Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:56:31 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: DCUpdater redundancy  (Read 7869 times)

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DCUpdater redundancy
« on: July 24, 2010, 03:52:25 PM »
This scenario has occurred many times and is quite frustrating:

1. DCUpdater runs and suggests updates. Other stuff going on, no time to respond.

2. A few days later, DCUpdater runs again. All the same updates are suggested, added to the end of the list. Maybe I'm away from home for a few weeks with my computer on remote access. By the time I get home, the list of 10-ish suggested updates has grown to a list of 100 suggested updates, with the same ones being listed again and again and again. Yech.

Thanks.



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 04:00:09 PM »
yes i have been meaning to post that i found this to be the case too, and its a good clue i will try to release a new dcupdater release in the next few days that fixes this; i think it explains the mystery of multiple entries that people posted before that i wasnt able to reproduce before.

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 04:10:41 PM »
Thanks, mouser!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2010, 11:51:51 PM »
new version should now fix this; not uploaded yet. jd if you can reproduce this bug i'd love to send you a beta to test.

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2010, 06:17:46 AM »
Sorry, mouser I've been unavailable for almost 2 months, but I've now updated and will let you know if the problem recurs. FWIW, after updating FARR to 2.90.02, it now shows "version on web" as 2.90.01. No harm, but seems unnecessarily confusing. Also, for both FARR and (especially) DCU, the online version history (and I presume the help generally) are out of date:
http://www.donationc...drun/help/index.html
http://www.donationc...ater/help/index.html

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2010, 05:41:21 PM »
I experience a similar problem, except it doesn't make the items in the list show up more than twice.

What I do is install all DC programs into Program Files\DonationCoder\[ProgramName] and then I've added "Program Files\DonationCoder\" to the list of where to check for updates.

As you can see, I have redundant entries.

Screenshot - 9_12_2010 , 4_40_06 PM.pngDCUpdater redundancy


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2010, 05:44:31 PM »
ok this is important for me to solve this (since i thought i already did!)
can you show me pictures of the bottom panel when you click on the 2 duplicate entries for an item? (ie show me the bottom panel when you click on the first two entries in your list) -- i'm trying to see where it shows the update file located.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2010, 09:02:12 PM »
They're the same.



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2010, 09:05:08 PM »
and now the file question, if you do Help -> About from DcUpdater, what version does it report?

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2010, 09:06:32 PM »
Quote
DcUpdater
v1.27.02 by DonationCoder


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2010, 09:09:05 PM »
how on earth is this happening  :tellme:'
i swear sometimes i think you guys that find these bugs have magical powers.  i would have laid money that this was not possible in the latest version.

can you show me your "Extra Update Files and Exclusions" tab in the options?

and to confirm, you are getting these duplicates right after you launch the updater manually right?

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2010, 09:10:58 PM »
Hmm.. Looks like Screenshot Captor didn't capture that very well...

and to confirm, you are getting these duplicates right after you launch the updater manually right?

Yes. Every time I launch it, that's the list it shows.

« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 09:13:02 PM by Deozaan »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2010, 09:48:37 PM »
ok i think i see the problem.

deo, can you try replacing your existing dcuppdater.exe with this beta:
http://www.donationc.../beta/DcUppdater.zip

and see if that fixes it.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2010, 12:32:24 AM »
That appears to have fixed it. :Thmbsup:


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2010, 12:37:40 AM »
thanks for finding the bug.. new official version will be posted soon.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DCUpdater redundancy
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2010, 12:40:08 AM »
Thanks for fixing it! :D