Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 03:23:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Highlighting rectangle  (Read 7757 times)

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Highlighting rectangle
« on: August 31, 2010, 06:23:51 AM »
Hi there,

I have the following that's disturbing me:

When I use the Highlighting rectangle, it places a box over the screenshot.
You can perfectly set the transparency, but it fades out the text underneath it.

Maybe you need to split it up in 2 parts:

- highlight a part of the screenshot. (blending mode = overlay)
- cover a part of the screenshot. (blaning mode : normal)

The only difference between both modes are the blending of the object.
And for highlight, it actually needs to fill the lighter pixels with the highlight color, not all pixels.

IF you know photoshop, you know you can change the blending modes between layers.
here are quick details: http://www.freetimef...toshop_blending_mode

Hope I am clear enough.

In attachment i've added a screenshot from SSC end one from Snagit (that I used to use :p )
So you see the difference it makes.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 06:25:47 AM by DeVamp »

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 03:47:36 PM »
Aha! This was on my round tuit list of things to ask about as well, although I wouldn't have been nearly as articulate in asking about it. The highlighter built into the Snipping Tool built into Vista/Win7 does this, and I wonder if there is a way to make Screenshot Captor do this already, just not by default.
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2010, 04:03:20 PM »
yes i need to do this.. it's been asked for in the past. i will try.

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2010, 04:10:25 PM »
Take your time, you probably hae stuff enough todo. :-)

I just wanted to describe it as clear as possible.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2010, 04:23:02 PM »
Actually yes it does help because it gives me a tip on how to best implement the effect  :up:

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2010, 02:13:37 AM »
Yes I like this suggestion, it looks like a much better implementation of highlighting.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2010, 11:25:20 AM »
I also support this suggestion because the "highlighters" of some other screenshotprograms look much better and do a real "highlight" and not a blur with a lightyellow colour.
Sometimes I take screenshots with "screenshot captor" an do some highlights with "greenshot".
Ralf

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2010, 04:25:02 AM »
Hi mouser,

have you thought about this suggestion?
Is its possible to implement this feature?
Ralf

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2010, 09:41:52 AM »
yes it is possible, and yes i will implement it.. it's high on my todo list but i can't say exactly when.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2010, 12:58:35 PM »
Great, I'm curious about it.
Ralf

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2011, 08:03:14 AM »
Any update on this feature?  :tellme: :tellme: :tellme: :tellme: :tellme:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2011, 12:28:07 PM »
Haven't done it yet.. i'll try to make it part of my march update madness.

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2011, 02:50:28 PM »
 :Thmbsup: Great

But NO pressure meant, but just keeping the tought in the head :D

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2011, 05:39:39 AM »
Is this topic still on todo list?
Ralf

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2011, 03:24:24 PM »
I haven't yet gotten to this, but I have started work improving the graphics object stuff, and this is absolutely on my list.. Hopefully in the next month it will be implemented.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2011, 04:22:32 PM »
Fixed for next release  :up:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2011, 07:56:27 PM »
I'd appreciate some test reports on the beta version:
http://www.donationc...nshotCaptorSetup.exe

Note that you may need to select a new blend mode for the highlighting box to see the improved overlay, since default may be set to something else for you.

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2011, 02:49:25 PM »
Works for me:)  :Thmbsup:
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2011, 02:56:50 PM »
Thanks for the report.  :up:

After a while maybe we can determine that we really only need one of those blending modes and that i can either get rid of the options for blending mode and force it to that, or just have a checkbox to toggle between previous and new blend modes, rather than have that current combo box with lots of choices.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2011, 07:30:50 AM »
Hi Mouser,

thank you for this really great feature!

I've compared the blend methods, and I think "normal" and "average" give the same results.
Also "and", "minimum", "colorburn" and "subtractive" give the same results.
I've not tested all colorcombination and this may differ with the transparency, but I think the methods can be reduced to 4 methods with different results "normal", "multiply", "and" and "freeze".

My favorite is "freeze".

Edit: the example is with no tranparency (=255)
Ralf

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2011, 08:51:10 AM »
Thanks for the chart ralfs!
ps you might want to upload screenshots in .png format in the future as the jpg image is a bit lossy.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2011, 11:31:31 AM »
Quote
ps you might want to upload screenshots in .png format in the future as the jpg image is a bit lossy.
Yes it is, but I had to compress the jpg so much to reach the 50 kb limit.
For demonstrating the effects it's necessary to hilight more than a word on white ground. So I think for this demonstration it's acceptable.
Ralf

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 106
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Highlighting rectangle
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2011, 02:04:53 PM »
I must totally have missed the reply's on this topic.

But now it looks great.

Thank you!