Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:35:36 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7  (Read 2904 times)

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« on: October 02, 2011, 05:01:55 AM »
Hi,

I was trying to use this application on a company computer.. The problem is that the computer is using some kind of clouding (I have no details on it) that might be causing some issues

The computer has a Windows 7 64b, and application stored on "D:\FARR\FindAndRunRobot.exe"

Whenever I try to launch it I get some error messages that I below describe

(The server has actually a different name that I do not want to specify here, so I just replaced with server.com)

"
File and Run Robot
------------------
Error:
\\server.com\personal\DonationCoder\FileAndRunRobot\FileAndRunRobot.ini
is not a Find and Run Robot configuration file.
Please delete it if the problem persists
"

followed by

"
File and Run Robot
------------------
ATTN: ERROR CREATING LOG FILE
\\server.com\personal\DonationCoder\FileAndRunRobot\FarrTroubleshooting.log
"

The settings are from scratch, so I try to add a search directory manually and get:

"
File and Run Robot
------------------
Failed to delete previous temp file
\\server.com\personal\DonationCoder\FileAndRunRobot\FileAndRunRobot.ini.tmp
"

Quitting the application has the same saving the ini/tmp file error.

I have checked the .ini file and it is great, works fine on other computers and I can open it in notepad with no problems...

The problem seems to be the could thing, but its a company policy that I cannot do anything against...

I have tried to run the application in c:\windows\temp in an attempt to trick the could.. but the cloud seems to be binding all the computer folders..

On the other hand, it seems that FARR is not as portable as I first thought:
it goes from D:\FARR\" to that server
I find it strange that is not only the drive is changing from "d:\" to the "\\server.com\" but also the rest of the path from "FARR\.." to "personal\DonationCoder\FileAndRunRobot\"

Is there any thing you could do/suggest to help me with this?

I was using FARR "portable" to keep settings, but I have also tried to use the installation and tried to delete the ini file... same problem: no settings are saved!!

Have a great day :)
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 12:18:20 PM by Filipe Meira Castro »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2011, 04:02:24 PM »
Have you edited the configdir.ini file and uncommented the line PORTABLE=TRUE
That is needed to run FARR fully portably.

Let me know!

(ps. i'll split this post and reply to it's own topic soon).

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2011, 04:51:14 PM »
Ihaaaaa:) :) :)

Problem solved!! Thank you do much!!

Portable=true was already uncommented, but in that very same file, there was not defined any config dir, I uncommented the line below and it started to work just great!
Configdir=.

Thank you so much for your tips and quick reply :D :D

I just noticed that I did not post into the right place, sorry about that.

Have a great day!
« Last Edit: October 02, 2011, 05:01:38 PM by Filipe Meira Castro »

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2011, 03:14:52 PM »
Hi,

DcUpdater plugin is very useful but would benefit to use portable settings as well... it is writing to document&settings\user\DocnationCoder\DcUpdater...

I am using:
CONFIGDIR = .
PORTABLE=TRUE

Another detail regards a UAC message that happens all the systems startup...

( Even tried the new option (even though I plan not to use it often because I rather to have updated results based on launch history):
"Disable normal saving of settings except when explicity closing o"
.. didn't solve)

This UAC wouln't be any problem if only I wasn't binded to group policies re enable UAC eveytime my computer starts!!

could it be some plugin to trigger this or is something internal?

I am using "unreal commander" instead of Windows explorer and in a protable version as well, and it does not trigger UAC.. so maybe it is thecnicaly possible with FARR.. :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2011, 03:27:56 PM »
when does the uac prompt occur? when you run farr?
what does it say?

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Problem with running in Portably on Win7
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 11:45:57 AM »
Hi, sorry for my late answer, I was expecting a notification of this post reply, but I might have forgotten to click the notify button!!

It says :

"Do you want to allow the following program, from an unknown publisher, to make changes on this computer"
Program name: Fileandrunrobot.exe
publisher:unknown
file origin: hard drive on this computer
"

Have a great day,