Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 10:24:19 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?  (Read 1843 times)

saurabhdua

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« on: July 16, 2012, 12:01:09 PM »
Hello Folks!

I have always been able to invoke the FARR only through Ctrl+Space. Entire Documentation, beginning from the "Introduction" of the FARR tells you to press "Pause/Break" key in order to activate the "Search Window" !?

Why doesn't it work in actual!? Hitting it twice didn't yield any result either!

Please help decipher this mystery!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,946
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 10:13:40 PM »
Pause/Break key is the only way to go -- I don't know how people settle for ctrl+space.

Now as to why it's not working for you, I'm not sure.. try creating a custom hotkey trigger in options and choose the Break/Pause(1) Break/Pause(3) or other alternatives.. maybe it's a non-standard keyboard issue.

Are you using a non-english keyboard?  What OS do you have?  Is it possible another application is blocking the key?

See what the bottom left of the custom hotkey configuration dialog in farr says regarding whether the hotkey is available.

One thing you might try is seeing if you can make the Ctrl+Break hotkey works -- if so that would be evidence that another program might be grabbing the normal break key..

Anyone else have any ideas?

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,698
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2012, 12:05:44 AM »
IIRC when I have something that's running with admin privileges (and it's focused), Pause/Break doesn't appear to bring up FARR though Control+Space (if configured) seems to -- this is with Windows 7 64-bit.

Update: This appears to be when FARR is running without admin privs.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2012, 12:28:44 AM by ewemoa »

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,698
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2012, 06:59:12 AM »
In a separate Windows 7 Professional 64-bit installation, this didn't happen.

This was a fresh OS installation as well as a fresh FARR installation.



May be an ownership / permission issue...?

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,365
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2012, 07:01:35 AM »
If I had a pause/break key, I would try and verify this. Perhaps the default hotkey should change as this is not the first laptop (dell or otherwise) that does not have the pause/break key. Just sayin

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,698
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2012, 07:45:28 AM »
Odd...now that I look closely, I see that the notebook in front of me has one key for Pause and one for Break -- though I have to press the Fn key to get that functionality to work.

They don't both lead to the same behavior FWIW.

Pause works as expected and Break brings up a context-sensitive menu and then acts like Ctrl+Break (Toggle FARR and Copy Selection)...

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,698
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Pause/Break Key has never been able to invoke the FARR!?
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2012, 06:24:49 PM »
In a separate Windows 7 Professional 64-bit installation, this didn't happen.

This was a fresh OS installation as well as a fresh FARR installation.

Tried running IE with admin privs and FARR using the privs of the logged in account.  Pressing Pause/Break with said IE focused does not appear to bring FARR's main window up.