Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 12:47:52 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: How to quickly autonumber text lists?  (Read 12728 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #25 on: October 25, 2010, 04:35:13 PM »
Quote
In my current build, I have those two edit controls set to insert a tab character when the tab key is used.  However, you will lose the ability to tab out of that control to the next one.  Make sense?

or just support the standard \t for tab and \n for newline

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2010, 05:27:03 PM »
Quote
In my current build, I have those two edit controls set to insert a tab character when the tab key is used.  However, you will lose the ability to tab out of that control to the next one.  Make sense?

or just support the standard \t for tab and \n for newline
I had no idea about those "standards".  Thanks!  I've run into so many situations where I've wanted to enter characters to indicate new lines and tabs and have given up.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2010, 05:46:36 PM »
Also, names for this application are welcome.  It's been a while, Cranioscopical...what say you?  =]


I can't argue with this:
 
Quote from: superboyac
I actually really like "List Numberer"
  :)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2010, 08:05:21 PM »
I had no idea about those "standards".  Thanks!  I've run into so many situations where I've wanted to enter characters to indicate new lines and tabs and have given up.

Well, they're pretty much standards when it comes to code, regex, etc.  You can't just slap a "\t" in any edit field and expect a tab character to happen.   :D  Anyway, please redownload the zip file.  This version will let you use "\t" to insert tab characters and "\n" to insert newlines.  Let me know how it works out for you.  Thanks.   :)

List Numberer download
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 08:09:00 PM by skwire »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #29 on: October 26, 2010, 08:53:55 AM »
Also, this latest version should save your settings between sessions.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2010, 11:29:56 AM »
skwire, this is an amazing tool you've made.  Thanks so much.  I'm using it right now at work and it is working wonderfully.  I owe you one.
screenshot_20101029093009.png

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #31 on: October 29, 2010, 11:49:43 AM »
Great to hear; I'm glad it's working for you.  Thanks for the feedback.  I think I'm going to submit this as a NANY.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #32 on: October 29, 2010, 11:59:25 AM »
I suspect that for many coders, especially those like skwire, a really nice public thank you like this is more satisfying and rewarding than a donation..

BUT that won't stop me from reminding everyone that the DonationCredit system we implemented makes it possible for you to send people on the forum some donations easily, and that we should all remember to use it as a way of supporting coders whose work we like.

So when you see someone like skwire do these wonderful coding snacks, don't forget to click on the gold coin under his name and send him some of your donation credits, and make sure to specify a nice message when you do to encourage them and let them know how much they are appreciated here!

Screenshot - 10_29_2010 , 11_59_05 AM_thumb.png

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #33 on: October 03, 2011, 04:03:43 PM »
Website | Download
v1.0.8 - 2011-10-03
    + Added Unicode compatibility for Windows XP and later.  You may need
      to delete your config.ini file if the prefix and suffix don't appear
      to be saving properly.
    * Changed the copy-to-clipboard method to better handle various text
      editors.
    ! The \n and \r tokens weren't working properly in all cases.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #34 on: October 05, 2011, 07:53:59 AM »
Website | Download
v1.0.9 - 2011-10-05
    ! Fixed a trailing carriage return issue.  (Thanks, Alex)

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #35 on: March 07, 2012, 05:32:59 PM »
Can ListNumberer work from the command line?

Would be nice to set it up in a process chain so that, say, 'zero-padding' a folder of files (with titles numbered 1.txt through 1000.txt) is a single 'double-click' operation.

Presto.  It's done.

Thanks Skwire.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #36 on: March 07, 2012, 06:49:02 PM »
Can ListNumberer work from the command line?

No, it cannot.

Would be nice to set it up in a process chain so that, say, 'zero-padding' a folder of files (with titles numbered 1.txt through 1000.txt) is a single 'double-click' operation.

Hmmm...List Numberer is not a file renamer.  If you're looking to easily renumber files like that, take a look at one of my favourite renamer applications called, oddly enough, ReNamer.  You can easily set up a ruleset that will do what you want like this:

2012-03-07_185204.pngHow to quickly autonumber text lists?

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #37 on: March 08, 2012, 04:37:55 AM »

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,032
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #38 on: March 08, 2012, 12:00:49 PM »
Last two posts by kalos and skwire... :up: :up: :up:

Renamer is awesome!
Textmechanic..yeah!

I love tools like these.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to quickly autonumber text lists?
« Reply #39 on: March 08, 2012, 12:21:10 PM »
I really like ReNamer because it lets you set up separate renaming "steps" and then save them all as a preset to easily use over and over.  Good stuff.