Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 20, 2014, 01:03:00 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: "Go" Alias SLOW!  (Read 2574 times)
siouxdax
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 247


Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 16, 2010, 03:33:06 AM »

Hello all:
It's been ages since I've posted on here, and I really feel bad that my new post is a complaint. But...

I have an alias, "Go", which really just uses the "I'm Feeling Lucky" function of Google. I type "go Siouxsie" and it takes me to the "I'm Feeling Lucky" result for Siouxsie. What the problem is, is that after I press 'enter', FARR will sit there for up to a minute before producing the result. Now I understand that this may take a while if I don't already have Firefox open, but when it is open, I don't quite get it. When Firefox is open, it responds almost instantly most of the time, when it sits there and 'waits' is what frustrates me, but it doesn't happen all the time.

Anyone have any suggestions? Or maybe an explanation of why this may be happening?

As usual, thank you all for your help and suggestions!
Logged

Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!
nitrix-ud
Charter Member
***
Posts: 482

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 10:06:34 AM »

hi

happened to me too
try to make firefox your default browser again

cheers, nitrix
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2010, 02:55:05 PM »

it sounds like maybe it's launching a second copy of firefox.. when this slow thing happens, does a second instance of firefox get launched?
Logged
siouxdax
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 247


Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2010, 09:50:44 PM »

Hello all:
Firstly, Firefox is set as my default. Second, nope, no second instance crops up.
Logged

Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!
nitrix-ud
Charter Member
***
Posts: 482

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 12:20:59 PM »

As i said, it happened to me too
try to make firefox your default browser again (system wide)
or
make firefox your custom browser tool in FARR options, that works too


« Last Edit: March 19, 2010, 12:22:31 PM by nitrix-ud » Logged
siouxdax
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 247


Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2010, 01:23:57 PM »

Nitrix-ud:
I'll give it a shot! Thanks! smiley
Logged

Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.029s | Server load: 0.03 ]