Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 03, 2016, 07:00:45 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Search engine "search in results" besides Control-f?  (Read 1568 times)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,864
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Search engine "search in results" besides Control-f?
« on: June 04, 2012, 03:43:24 PM »
Is it just me or do none of the major search engines provide a "search in results" input box that only searchs the last results?  Seems like it should be easy but I can't seem to get there from here.



cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Search engine "search in results" besides Control-f?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 06:16:58 PM »
Try this one.
It has that ability.
Free too.

http://www.joshcells...er-professional.html

sword

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Search engine "search in results" besides Control-f?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 06:22:12 PM »
search example: word1 word2 word3
DuckDuckGo treats this as: word1 AND word2 AND word3
adding word4 would search within the results
not/negation for a word or phrase: -
or between a word or phrase: OR
phrase: ""
example: word1 word2 (word3 OR word4) -word5

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,864
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Search engine "search in results" besides Control-f?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2012, 06:55:23 PM »
I understand the use of operators but I still think there's greater utility if you have an input that only searches the results. It's not like it would break the bank to implement it.

It's funny because I ran into an old 2005 page comparing search engine features. Google was supposedly one of the few that had it.