if there was a monochrome theme, I wouldn't have started this topic in the first place  Wink
Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2005, 06:13:16 PM »

Can't you create one?  (Or at least approximate one.)
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
glenelg
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2005, 05:07:23 AM »

I probably could approximate a monochrome display, but, as far as I can see I would need a third party application to do it.  MS aren't at all flexible when it comes to XP themes.

My topic was driven by the fact that MS actually appear to do a very nice fade to mono, however, with a bit of checking, it looks like they're just grabbing a screen capture and fading that.

I wonder if it's something that could be done in the graphics card instead?
Logged
BlindWanderer
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2005, 02:14:22 AM »

don't mean to sound like a total noob, i can't download Keene's attached file. I get a forum error when I try.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: May 23, 2005, 02:23:26 AM »

try again, it's working for me..
maybe its a javascript issue or browser issue?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2005, 03:23:14 AM by mouser » Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: May 23, 2005, 05:40:40 AM »

I guess valhala is still staring at the drawing board.
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
BlindWanderer
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: May 25, 2005, 02:35:48 PM »

Tryied, IE, FireFox and Off By One (it's a browser that doesn't support javascript)

An Error Has Occurred!
It seems that you are not allowed to download or view attachments on this board.

EDIT:
x_x don't tell me, i have to be a charter member to download.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2005, 02:39:50 PM by BlindWanderer » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: May 25, 2005, 03:21:47 PM »

ah that's it..
yes i have set it so that only members can view/download attachments..

i think that's reasonable.

but remember our policy about membership is very understanding.. if for some reason you have considered the issue of donating and have decided that you will not (at least at this time) make a donation, simply email me and tell me why you have made such a decision, and i will make you a member of the site so you can have full access to everything.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: May 25, 2005, 03:48:25 PM »

nevermind, i enabled downloading of attachments by everyone..

seems to me on reflection that it would be overly confusing for people to try to figure out why downloading attachments wasn't working, and would not serve as a serious incentive to registering.

Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: May 25, 2005, 04:02:07 PM »

I ran WinFocus, and it wasn't what I expected.  I thought the "brightness" of background windows would change, not the opacity.  OK, I have no idea how that would be done, but they're still two different things.

I found using WinFocus unbearable.  My graphics performance (not surprisingly) decreased tremendously, and figuring out what was what became extremely difficult.  I'd see a couple of task bar buttons, and a couple tray icons (apparently, the ones that redraw themselves) but not the rest.  It was difficult to tell which window was on top of another, and therefore difficult to tell what would happen if I clicked in a certain place.  Basically, everything about the system was a usability nightmare.

I'm not trying to be negative, but opinions were requested.  Bear in mind that I have always hated translucency in Windows XP, have never used it, and never will.  And of course, I'm not the one who requested this application.  smiley
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: July 04, 2005, 02:13:39 AM »

Here is a thread over at AquaSoft that relates to Swiu's app iBlend that achieved the same effect as WinFocus (see above) some time ago.  Perhaps handles new windows and exclusions better than WinFocus does atm.  Still might be helpful for reference.

2ndly I have to agree with Scott that I personally do not like the opacity effect, but would perhaps like to see the brightness effect.  The dark translucent layer with only the current window above it seems like the way to go?

Ampa
« Last Edit: July 04, 2005, 02:16:45 AM by Ampa » Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: July 17, 2005, 05:14:38 PM »

 smiley Here's a quick hack using AutoHotkey from www.autohotkey.com.

DimInactive creates a window, sets it's transparancy and changes it's region to surround the active window, thus dimming everything else.

Edit: Download and install AutoHotKey. Save the script as DimInactive.ahk and doubleclick to run.

Skrommel

[copy or print]
;DimInactive
;Dims inactive windows
;Skrommel 2005

Gui,+Owner +AlwaysOnTop -Disabled -SysMenu -Caption
Gui, Color, 000000
Gui,Add,Picture,X0 Y0 W%A_ScreenWidth% H%A_ScreenHeight% gCLICK,
Gui,Show,NoActivate X0 Y0 W%A_ScreenWidth% H%A_ScreenHeight%,WINDOW
WinSet,Transparent,100,WINDOW

LOOP:
Sleep,100
WinGetActiveStats,wint,winw,winh,winx,winy
winw+=winx
winh+=winy
If winx<0
  winx=0
If winy<0
  winy=0
If wint=
{
  winx=0
  winy=0
  winw=%A_ScreenWidth%
  winh=%A_ScreenHeight%
}
WinSet,Region,0-0 %A_ScreenWidth%-0 %A_ScreenWidth%-%A_ScreenHeight% 0-%A_ScreenHeight% 0-0  %winx%-%winy% %winw%-%winy% %winw%-%winh% %winx%-%winh% %winx%-%winy%,WINDOW
WinSet,Top,,WINDOW  ; Rem this line to keep the task bar visible
Goto,LOOP

CLICK:
WinSet,Bottom,,WINDOW
CoordMode,Mouse,Screen
MouseGetPos,mousex,mousey,mousewin
MouseClick,Left,%mousex%,%mousey%
MouseClick,Left,%mousex%,%mousey%
WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,On,WINDOW
Return

« Last Edit: July 17, 2005, 08:18:55 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: July 17, 2005, 07:15:43 PM »

i'm a total autoit newbie but i'm getting errors when i try to run it - could be something i'm doing wrong.
any autoit people can help us out and maybe give some guidance ?
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: July 17, 2005, 08:13:45 PM »

You need the latest version of AutoHotKey from www.autohotkey.com. Sorry about not explaing that, just so used to using it...

