Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 03, 2016, 03:12:39 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens  (Read 2965 times)

kaithu41

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« on: May 09, 2010, 02:20:00 PM »
Hi, I use ScreenshotCaptor mainly to capture and save info from various sites. I have set it up to automatically send the captured file to IrfanView which automatically opens and let me edit the captured picture. Works very well. But after every capture the ScreenshotCaptor folder opens and I have to close it again. I haven't been able to find anything in the Preferences to stop this. What am I missing?

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,875
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2010, 02:58:49 PM »
I just ran into the same problem.  I think this should work - load Options (Control-P from main screen), go down to the "Saving and Loading Files" tab, and uncheck the "Save As Options - Open folder after save as box":

mouser... ??
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 03:05:34 PM by rjbull »

kaithu41

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2010, 04:09:51 PM »
No, sorry, I have already done that. Doesn't work.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,860
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2010, 04:42:11 PM »
let me see if i can reproduce -- can you tell me how you have set the options in SC to open irfanview.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,875
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2010, 05:00:39 PM »
mouser on the case    8)

Meanwhile, how about a kludge?  How about using something like ClickOff (freeware) or PTFB Pro (payware) or PTFB (last free version) to automatically close the dialog box for you?  Doesn't solve the problem, only the symptoms, but might reduce the irritation until mouser finds a proper fix.

kaithu41

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2010, 05:25:13 PM »
Attaching PostCapture options and what the ScreenshotCapture says in Tool options about IrfanView. Will try the kludge alternatives.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,860
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2010, 05:31:16 PM »
you have "launch external editor" checked -- can you go to the "Screenshot Folder and Tools" options tab, and see what you have configured there -- maybe attach screenshot to post.  i'll bet you have something there causing the problem.

kaithu41

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2010, 05:37:12 PM »
Here goes.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,860
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2010, 05:43:03 PM »
well there you have it.

SC is to blame for not complaining, but the reason the SC folder is opening is because you have checked the box in post-cap form that says "launch external editor" but you haven't specified an "Ext. Image Editor" in that tab.

the proper thing would be for SC to pop up a message box telling you about this discrepancy.

so now you have a choice, you can uncheck that box saying "post capture commandline" and put the irfanview in "Ext. Image Editor", or you can uncheck the "Launch External Editor" checkbox in post capture dialog.

the advantage of doing the former is that you'll have a quick button in your main SC window at all times to open the image in irfanview.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,860
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2010, 05:43:55 PM »
by the way those jpg images you are attaching are super compressed, they are making my eyes bleed.   :)

kaithu41

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ScreenshotCaptor folder opens
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2010, 05:52:15 PM »
Thanks a lot, it works very well! Good, because the alternatives were not that easy to handle. - Try clicking on the pictures and your eyes will stop bleeding. Signing off from Sweden.