Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 20, 2014, 12:42:54 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR prevents DiRT 2 from starting  (Read 4367 times)
rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 22, 2010, 08:37:32 AM »

I have no idea how these two programs could be connected but:
Dirt 2 does not work (crashes to desktop after dirt 2 logo) if FARR is started. (and Dirt 2 starts normally after FARR is closed)
Win Vista 64bit SP2
any ideas?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,788



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2010, 08:47:27 AM »

that is straaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaange.

does Dirt2 refuse to start even if farr is minimized to tray?
Logged
rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2010, 08:49:17 AM »

yes
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,788



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2010, 09:06:14 AM »

wow that is strange.. i have never heard of such a thing before.. i'm trying to think how it could even happen...
did you install any extra farr plugins?
does Dirt2 give an error message?

the only thing i can think of is that FARR might reserve a hotkey that the Dirt2 program doesnt want to be reserved.. you could try going to the FARR options Hotkeys tab and unchecking all the hotkeys and then running it, to see if that makes a difference.
Logged
rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2010, 09:43:47 AM »

funny, I already made same guess and checked with all hotkeys disabled and same thing happens smiley
no error from dirt 2 (worth noting that there are many problems with dirt 2 startup - I bet not all are connected with FARR)

plugins:
data generator
farr alttab
farrfox
fcalc
farrsubscript
network connections plugin

disabling them (unticking disables them?smiley) does not help
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2010, 10:23:18 AM »

it is strange that your game crashes with Farr running in the background.. did you launch the game with Farr? also what is your PC specs and does your copy of Dirt 2 has the GFWL account set-up properly?
Logged

rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2010, 10:32:19 AM »

it sure is strange and I guess that it must be some wierd software combinatian but the game repeatedly starts when FARR is closed...
I dont launch the game with farr
I believe that GFWL works correctly because multiplayer works  smiley
specs:
P5Q-E
E5200 @3.15GHz
4GB RAM
HD4850
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2010, 10:46:32 AM »

maybe you want to try this to see if it improves the situation: Hotfix to improve Dirt 2 performance.

http://support.amd.com/us...ve-Dirt2-performance.aspx
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2010, 10:53:01 AM »

btw i noticed that there is a recent patch for this game. among the issues that was fixed is "a rare crash during the loading sequence". i wonder if your game is already patched?

http://www.bigdownload.co...rt-2/pc/dirt-2-v11-patch/
Logged

rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2010, 10:54:07 AM »

maybe you want to try this to see if it improves the situation: Hotfix to improve Dirt 2 performance.

http://support.amd.com/us...ve-Dirt2-performance.aspx
it would be even more crazy if that patch helped here smiley

also its a hotfix for some 2009 drivers
and: "This driver is provided as-is and is not supported by AMD. It has not completed full AMD testing, and is only recommended for users experiencing the particular issue described above."
and it was removed from amd servers
and description says that its for ATI CrossFireX problems smiley

I don't think it is a good idea to install this thing tongue
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 10:58:05 AM by rob0t » Logged
rob0t
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2010, 10:54:37 AM »

btw i noticed that there is a recent patch for this game. among the issues that was fixed is "a rare crash during the loading sequence". i wonder if your game is already patched?

http://www.bigdownload.co...rt-2/pc/dirt-2-v11-patch/
yes, it is patched
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2010, 11:01:07 AM »

in that case, it might be faster to write a batch file that closes Farr and launches your game and later when you're done playing, do the reverse.. smiley
Logged

bartoncasey
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2010, 07:53:12 PM »

I ran in to this as well. When it ran after I killed off everything in my status tray, I figured the culprit must have been something like Daemon Tools or AVG. I was pretty surprised that it ended up being FARR. 32-bit XP here, with a single NVidia graphics card.

It's quite happy to run alongside Autohotkey. However, the autohotkey bindings don't work within the game. This makes me think that Dirt2 is doing some low-level keyboard stuff that is conflicting with FARR.
Logged
Jabberwock
Participant
*
Posts: 71

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2010, 03:43:43 AM »

I use Ctrl+`. It's quite convenient as it does not require looking at the keyboard (I could not do e.g. Win + function or Pause like that) and still does not interfere with my more frequently used shortcuts (I use it a lot, but not as often as my "work" cuts).

I might be a bit obsessive about it, but I don't like to move my fingers from where they belong, i.e. the home keys (yes, I know, the sentence just invites all those NSFW comments Wink ). As my work requires quite a lot of typing - I am a translator - I prefer to have everything close to my fingertips. In my work applications I have most of the commands available as Left Alt + home-or-near-home keys, i.e. JKL;UIOPNM (<- that was easy to type  cheesy ). At some point I had even arrow keys redefined as Ctrl+JKL: but it turned out they were not used that much.

Sorry for that aside, but I think it's still on the topic, considering that FARR is all about eliminating that productivity-killing monster i.e. mouse + desktop, menus etc.
Logged
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2010, 05:25:53 AM »

I use Ctrl+`. It's quite convenient as it does not require looking at the keyboard (I could not do e.g. Win + function or Pause like that) and still does not interfere with my more frequently used shortcuts (I use it a lot, but not as often as my "work" cuts).

I might be a bit obsessive about it, but I don't like to move my fingers from where they belong, i.e. the home keys (yes, I know, the sentence just invites all those NSFW comments Wink ). As my work requires quite a lot of typing - I am a translator - I prefer to have everything close to my fingertips. In my work applications I have most of the commands available as Left Alt + home-or-near-home keys, i.e. JKL;UIOPNM (<- that was easy to type  cheesy ). At some point I had even arrow keys redefined as Ctrl+JKL: but it turned out they were not used that much.

Sorry for that aside, but I think it's still on the topic, considering that FARR is all about eliminating that productivity-killing monster i.e. mouse + desktop, menus etc.

Wrong thread?
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2010, 06:17:55 AM »

I use Ctrl+`. It's quite convenient as it does not require looking at the keyboard (I could not do e.g. Win + function or Pause like that) and still does not interfere with my more frequently used shortcuts (I use it a lot, but not as often as my "work" cuts).
...

this thread would have made more sense.. smiley

What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
Logged

andhar
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2010, 04:04:25 AM »

I can confirm that "Dirt 2" does not start with FARR in the background. Before starting a high performance game like dirt I close all unneccessary processes via GameBooster which is able to stop processes and restart them after switching back to "normal mode". But I never thought that FARR is the program causing the crashes of "Dirt 2". After adding FARR to the list of processes to be closed for "gaming mode" all is fine.

I use WinXP Home SP3 (32 Bit)
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 04:08:06 AM by andhar » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.06s | Server load: 0.02 ]