Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:52:28 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?  (Read 2627 times)

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« on: November 19, 2011, 12:30:13 PM »
Is there a way to configure CH to copy text + url from any browser in one click?
Similarly, can it do the same for a text from file (text + location on pc)?






BTW, IE9 identified CH as dangerous stuff!   :(

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 12:53:14 PM »
CHS will capture the urls associated with text copied from a major browser.
It will also save the name of the application for other captures.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 03:09:16 PM »
All the data's there, you just have to adjust CHS to see it.  The first screenshot shows CHS main screen with both the application CHS clipped from, in this case Firefox, and also the URL.  That's truncated on screen because of the column widths, but it's all there.  You may need to change what columns show in CHS to see these clearly.  You do that by ticking the items you want from the columns dropdown, see second screenshot.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2011, 03:50:07 PM »
Hmmm...  looks you only get a truncated URL in the URL field if you don't have it set wide enough for the whole URL.  E.g., only "http://www.donationcoder.com/foru" instead of the whole thing.  Bug?

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2011, 04:02:18 PM »
Okay, i finally found the grap url option, but i also wanted to know if i can paste the text + url in one shot?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2011, 04:04:54 PM »
Quote
but i also wanted to know if i can paste the text + url in one shot?

this has been requested before -- i will add an option.

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2011, 04:12:03 PM »
Thanks Mouser!

I knew you were (and are) a good guy!  :Thmbsup:

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can CH capture text + url in one shot?
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2011, 10:40:36 AM »
Quote
but i also wanted to know if i can paste the text + url in one shot?

this has been requested before -- i will add an option.
Does that mean that output templates are coming?   8)