Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2016, 12:15:46 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: latest update messed up my toolbar?  (Read 2769 times)

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
latest update messed up my toolbar?
« on: May 12, 2010, 06:27:52 PM »
Hi

I just updated to the latest version and my toolbar is totally jammed, it is showing toolbar entries from last year. it looks like it reverted back some settings? I have deleted some of the toolbar entries last year, they just popped up again after the update

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,149
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 06:35:36 PM »
shouldn't happen -- is it possible you have a second copy of FARR that is being launched?

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 06:42:43 PM »
mouser, i happen to have only one Farr at the moment

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,149
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2010, 07:04:41 PM »
if you exit your farr and restart it, do the new toolbar entries go away?
im thinking it must be finding an old config file or something -- because i can't think of any way an update could mess with your toolbar settings.
so my guess is that somehow when farr is RESTARTED, its starting up a different copy of farr, or farr is starting up and grabbing a different config settings file than normally.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2010, 07:13:09 PM »
Well I deleted all the entries just because I was not using them. The thing is that I see that there is a toolbarmenu ini file which has the wrong entries. These are definetely not the toolbar shortcuts I had this morning. Is there another place where toolbar ini might reside?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,149
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2010, 07:31:16 PM »
depending on how you set your configdir.ini file and what operating system you use, it would normally be either in the FARR directory, or in your MyDocuments\DonationCoder\FindAndRunRobot directory.

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: latest update messed up my toolbar?
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2010, 08:33:18 PM »
Ok that is bizarre. The right toolbar config residing in MyDocuments\DonationCoder\FindAndRunRobot, but for some reason Farr was loading from the root.

Copying and pasting resolved it now, thanks