Skrommel
« Last Edit: July 17, 2005, 08:20:23 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
cracksloth
Member
**
Posts: 72

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: July 17, 2005, 08:55:13 PM »

i think geektechnu is right.  the best way to implement such a program would be to recreate:

http://vazagi.homepage.dk/DP.html

with the option to bring the active program to the front.  there could also be an option to grayscale everything below the screen, but it would be more work.  it would not be the best solution for creating custom dim settings for individual programs but are there really many who are looking for this?

-cracksloth
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2005, 09:08:35 PM »

i have actually recently written a region based non-rectangular windows tool that i could very easily adapt for this purpose if the autoit isnt quite sufficient.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: July 18, 2005, 04:37:21 PM »

i just tried skrommel's script with the new autohotkey - it works!!

it's actually quite cool to try.  i don't know that i'd really use it but its quite fun and shows the power of autohotkey, and nice to be able to so easily compile it into an exe.

very fun and really excellent work!  thumbs up

if its ok with skrommel i will be compiling all of his autohotkey/autoit scripts and putting both them and the original scripts up on the coding snacks page.

skrommel - send me a paypal email address that i can put on the donation page so that people here can donate a buck or two to show their appreciation for your work.. i know i speak for everyone when i say how wonderful it is to have people here helping write these things.  it's really a treat to watch you guys in action.

Logged
cracksloth
Member
**
Posts: 72

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: July 18, 2005, 07:01:31 PM »

is there a way to make a huge fullscreen dimmed window that will just always have a z-order right behind the active window?  i noticed when dragging around a window that it takes a bit for the dimmed window to resize itself around the new position (or at least that is what it looks like).  also, when using an xp scheme (that have curved window corners) i can see the undimmed area as little triangles of undimmed area.  maybe i am wrong about how this script works, but if i am right, then making a fullscreen dimmed window behind the active window would solve these problems.

-cracksloth
Logged
cracksloth
Member
**
Posts: 72

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: July 18, 2005, 08:08:41 PM »

some weird things i noticed:

when a window spawns a menu that extends beyond the confines of the active window, it is half shaded.  to test this right click an ie window (you can do it right now...  go ahead, do it!) and the menu will only be partly covered by dimmage.

or drag the window over an "always on top" toolbar and only that area of the toolbar that is in front of the active window will be un-dimmed.

the method i mentioned would have the unintended side effect that "always on top" windows would not be dimmed (aka some toolbars).  this would be nice.  smiley
« Last Edit: July 18, 2005, 08:56:19 PM by cracksloth » Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: July 18, 2005, 10:53:48 PM »

 smiley I've just improved on my first draft by using an image when dimming, much like Ghost-It and GP. It also uses AlwaysOnTop instead of Region for a cleaner look.

Ghoster - Ghoster creates a transparent Gui to cover the screen, loads an image and keeps punching holes in it to make the mouse work.



You'll find the downloads and more info at Skrommel Software.

Edit: I've moved the settings to an ini-file and added a tray menu.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: September 13, 2005, 07:15:45 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: July 19, 2005, 03:08:15 AM »

absolutely fantastic work there, skrommel.

'Ghostit.ahk' appears to do the job just fine. it deserves to become a very popular little tool.

not sure what you could add (if it needs anything). would be nice, i suppose, to be able to adjust the level of transparency through a slider control - is that going beyond what 'autohotkey' can do?

i've noticed a few odd things happening on screen when bringing some things into focus but i suppose that can only be expected.

also, thanks to 'jsmallberry' for suggesting the idea.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2005, 02:33:01 PM by nudone » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: July 19, 2005, 01:19:12 PM »

it's definitely fun.
i was just going to suggest some options, like degree of dimming, and request the ability to exclude the taskbar from dimming - then i saw that skrommel had already implemented them!!

here are the settings that seem to work best for me:

;Settings
;backcolor=000000-FFFFFF or leave blank to speed up screen.
;image=                  Path to image or leave blank to speed up screen.
;transparency=0-255      Makes the ghosting more or less translucent.
;jump=1 or 0             Makes the active window show through the ghosting.
;showdesktop=1 or 0      Removes the ghosting when the desktop is active.
;showontop=1 or 0        Removes ghosting from ontop windows like the taskbar.
image=C:\Windows\Bubbles.bmp
backcolor=000000
transparency=80
jump=1
showdesktop=1
showontop=1

--
i'll be adding a precompiled exe file for this tool to coding snacks page today for those who don't want to install autohotkey.

awesome work skrommel - it's fun to see this finally implemented.  also a testament to autohotkey i think.  very powerful.

Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: July 19, 2005, 01:42:01 PM »

Desktop Ghoster (i took a small liberty with the name so that it would be a little easier to identify) is now on the coding snacks page as a precompiled exe and original .ahk script.

awesome work again skrommel; give us a paypal email address to put up so people can make a donation if they want to.

and also, nice teamwork by everyone here with the good suggestions, and especially dragonrider who first got the ball rolling with this.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2005, 01:56:42 PM by mouser » Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: July 19, 2005, 03:20:41 PM »

Please let me put the settings in an ini-file and make a options window befor you compile.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.044s | Server load: 0.04 ]