Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 28, 2014, 11:32:40 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Adjust Work Area 1.0.0.1  (Read 3368 times)
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 16, 2011, 05:28:41 PM »

Adjust Work Area 1.0.0.0

http://www.favessoft.com/downloads.html

Command line utility to set the desktop work area to specific values.

Usage:  awa  Left Top Right Bottom (e.g. awa 0 0 1024 740)

Usage: awa
by itself displays the current work area and parameter info.

Note: I replaced Set Work Area with a FreeBASIC command line awa.exe that's only 81 KB.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 10:34:03 AM by MilesAhead » Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2011, 02:38:30 AM »

Set Work Area 1.2.0.0 Added Time Out to Success Dialog.  Download now includes awa.exe.  It works exactly the same as SetWA but all message output is to the console.

To use awa.exe when Windows starts you can create a batch file in a folder in your Path. Just a 2 liner like swa.cmd

[copy or print]
@echo off
cmd.exe /k awa 0 0 1280 908

This way the console will stay open after login so you can verify the work area was successfully adjusted. If you tend to use the same screen res. and toolbar placement then there's no need to have an app riding in the Task Tray basically doing nothing but monitoring for screen resolution change.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2011, 02:40:17 AM by MilesAhead » Logged

kyrathaba
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 3,010



while(! dead_horse){beat}

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2011, 09:43:50 AM »

Nice, useful program, MilesAhead thumbs up
Logged

Win 7 Home Premium 64bit-SP1 AMD Athlon II X2 220 Socket AM3 (938) @ 2.1GHz 6GB RAM Firefox 26.0
_________________________________________________________________________________________

I'm fighting against patent trolls. Join me and tell your representative to support the #SHIELDAct: https://eff.org/r.b6JJ /via @EFF

My DC page: http://kyrathaba.dcmembers.com | My blog: http://williambryanmiller.com/ | Proofreading Service: http://bit.ly/1fQSqQP

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2011, 03:41:39 PM »

Nice, useful program, MilesAhead thumbs up

Thanks for the comment. smiley
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2011, 04:51:03 PM »

I rewrote awa.exe console version in FreeBASIC.  The exe size is reduced to 78 KB.  Also changed the icon to match FavesSoft site favicon.

Note that all output is done using 'print' statements.  No longer any need to redirect stderr if you wish to send results to a log file.

Logged

Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2011, 05:06:57 PM »

Does FreeBASIC also make it run (even) quicker?
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2011, 06:57:29 PM »

Set Work Area has been superceded by Adjust Work Area 1.0.0.0.

See first post in thread for usage and download link.
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2011, 07:03:53 PM »

Does FreeBASIC also make it run (even) quicker?

It's the same WinAPI call.  The nice thing about FreeBASIC is it produces very small win32 stand-alone exe files with no basic run time needed.  awa.exe is 81 KB and that's that.

Now the zip download is 40 KB instead of 400 KB. smiley

I just determined there was no advantage to using a gui app in this case.  Rewrote it in FreeBASIC mainly to keep from forgetting all my FB as well as making the exe smaller.

Also this version doesn't output to stderr.  Just makes it easier to redirect the output to a log file or whatever.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2011, 07:06:08 PM by MilesAhead » Logged

william_r_s
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2013, 07:23:02 PM »

The download link appears to be broken (says: this website has been temporarily suspended). Is there another location to download from?
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,349



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2013, 05:06:16 AM »

The download link appears to be broken (says: this website has been temporarily suspended). Is there another location to download from?

wonder what the problem there is...
Did you try a search smiley
http://www.softpedia.com/...ts/Adjust-Work-Area.shtml
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2013, 08:37:11 AM »

Come to think of it, we haven't heard from MilesAhead in a while.. I hope he's alright? Let's send him a message or two and make sure he's ok.
Logged
william_r_s
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2013, 08:53:06 AM »

The softpedia entry seems to just link to the same place.
Logged
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 4,017



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2013, 09:10:59 AM »

Hi, william_r_s, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.  Since the AWA application doesn't appear to be downloadable, perhaps you might be interested in a similar program by mouser:  http://www.donationcoder....ware/Mouser/desktopcoral/

If that doesn't work for you, let me know, and I'll write a replacement for AWA.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2013, 09:13:34 AM »

Give DesktopCoral a try but also I'm sure someone can find and post a download for Adjust Work Area -- but the best thing would be if Miles sees this thread and posts.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,688



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2013, 07:36:38 AM »

Give DesktopCoral a try but also I'm sure someone can find and post a download for Adjust Work Area -- but the best thing would be if Miles sees this thread and posts.

It can be downloaded from:
http://milesaheadsoftware.tk/

Adjust Work Area 1.0.0.1 - recompiled with AutoIt 3.3.8.0
« Last Edit: December 16, 2013, 10:34:58 AM by MilesAhead » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.05s | Server load: 0.02 ]