Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 21, 2014, 10:14:58 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 [10]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: CLIPBOARD HELP+SPELL LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - v2.27.0 BETA - Dec 19, 2014  (Read 83164 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #225 on: October 08, 2014, 05:13:40 AM »

works fine here -- i wonder if you dont have some other tool that has assigned alt+w and is catching it..
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,730



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #226 on: October 08, 2014, 05:26:44 AM »

works fine here -- i wonder if you dont have some other tool that has assigned alt+w and is catching it..

yeah, thanks for checking - it's actually nothing to do with CH+S:
As a hotkey, Ctrl+Alt+W also changes to Ctrl+Alt+V in other apps ohmy

I'm looking at my AHK file but I havent modified that in years...
will pursue in own thread if I need more help with it.
Logged

Tom
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #227 on: October 09, 2014, 02:04:06 AM »

v2.26.0 is official.

Many thanks! Kiss
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
dcwul62
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 232

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #228 on: October 09, 2014, 09:07:44 AM »

As always, many thanks Mouser... Thmbsup
Tiny thing...
The help file:

It does display anything.
Does it have something to do with Norton or MBAM or what...?

Don't have a clue...  Sad

=

=
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #229 on: October 09, 2014, 09:22:30 AM »

Are you using the portable version of CHS?

Windows sometimes does a very messed up thing with .chm help files you download from the internet, it silently marks them as untrusted and "blocks" the help file and refuses to display any contents in them, while not telling you what it is doing.

If this ever happens to you, right-click on the .chm help file in your file explorer, choose file properties from the menu, and you should see an "Unblock" button you can press to fix the problem.

More info and screenshots of unblocking process here: http://digital.ni.com/pub...4D624B823862575FC0056F3D0
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 09:27:40 AM by mouser » Logged
dcwul62
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 232

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #230 on: October 09, 2014, 09:34:12 AM »

Ah!

Many thanks Mouser, that solved it.
Also many thanks for the quick reply.

ps  : yes, I am indeed using the portable version


Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #231 on: October 09, 2014, 06:10:34 PM »

Can DCUpdater detect CH+S original "installation" folder, even if CH+S is used in "portable mode" ? Just asking as -- without noticing -- I let DCUpdater install a separate instance of CH+S. Uninstalled it right after, of course.

I might have missed something: to update the portable "version", should I just download it and unpack it in the folder where it resides ? Or should I use the updater and just change the installation folder path?

(No rush)
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #232 on: October 09, 2014, 06:18:13 PM »

Quote
Can DCUpdater detect CH+S original "installation" folder, even if CH+S is used in "portable mode" ?


No; DCUpdater can *not* be used for portable installs.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #233 on: October 10, 2014, 01:50:31 AM »

Thanks mouser. Of course, that's what I thought. Strangely though, DCUpdater offered to update CH+S which is in portable mode.I don't know how that happened.

At that point, I didn't remember my CH+S install was portable, so I agreed to update... but I quickly remembered when the newly CH+S started with an empty DB (as there was now 2 CH+S installed). A first "Oh my... what happened" followed by "hmmm... maybe it just installed a new version somewhere else".
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #234 on: October 10, 2014, 10:00:47 AM »

Ah.. yes I hadn't anticipated the use of DcUpdater in portable installs.  I'm going to have to cogitate on this one a bit.. The best advice for now is to uninstall DcUpdater if you are using portable installs.  The new versions of my tools don't need DcUpdater to check for updates, they will check and report when updates are available even without it.  The only thing DcUpdater really buys you is that it will automatically download and run the new installer, wheras without it you are just taking to the website.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #235 on: October 10, 2014, 02:29:11 PM »

OK, thanks mouser.  Maybe DCUpdater should then only check those apps that really depend on it (if any) to get updated -- like older versions of your tools.
For all others, when they check if there's an update or not : if they're portable, the users are taken to the website, if they're not, DCUpdater is started, etc. Or something like that... Whatever. Thanks again!
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
dcwul62
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 232

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #236 on: October 10, 2014, 11:44:42 PM »


Please allow me to comment on the matter of updating a portable version.

As for me, I am using a 3rd party tool (Beyond Compare) to do a foldercompare of the existing portable version with the new, extracted folder and only update what is necessary, such as the .exe or .chm files.
Folders like Backups, Database, Presetviews and .ini, .dat files, i.e. 'user'-files/folders to be skipped.

Maybe, one time in future, a small 'PortableUpdater' cud be added?
Or
Alternatively have a portable update zip, containing the changed files and folders only?

-
Logged
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,795

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #237 on: October 12, 2014, 04:26:09 PM »

As for me, I am using a 3rd party tool (Beyond Compare) to do a foldercompare of the existing portable version with the new, extracted folder and only update what is necessary
Why not use an unarchiver that checks for new/changed files?  I use the one built into my favourite file manager, Total Commander.  It gives various options, a particularly useful one being Overwrite all older.

« Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 04:26:58 PM by rjbull; Reason: typo » Logged
dcwul62
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 232

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #238 on: October 13, 2014, 04:49:27 AM »

Yes, there definitely are a number of tools around doing the same thing.
It is a matter of personal taste I suppose.

I donot use Total Commander, but Directory Opus.
Just counted the number of clicks to get to  the below view (around 13). It does not support drag and drop, so you have to
click, click, expand, click ... to select folder 1 and click,click, click... to select folder 2.
On top I need to do some window resizing to see the differences, etc.
After the job that I again need to some extra clicks to close the view and and resize window panels back to normal again.

=

=

Now within Beyond Compare the steps are kept to an absolute minimum. Rightclick folder 1, right click folder b, compare is launched.

=

=

=

=

all that said, I guess for Mouser it is not a big issue to create a portable update or something  :-)




Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,932


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #239 on: October 19, 2014, 05:19:26 PM »

@rjbull and @dcwul62: If you open the .ZIP file for the latest portable version and then select and copy all its contents to the installed portable proggie's folder, doesn't Windows Explorer check first and ask you if you want to install newer/older versions and/or overwrite, etc.?
I use xplorer² which enables file comparison and all that sort of thing too, but it is not necessary for updating "portable" proggie folders, since Windows Explorer does the folder contents compare by default, before copying files across. This is on Win8.1 PRO-64, but I think it was just the same on Win7.

Just a thought.
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,932


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #240 on: October 19, 2014, 05:25:17 PM »

@mouser: DCUpdater apparently thinks the CHS version on the web is older than the installed version 2.26.0:

Logged
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,795

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #241 on: October 20, 2014, 03:13:41 PM »

@rjbull and @dcwul62: If you open the .ZIP file for the latest portable version and then select and copy all its contents to the installed portable proggie's folder, doesn't Windows Explorer check first and ask you if you want to install newer/older versions and/or overwrite, etc.?
I wouldn't know.  As I wrote, I use the much superior Total Commander  smiley
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #242 on: October 20, 2014, 03:21:49 PM »

Thanks Iain, i need to update the update file smiley
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,932


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #243 on: October 20, 2014, 04:16:09 PM »

...I wouldn't know.  As I wrote, I use the much superior Total Commander  smiley
...Eh? Misses the point.
Logged
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,795

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #244 on: October 21, 2014, 02:54:18 PM »

...I wouldn't know.  As I wrote, I use the much superior Total Commander  smiley
...Eh? Misses the point.
My first post made the point, not very explicitly perhaps, that there's no "need" to make downloads of CHS that only contain updated files (which is what I understood the OP to want) when one can rely on a good file manager to overwrite new/changed files and ignore the rest.  Unless, of course, one is on dialup and really, really wants to minimise download size.  I have been in the habit - for about 15 years - of using Total Commander for my file management needs, and almost never use Windows Explorer, so don't know what it offers.  I imagine most frequent PC users do likewise.
Logged
Paul1149
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #245 on: October 26, 2014, 01:06:48 PM »

I guess this is the place to report a bug? But I will not be able to follow this thread.

Formatting presets are not working in latest version (2.26.0). I have several case changes and html tag inserts, triggered by Ctrl-Alt-NUM {x}. The only one that has worked - once - is the Ctrl-Alt-NUM 5 preset, which happens to be Title Case.

Also, if I may, a suggestion. I would like to see the dialog for formatting presets right off the main options window. It could have a list of all the presets in a left pane, and all their parameters in a right pane. There could be a Save control in the right, which would not close the dialog. It took me a long time to find where the presets were, and then longer to figure out how to work with them.

I can only follow this thread for a couple of days.

Thanks!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #246 on: November 01, 2014, 06:18:02 AM »

Quote
Formatting presets are not working in latest version
they seem to be working well for me -- anyone else with this problem?

Quote
Also, if I may, a suggestion. I would like to see the dialog for formatting presets right off the main options window.
this is a good idea -- putting it on my todo list.
Logged
Paul1149
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #247 on: November 01, 2014, 03:47:34 PM »

I have to admit, I just tried it again and it seems to be working fine. Can't figure that one out.

Thanks for your reply,
Paul

BTW, just acquainting myself with FRR. Awesome piece of work. I'm going to deploy it on my laptop refurbs.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,793



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #248 on: December 20, 2014, 11:11:39 AM »

v2.27.0 BETA - Dec 19, 2014
  • [MinorFeature] Added option (tweaks tab) to not obey programs (like password utilities) that put stuff on the clipboard and mark it as to-be-ignored by clipboard tools.
  • [MinorFeature] Added option (tweaks tab) to go to TOP of grid list when selecting new group; improvement to keeping selected row visible and focused when adding new clips.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 [10]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.043s | Server load: 0.03 ]