Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 01:57:32 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File  (Read 3638 times)

bazookajoe

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« on: March 14, 2011, 02:53:05 PM »
I've been using FSekrit 1.40 for a long time now. However, recently, I've noticed that after opening one of my files, I always get an "error saving file" message the first time I try to save new information added to a file. It always works after that, but never on the first try. Then it saves an fSekrit.tmp file to my desktop.

Does anyone else have the same problem? Is there a way to fixing this?

Thanks again for this software. It's easy to use, small in size, and it has gotten the job done for nearly 2 years now.

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 04:35:29 PM »
Hm, this sounds strange!

Which OS are you running?

What, if any, anti-virus/malware/whatever programs/suites are you running?

Where do your TMP and TEMP environment variables point? It sounds strange for the tempfile to go to your desktop, unless you have your document there and the "fsekrit.portable" file.

Is there anything peculiar about your Windows setup? Stuff like having the fSekrit document in a dropbox/spideroak/whatever monitored folder counts as "peculiar".
- carpe noctem

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2016, 03:00:20 AM »
A similar problem. And ALWAYS and in all versions (1.35, 1.40)

Снимок.PNGFSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File

Can not save changes, but if you leave for 5 minutes and try, as a rule retains.

Windows 7 x86 with the latest updates. Antivirus Avira  (security software, which is deeply integrated into the system and theoretically may cause such errors) - the problem does not go away when the deactivation.
Maybe not enough to turn off and require complete removal?

In safe mode there is no problem.

It may help startup list than that:

Снимок2.PNGFSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File

How else can I help to solve the problem?

Sorry for my English.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2016, 03:47:15 AM by Tretyy »

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2016, 12:50:23 AM »
Avira removed completely - It did not help. The problem remained.

I tried to boot in msconfig -> "Diagnostic Setup" - did not help, the problem persists.

In Safe Mode is no error. I'm at a loss :(

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2016, 09:04:45 AM »
Where are you trying to save to?

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2016, 11:32:58 AM »
wraith808
I'm trying to save changes to the previously existing file-container. Which is located in the root folder (Drive D - it is not the system). Windows 7 x86. Nothing has changed, many years I have used this file container without any problems.

I tried to create the new file-container, and it save the changes an error

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2016, 10:25:30 AM »
You can try my self contained note app, Self Note. You can store more than one note in one file.

http://vdsfreak.com/...3464183725/self-note
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2016, 10:44:56 AM »
wraith808
I'm trying to save changes to the previously existing file-container. Which is located in the root folder (Drive D - it is not the system). Windows 7 x86. Nothing has changed, many years I have used this file container without any problems.

I tried to create the new file-container, and it save the changes an error

So, the container was working before, and is not working now, and is in the same location where it was working.  And when you try to create a new container in that location, you get the same error.

Have you tried to move the container and see the results?  And/or create a container in a different location?

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2016, 02:52:03 PM »
wraith808
Yes.
I recorded a video https://youtu.be/20Rucu3pblM . Explanation of what is happening: new.exe file after modification attempt is displayed, but it is no longer physically. How to explain it, I do not know.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2016, 03:05:46 PM »
Quote
Have you tried to move the container and see the results?  And/or create a container in a different location?
The reason I asked these is because of permissions.

In addition, after watching your video, it appears that the error is on renaming the temp file, which also seems like the error has to do with permissions.  I could be wrong on this, but considering that the tmp file seems to be the full file of your edits, and after you change to .exe it works, I don't think that to ask that is far afield.

Thoughts?

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2016, 03:10:08 AM »
wraith808
I tried to run as administrator - is still a mistake.

Checking a hard disk for errors - all good.
No other programs do not have a problem with the recording files and data.

I spent verifying system files - all is well.

Antivirus removed - the problem persists.

I can not even imagine what the causes of this error ... :( :( :(

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2016, 08:37:49 AM »
One more time: In all of the information you've given, you've been using D:\.

Have you tried a different path?  Move the container to somewhere else (on your c-drive in your my documents if possible).  Try it there.  Try a new container there also.  Does that work?

