Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 09:29:17 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Remote Desktop / mstsc / rdpclip Woes  (Read 1537 times)

Christian.Eitner

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Remote Desktop / mstsc / rdpclip Woes
« on: September 19, 2012, 03:17:42 AM »
I'm running CHS 2.13.01, but this problem has troubled me for years.

I usually have at least one Remote Desktop session to another computer running. We are running RD V 6.1.7600 at our company. The target machines are either Win XP or Win 7.

What happens is that the RD process (mstsc.exe) starts using a lot of CPU power on my machine (around 20% in ProcessExplorer on a dual core). CHS is start using around 2-3% of CPU power.

CHS becomes unresponsive at this point. If I kill CHS, mstsc goes back to normal CPU usage. If I kill mstsc, CHS becomes reponsive again. Usually I would not want to kill either process  :)

As I call myself a professional software developer, I think I could handle any instructions to attach to the various processes, and would gladly provide any in-depth information on the topic.

Cheers,

Christian

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Remote Desktop / mstsc / rdpclip Woes
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 05:25:08 PM »
FWIW, I don't think this is a CHS-specific issue; moreso, I think it's a generic clipboard or clipboard manager issue.

I use ArsClip and have occasionally experienced exactly what you describe with RDP sessions.  It doesn't happen that often (maybe once every few weeks) and a reboot of the remote side seems to fix things for me.  Note that I use this RDP session daily for several hours per day so an occurrence once every few weeks isn't that often.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,534
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Remote Desktop / mstsc / rdpclip Woes
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 01:24:29 AM »
Would it help if you used an alternative RDP Client, like Terminals ?

Christian.Eitner

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Remote Desktop / mstsc / rdpclip Woes
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2012, 05:59:30 AM »
Thanks for the tips, I will give 'Terminals' a try.