Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 12:10:52 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Making screenshots with ratio?!  (Read 1985 times)

mtemp

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Making screenshots with ratio?!
« on: September 15, 2012, 02:36:08 PM »
Hi,

I can't see the option to define a ratio for making screenshots. E.g. 3:2 or 4:3.
Sometimes I make screenshots (selected region) of photos, but want them to be in 3:2 ratio.

Is there an option I can't find?


Thanks, mtemp

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Making screenshots with ratio?!
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2012, 05:59:11 PM »
What you can do is select a preset region size from the edit menu and then hold ALT key while you drag to resize, which will preserve the aspect ratio while altering the selection region.

mtemp

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Making screenshots with ratio?!
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2014, 08:03:12 AM »
so, this is possible only within ScreenShot Capture and not during capturing?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Making screenshots with ratio?!
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2014, 08:26:29 AM »
yes -- unless you switch to "When to use Red box: Objects *AND* Regions" on the "Selection Capture Options" tab, which would switch you to a different way of capturing regions.  Most people find that red box mode more cumbersome but it does let you move around a preset-sized box more easily.

mtemp

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Making screenshots with ratio?!
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2014, 09:23:24 AM »
... I do not like & use the red box, too ;)

But I tried this option. Result: I can't resize the red box proportionally by holding the ALT key!


Sometimes I make screenshots (in different sizes) for facebook article images -- ratio: 1,91 x 1. Now I make a shot greater than the "needed" area, opening the file in photoshop and do the rest...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Making screenshots with ratio?!
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2014, 10:13:29 AM »
I will try to add the alt key to preserve resizing in red box soon.

I could possibly also add another kind of toggle to selection capture that might do what you want -- though I'd like to hear if others are interested in it..  It would work something like this:
Currently in selection mode you click for first corner and then drag or move and click again for end corner.
I could add a keypress that would let you toggle to a mode where you are MOVING the current selection box as a whole, instead of changing the size, and then add another hotkey to rotate through favorite sizes..