Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 11:57:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Hide all Objects  (Read 1707 times)

OLLI_S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hide all Objects
« on: April 27, 2010, 02:37:27 PM »
Hello,

I test applications and therefore I make screen shots of the application.
The errors in the application (like invalid label, bad position) I mark in Screenshot Captor with a red border.
Borders get numbers and in a document I write some text.

It often happens that in a screen shot there are 5 to 7 borders.
So it is hard to see the original screen shot without the borders.

When I talk to the programmer I sometimes want to show him the original screen shot without any borders, numbers and arrows.
Of cause I could copy the screen shot before I start painting on it.
But it would be more effective if I hide all objects created with Screenshot Captor to see the original screen.
A second click shows them all again.
So in meetings I can switch between the original screen and the screen with objects.

Deleting the objects and undo the deletion is not a good way.
Hiding the objects would be much more comfortable.

Greetings

OLLI

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide all Objects
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2010, 02:41:27 PM »
This is a very interesting request.

Let me ask, would it be sufficient to your needs if i add a menu option under the File menu that said "Save copy without objects as.."
that would save a copy of the file without any objects on it?

OLLI_S

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide all Objects
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2010, 02:51:57 PM »
Hello Mouser,

thank you for your quick answer.

Let me give you some background information.

I work as a usability engineer and my job is to check applications.
One part is also the design and there are many GUI "errors".
Last I checked a web application and had 102 screen shots of different pages and different data.
Now I am working on an other application and there I have 8 borders on one screen shots (this is the page with max. errors).

Then I go to the programmers and show them the errors that should be fixed.
Sometimes a red border is covering other components (like group boxes) so here I would like to see the original image without objects.
Then I go back to the screen shot with the borders and continue with the next "problem".

Saving the image without objects is not really what I need.
If you look at the web application I would have 102 additional images, just for the "original image".
Of cause this would work as a dirty work around but here I can create a copy of the screen shot BEFORE I start paining on it.

So the best solution would be a menu entry "Hide all objects" and if the objects are hidden then you should show "Show all hidden objects".
Your suggestion is not really what I need.

Greetings

OLLI

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hide all Objects
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2010, 05:12:15 PM »
ok i understand.. let me see what i can do.