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2016, 08:36:58 AM »
wraith808
I tried and other folders - the error persists

Tried to create new containers - the error persists.

No mistakes in a safe mode.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2016, 09:27:55 AM »
Well, if you've done that (other folders), I'm not sure what to tell you.  You might look in the event viewer to see if there is some indication of what the problem is.  But if windows is preventing one program in all folders from renaming, but not from creating... that sounds really strange.  I'd say check the permissions on the folders- which is where I was going, but I've you've already tried it on a different drive... that seems a dead end.

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2016, 03:54:15 PM »
wraith808
It is very sad  :(

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2016, 03:49:26 AM »
Hi, sorry for the late reply.

The problem sounds a bit strange - you've been using fSekrit for years, and suddenly this error appears, without making any changes to the system? That the problem disappears in safe mode hints to me that the problem is with software, not NTFS permissions, and my guess would have been antivirus software. But you say there has been no changes, and that you even uninstalled Avira.

fSekrit works by copying itself to a temporary location and using that as the "editor" executable, to be able to write to the "document" executable (it's not possible to write to the executable file of a running program without doing some very dirty tricks). Under normal operation, this means the editor executable is in %TEMP%, unless you have a file called fSekrit.portable in the same folder as the document executable.

When saving, fSekrit starts by writing to a temporary file, then it deletes the document.exe, and finally moves the temporary file to the document.exe name. The fSekrit 1.40 codebase doesn't check for errors deleting document.exe, so that's probably the step that fails.

I'm not sure why that happens, as it's not something I've seen under normal operation (I'm running Win10 these days, but fSekrit 1.40 has been running on pretty much every version from Win9x). But something is probably keeping the document.exe open - this could be backup software, antivirus software, or even explorer.exe. I would suggest grabbing Sysinternals' Handle and see if it reports some other program keeping the document.exe open.
- carpe noctem

Tretyy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2016, 11:41:33 AM »
f0dder
Thank you for your attention to the problem :)
I am willing to experiment with the Sysinternals, just write exactly what to do.

upd:
He says that he was busy System pid: 4

upd2:
Hooray! I started digging on this issue and finally came across this http://superuser.com...-delayed-file-delete
I had turned off the service, with a very long time. Apparently, what the update has changed the algorithm which is why it shutdown caused these problems.
The problem is completely solved
« Last Edit: November 23, 2016, 02:11:08 PM by Tretyy »

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2016, 02:08:40 PM »
Look in your task manager - there should be a column there for PID (process ID).  If there's not, right click on any column to check to show it.

What is that process?


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2016, 02:53:43 PM »
Look in your task manager - there should be a column there for PID (process ID).  If there's not, right click on any column to check to show it.

What is that process?
was confused by the sequence here -
turns out the last edit of the previous post (below) was well after wraith's post
upd2:
Hooray! I started digging on this issue and finally came across this http://superuser.com...-delayed-file-delete
I had turned off the service, with a very long time. Apparently, what the update has changed the algorithm which is why it shutdown caused these problems.
The problem is completely solved
Tom

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2016, 07:10:14 PM »
was confused by the sequence here -

1. Open Task Manager
2. If PID is not shown, right click and add it.
3. Find PID.

I was going to post screenshots, but SSC is acting weird with Task Manager in Win10.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2016, 04:30:46 AM »
^ no, I meant sequence of posts (gotta be more specific in my writing) -
the [edited] 'solution' post came before your post which didnt make sense to me, until I realised it was edited...
Tom

f0dder

  • Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FSekrit 1.40 Error Saving File
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2016, 02:51:50 PM »
Good to hear the source of the issue was found, but damn - that's pretty nasty, and a somewhat convoluted workaround. It seems like the issue has been introduced with some (late-ish) Win7 update? That would explain why I haven't run into it, since I've been running Win8 and now Win10 for a while - at least those versions haven't been plagued.

I wonder if there's anything I can do programmatically against this. The SuperUser thread mentions "several minutes delay", so doing a couple of tries with a short delay between (as is done elsewhere) is not an option.
- carpe noctem