Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 17, 2014, 01:57:52 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Icon not displayed in standard warning popup window (Win7x64)  (Read 1880 times)
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 893


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 20, 2012, 09:59:28 AM »

Hi,
I am having this issue with a recent Win7x64 machine : I have created on the Desktop a folder that contains shortcuts of installed applications, instead of having them all around the desktop.  When I installed CCleaner for the first time, I moved its launch icon to this folder by drag and drop.  

When I install a new version, the launch icon being re-created. The actual issue occurs when I move this recreated icon into the folder : Windows warns me that CCleaner.lnk already exists there and asks me if I want to overwrite it, keep the old version or keep both. *BUT* the ccleaner icon is missing from this popup warning window.  And this occurs also for all  other links in a similar situation, when the link already exists in the folder, it's not CCleaner specific.

I have tried many times to re-generate the icon user database, to no avail.  Here it is how it works on a normal system :



Here the CCleaner icons are perfectly displayed (XP here).  Not on my Win7 system.  I tried to look on Microsoft online help, but with little results.

Thanks for any hint on how to solve this !
Logged

.merle1.
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,302



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 11:37:20 AM »

Replayed that scenario, my reasonably normal Windows 7 x64 displays this:
Logged

Innuendo
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,960

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2012, 01:05:35 PM »

Oh, this is exciting....I just tried it as well. My first attempt was to just copy a shortcut on my desktop twice into a randomly created folder. My result was the *opposite* of Ath's screenshot above (the icon was present next to Copy and Replace with no icon next to Don't Copy).

My second attempt was copying a shortcut from the Start Menu into that folder twice. The result of that experiment was that there wasn't an icon next to either Copy and Replace *or* Don't Copy! Three cheers for consistency, eh?  Grin

And now there's one more reason on my list why I don't and won't use Windows Explorer for file management.
Logged
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,888


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2012, 01:30:58 PM »

And I tried it and got no icons in that same dialog:



Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 893


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2012, 05:08:36 PM »

Thanks for trying on your system.  This is exactly what I get.  Sometimes, it does work though, usually just after a fresh boot and I get both icons to be displayed.  

Afterwards, when I open the folder and drag & drop an existing icon into the open folder, I get the 2nd icon ok most of the time



I have an AMD Radeon HD 6950 as graphics card.  Is yours also an ATI by chance ?
Logged

.merle1.
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,888


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2012, 09:12:13 PM »

Not here. I'm running a new Windows 7 Pro64-bit  with a GeForce GTX 570 (1280MB) graphics card.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 893


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2012, 06:37:09 AM »

Not here. I'm running a new Windows 7 Pro64-bit  with a GeForce GTX 570 (1280MB) graphics card.

Jim

Then I guess it's another of those Win7x64 "features".... Wink
Logged

.merle1.
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,521



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2012, 08:03:51 AM »

This is probably the same sort of bug as the disappearing tray icons.

That can be fixed, (albeit temporarily), by restarting explorer.exe - have tried that?
Logged

I do not need to control my anger ... people just need to stop pissing me off!
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 893


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2012, 01:23:01 AM »

Thanks. I am not sure on how to restart Explorer.exe and it reverts to this behavior after a short while anyway.  Since it's a non blocking issue, I can wait some more time for Microsoft to solve it (in Win7, not Win8 !).  But now the question would be : is Microsoft aware of this issue and how to report it to them ? 
Logged

.merle1.
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,521



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2012, 03:03:10 AM »

Thanks. I am not sure on how to restart Explorer.exe .....

Run Task Manager, click the Processes tab, right-click the explorer.exe task and select End Process and hit OK.
Select File->New Task (Run...).
Type in explorer.exe and hit OK.

Quote
I can wait some more time for Microsoft to solve it (in Win7, not Win8 !).

The disappearing Tray icons "feature" has been there an awful long time, (since XP).....how long do you want to wait?
Logged

I do not need to control my anger ... people just need to stop pissing me off!
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,888


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2012, 04:06:35 AM »

Besides just quitting and restarting explorer.exe you need to delete items under the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\TrayNotify

The two items are IconStreams and PastIconStreams.

After deleting both of those items, then quit explorer.exe and restart it.

As always you should first export both of the above items - or the key "TrayNotify" itself, just in case. Though I have been using this fix for a couple years without a problem. Supposedly for Vista but works in Windows 7 for me.

Here's a reference link, and if you search you can find more of the same:

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/clean-up-past-notification-icons-in-windows-vista

Thanks!

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.08 ]