Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 05:51:24 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Measure sizes  (Read 2571 times)

OLLI_S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Measure sizes
« on: April 27, 2010, 03:08:39 PM »
Hello,

when I check applications (if they fit some needs in design) I also measure some component dimensions (hight and width of a button for example).
Reason: every button needs to have the same size.

In the suggestion Display Ruler in Zoom (http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=22558.0) I suggested to display a ruler in the zoom pane.
For measuring the dimensions the application Consic Ruler (http://www.stefanhey...n.de/ruler/index.htm) has also a handy feature.
You press [F5] for a horizontal (and [F6] for a vertical) measurement.
At a horizontal measurement you see a vertical black line (full screen height).
Then you move the mouse to the beginning of the button, hold down the mouse cursor and drag the mouse to the end of the button.
While doing this, you see also a second vertical line at your mouse position and a horizontal line between them.
You also see the dimensions in pixels.

Feel free to download Consic Ruler and test this yourself.

This way I see quickly, if a component has an invalid size.
The "Display Ruler in Zoom" feature works for small dimensions (like the height of a button).
For bigger sizes I use the measurement .

Please add such a feature in Screenshot Captor.
Then I would need only one application and Screenshot Captor would get more powerful.

Greetings

OLLI

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Measure sizes
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 02:34:09 PM »
SC has a powerful system for adding external programs to the TOOLS menu and toolbar..
so the main question for me is, do you think there is an existing free ruler that can be configured to work well with sc and just added to the tool menu, or do you think there is a reason it needs to be custom built into SC itself.

for example, i use the ColorCop free color picker tool configured in the Screenshot Captor TOOL menu to fill my color picking needs.. i could build one into screenshot captor, but what's the point when another tool does it just as well?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Measure sizes
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 04:58:30 PM »
Let's have further SC discussion of rulers on this thread.