Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 02:34:38 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?  (Read 3173 times)

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« on: August 19, 2010, 12:36:57 PM »
Is there a way to minimize the window that says, "You have captured a new screenshot, what now?" (the minimize icon is greyed up in the title bar).

If not, any chance that could be allowed in the future?

Thanks for any help. 

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 12:43:18 PM »
i think you are referring to the post-capture dialog.
you can choose whether to show that or not -- i never use it myself.
does that answer your question or did you have something else in mind.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2010, 03:08:54 PM »
Yes, the post-capture dialog.  I like it, and sometimes wish I could minimize it but the minimize icon is greyed out.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2010, 04:22:59 PM »
what would minimizing it mean, thats the question.

maybe i could put back the minimize button, but make it do the same things as alt+H, which is to make the dialog go away and just keep the file.

would you really want the window to minimize to the task bar so you could bring it up later and work on the file?  i find that in such cases one usually just wants that window to go away completely and let you use the main interface when you are ready.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2010, 07:21:58 PM »
Yes, just the regular minimize (to the task bar, then restore brings it back to work on as with other apps).

For the window to go away completely, I just close it or hit <esc>.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2010, 07:22:38 PM »
ok let me think about it.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2015, 09:15:41 AM »
Hi Mouser!

I'm actually still hoping for this feature (the enabled minimize toolbar button)! ;)

The scenario I want to support is for comparing two things on the screen that are a hassle to display at the same time.  So I screen shot the first one, then bring up the second one (usually takes a few steps), then bring the screen shot back to compare with #2. 

While I'm working to bring up the second image ("usually takes a few steps") I like having the screen shot minimized.  1) It's out of sight, and 2) It's just an alt-tab away from coming back into the foreground.  With minimize disabled in the post capture dialog I've been dragging the dialog to the bottom of the screen with just the title bar showing.  I don't want to "Save Image And Show" because 1) I don't really want to create a file from the screen shot, just save it for a few minutes and then look at it again.  And 2) When I minimize that other window (the main interface?), it disappears from the AltTab list and I have to click on the tray icon to get it back.

Sorry for the drawn out explanation.   Thanks for considering!



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2015, 09:33:17 AM »
Have you tried the new feature that lets you show the screenshot in a standalone window? It's in the view menu.  Maybe that will be useful for what you are trying to do?

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2015, 10:44:32 AM »
Nice!  I do like the standalone window!

But to get there from the post capture dialog I'm clicking "Save Image and Show" to save the file and bring up the main interface.  From there, under View I click "Toggle standalone standalone screenshot window".  And from there, back to the main interface to close it.  Now I've got the screen shot window ready to minimize, and then restore from alt-tab.

Any chance of an easier way to get there from the post capture dialog?


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2015, 10:56:04 AM »
Well, once you view the standalone screenshot window ONCE, it should remain as a standalone, minimizable window for the rest of the session, even as you take new screenshots.
Now just turn off that post-capture pop-up dialog completely and let it autosave and stay minimized.
Now whenever you take a screenshot it will be in the standalone window which you can move, minimize, resize, etc.
No need to use the post-capture popup or the main sc window.

ottenm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2015, 11:21:23 AM »
Bummer, I usually use SSC to copy what I've captured to the clipboard or to save it to a file somewhere (but not in the SSC folder).  Both options are quick/easy from the post-capture dialog.

So sorry to be such a nuisance Mouser! 

Would really love to be able to minimize that dialog.  There's so much more to it than trivial popups like yes/no/cancel, and it won't allow anything in front (which even trivial popups normally allow).

Again, so sorry to be such a nuisance.  Can probably do another 5 years of dragging the title bar down to the bottom of the screen without significant injury.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: possible to miminize "New Screenshot" window?
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2015, 11:45:47 AM »
let me think on it.