Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 30, 2014, 11:00:06 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Move Window without it gaining focus?  (Read 21241 times)
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 13, 2006, 07:28:43 PM »

A feature I miss from OS/2 that I'm wondering if someone can give me
back for XP Pro SP2:

To be able to click and drag a window that doesn't have focus and not
have it get focus.  In OS/2 one could do this by holding down the ALT
key and dragging the window.  I don't remember if you had to grab the
title bar or if you could drag any part of the window.  Either way
would be ok with me.

If I have part of a window sticking out from under my active window,
it would be nice to be able to adjust it's position while still
leaving the active window on top.

Andy
« Last Edit: March 15, 2006, 02:30:10 AM by brotherS » Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2006, 07:16:12 AM »

I already searched a bit for something similar to that, but couldn't find it Sad
But imagine this:
You'd press alt+drag to move the other window, and when you released alt or mouser button, the focus would be returned to the last window active.
Do you think this'd do?
Logged

wr975
Charter Member
***
Posts: 369



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2006, 07:37:30 AM »

Guess there's a better solution somewhere, but I use a always-on-top toggle for such situations. Any keyboard shortcut application should offer such function. Here's the one I use in my Autohotkey shortcuts script:

[copy or print]
#a::
WinGet, ExStyle, ExStyle, A
if (ExStyle & 0x8)
{
   WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,off,A
   ToolTip,Disabled
}
else
{
   WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,on,A
   ToolTip,Enabled
}
Sleep,2000
ToolTip
return

Press WIN+A to toggle always-on-top on/off.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2006, 07:42:13 AM by wr975 » Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2006, 11:05:16 AM »

Thanks jgpaiva and wr975 for your suggestions.

I have a "keep on top" toggle, both hotkey and titlebar button that I
use often.  I was hoping for an Alt-click alternative when I wasn't
keeping the active window on top.

  > You'd press alt+drag to move the other window, and when you
  > released alt or mouser button, the focus would be returned to the
  > last window active.
 
That's probably not worth the trouble, since the active window would
be temporarily covered by the window I was moving.

I thought about a method that would

 1. Make the active window "keep on top"
 2. Allow me to move an unfocused window
 3. Restores focus to the original active window and toggle off "keep
    on top"
   
I can't figure out how to do step 1. when the first Alt-click would
change focus.  Is there a variable that would identify the last
(previous) window to have focus?

Now that I reread the posts, what did you have in mind when you said
"returned to the last window active"?  How would you identify that
window?   
 
 
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2006, 11:11:59 AM »

smiley Try MoveInactiveWin!

MoveInactiveWin - Move a window without activating it.

Features:
- Alt-Click and drag to move.
- Click anywhere within a window to move it!



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.


Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2006, 11:43:43 AM »

EhEh.. As always, here's skrommel working like 3 at the same time! Wink

Thanks! It doesn't even activate the other window.. Good thinking.
Guess that solves the problem, right AndyM? Wink
Logged

AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2006, 05:31:49 PM »

Guess that solves the problem, right AndyM? Wink

Perfectly!

SKROMMEL,  THANK YOU!!!!!

(Plus I get to learn a little about AutoHotkey Scripts by working thru the code)
« Last Edit: March 15, 2006, 02:32:14 AM by brotherS » Logged
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2006, 02:33:53 AM »

Hi AndyM, I don't understand how that function could be helpful - I never missed it but am interested in how it could help. Please tell me! smiley

PS: Click on "quote" and see what happens cheesy

Logged

Thank you.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2006, 03:03:05 AM »

 smiley I use it to move a captionless video window to my projector, as it always opens on my primary monitor. The not activating bit is just an added bonus.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2006, 07:35:09 AM »

Hi AndyM, I don't understand how that function could be helpful - I never missed it but am interested in how it could help. Please tell me! smiley

PS: Click on "quote" and see what happens cheesy



If you are referring to a list in another window, which you have sticking out from under your active window, but it's not sticking out enough.  Without Alt-Clicking, you have to guess where to position the "under" window, since it takes focus and you no longer know where the border created by the edge of the previously active window is.  Plus positioning the list is now a one step move.  Handy if you have pieces of many windows you need to see at once on a crowded desktop.

Don't use it all that often, but it was something I was accustomed to in OS/2, and year's later I still found myself trying to Alt-click and going "damn!".   Thanks to Skrommel, no longer.
Logged
Laughing Man
Charter Member
***
Posts: 103


V for Viktor

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2006, 11:00:39 AM »

For some reason it doesn't work for me. I press alt and click (tried hold alt and click) and it doesn't move any windows.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2006, 11:04:52 AM »

For some reason it doesn't work for me. I press alt and click (tried hold alt and click) and it doesn't move any windows.
It should, Laughing Man. Did you hold alt while clicking and dragging a window?
Logged

Laughing Man
Charter Member
***
Posts: 103


V for Viktor

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2006, 11:06:59 AM »

I know why now..my Logitech Setpoint interferes with AutoHotKey scripts.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2006, 11:24:36 AM »

I know why now..my Logitech Setpoint interferes with AutoHotKey scripts.
That's very strange... But might happen, the mouse software could not be allowing ahk to gain control of the mouser clicks.
Logged

IvkovicD
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2006, 04:35:01 AM »

...just to mention......when you use alt+<click> to move windows around, the tool allSnap does not work... and vice versa....

Regards
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2006, 05:42:50 AM »

...just to mention......when you use alt+<click> to move windows around, the tool allSnap does not work... and vice versa....
That is a good point, IvkovicD, but you can always change allsnap's modifier to turn off snapping, or edit MoveInactiveWin 's code and change it's activation key.
Logged

CrawlerBrinx
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2012, 11:03:42 AM »

I have only uncensored words to describe how awesome it is!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.1 ]