Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 09:22:49 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Scrolling capture is not working  (Read 12322 times)
Techmonkey
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #50 on: November 22, 2011, 10:08:13 PM »

Mouser...thank you for your continued work on this. Scroll capture is really, really, important.  I replaced the exe with the beta. Notepad screen capture seems to work on Win 7 64bit. However, capture in IE 9 does not work at all - areo on. What else can I test to help you?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,432



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #51 on: November 23, 2011, 07:13:44 AM »

I have figured out exactly how I will do the new scrolling capture -- it's a complete rewrite, but I have everything I need now to code it.  And I think it will exceed everything people are wanting.. I just have to set aside a week or so to code it..
Logged
Techmonkey
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #52 on: November 23, 2011, 08:06:30 PM »

Thanks Mouser. Anything I can test to help please let me know.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,432



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #53 on: November 23, 2011, 08:12:25 PM »

actually i should collect a list of users who are willing to help test the new scrolling capture.
so anyone willing to help test the new upcoming scrolling capture system, post on this thread saying so.  maybe seeing a list of users will help motivate me.
Logged
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #54 on: November 23, 2011, 10:00:07 PM »

I'd be in to testing it.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #55 on: November 23, 2011, 11:38:34 PM »

anyone willing to help test the new upcoming scrolling capture system, post on this thread
I'd be happy to if I can. Things are a little hectic for me at the moment but how long could it take?
If you ask him nicely, timns will probably help you out with any lingering font issues.
 
Logged

Chris
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,223



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #56 on: November 24, 2011, 01:41:30 AM »

Count me in thumbs up
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,551



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #57 on: November 24, 2011, 02:36:11 AM »


+1
Logged

Tom
robinsiebler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 83



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #58 on: December 29, 2011, 12:12:04 PM »

Scroll Capture is not working for me: When I choose scroll capture, I see it scrolling the window, but when I save the file it only contains the visible region. I am using Windows XP Pro and ScreenCaptor 2.103.01
Logged

Happiness is laced with shards of pain
stom2005
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #59 on: January 02, 2012, 12:46:39 PM »

+1 missing the scrolling feature so ....
Logged
splwt
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #60 on: January 07, 2012, 09:29:30 AM »

it is enough for me.
somebody on this forum uses Snagit now.
thank you with him for this excellent information.
Google is our friend…
Logged
Ashers
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #61 on: January 23, 2012, 03:39:30 PM »

Any news on the new scrolling feature?  Screenshot captor is excellent utility, but the lack of a working scrolling-window capture is real problem for me, and is forcing me to use less user-friendly tools!

I'd be happy to help with the testing.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,432



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #62 on: January 23, 2012, 03:43:39 PM »

Quote
Any news on the new scrolling feature?

hell yes there is.

i've spent a week full time working on a complete rewrite of the most advanced scrolling capture in existence.  beta test is here:
http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=29550.0

it still has some improvements needed, especially in ease-of-use.
Logged
Ashers
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #63 on: January 23, 2012, 03:44:48 PM »

Sorry, I must have been blind - should have spotted that.  Will give it a go!  Many thanks for all your efforts.
Logged
skas
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #64 on: March 24, 2012, 02:55:02 AM »

As a very long-time registered user of Screenshot Captor, I do remember a time when this feature worked consistently well. But it's been a long, long time since then.

(Btw, as I recall, back when it used to work, it seemed to do more flashing and back-n-forth scrolling than the competing programs like SnagIt. But that was no big deal because it always produced a full image in the end.)

Anyhow, I just tried an auto-scrolling capture of a simple webpage in Firefox 11, and it failed to work on TWO LEVELS:

As I understand it, I'm supposed to press Ctrl+Shift+PrintScreen AND THEN Ctrl+Shift+click.

I definitely remember in the past -- when this feature worked -- the first keyboard command (or tray menu command) resulted in a red-lined frame around the webpage. This appeared with little or no mousing on my part. 

But that red-lined frame no longer appears around the webpage. It appears as just redline toward the bottom of the webpage. And if move my mouse toward the system tray, then partially-obscured red instructions appear.

(I tried to get the frame to surround the webpage, by using my mouse like I would for a custom selection screen capture, but it didn't work. And besides, I shouldn't even have to do that. After all, it's a windows object or scrolling capture, so screen capture should know what needs outlining with the red-lined capture frame or box.)

Nonetheless, I thought I'd try the second step: Ctrl+Shift+click.

Thankfully, I'm not susceptible to seizures from strobe lights, or what ensued might very well have triggered convulsions. The flashing was extremely rapid, and it appeared to be both endless and pointless.  Finally, I clicked the escape key, and here, I'm happy to say, the program worked. It stopped attempting the capture.

I was a bit worried I'd have to restart my PC, because the graphics were only partially displayed. But with a bit of minimizing and maximizing of windows, all returned to normal.

Enough said. PLEASE, Mouser, fix this feature. Otherwise people will certainly move to other program for screen captures. And I don't want to do that myself. But at least for now, for scrolling captures, I must do that.

Steve

PS: I was just trying to capture www.abookapart.com -- there's no flash on the page, and nothing fancy at all.  (It was just for a little collection of webpages with exemplary designs or at least some exemplary design elements.)

CLEARLY, the feature fails right at the beginning.





Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,432



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #65 on: March 24, 2012, 03:00:33 AM »

Skas, what version of Screenshot Captor are you using?  It sounds like you are still using v2.

There are a series of videos on how to use the completely rewritten scrolling capture feature in version 3 at the bottom of this page.
Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 468


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #66 on: March 24, 2012, 02:30:10 PM »

FWIW that site captures great in IE9, I just chose a scrolling capture from the menu and followed all the prompts.  I adjusted the left margin out a little and narrowed up the right margin quite a bit (I didn't think keeping the scroll bars in the capture added any value).  I like the prompts, I do a scrolling capture so rarely it's nice to have the reminders...
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0 ]