Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 26, 2014, 02:00:29 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: virtual display utility  (Read 4834 times)
wilsonch
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 28, 2010, 11:08:48 AM »

The problem: I have a netbook. Display is 1024 x 600. In two programs I use there is a window that has no scroll bars or maximize button and cannot be resized, and the window size conflicts with the display.

In one case the window is a large dialog box that is taller than the screen. When I move the window up as high as I can (so the title bar is almost all off the screen) the box's buttons have only their very tops visible at the very bottom of the screen. I'm able to use the keyboard to move the highlight to one button and "click" it.

In the other case the window border size programmatically gets smaller to fit nicely into the 1024 x 600 display. Unfortunately the window's *contents* extend beyond the edge of the window border, and I cannot see or enter data into the lowest sixth or so of the window contents. Nor can I move the window contents within the window.

The only other resolution my display supports is 800 x 600 and I tried that and it didn't solve the problem.

What I think I"m looking for is some sort of display virtualizer thing that would either create a virtual display bigger than the real one, and I could scroll in it to bring different parts of this virtual display onto the real display; or would create a virtual display and reduce its size so that it would show up within the physical display. I've looked at a few virtual desktop utilities but they seem to create virtual desktops that are the same, graphically, as the regular one.

Or a utility that changes the properites of the one window so that its contents are smaller but it doesn't know it, so all of its contents are shown in a smaller window that fits on my screen.

Anyhow, does anyone here know of such utilities?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 11:15:09 AM by wilsonch » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,598



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 11:51:17 AM »

i'd be interested in hearing solutions to this as well.
Logged
matt_man22
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 11

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 12:01:32 PM »

See http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=19170.0

Accidentally posted this response in the actual post Sad
Logged
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2010, 12:36:48 PM »

As a side note and probably not the solution.

Are the font settings for the OS set higher then normal?
Try setting the fonts to normal in your graphic settings,
or perhaps lower, which I haven't tried.

Right click desktop, properties, settings, advanced.
Is where the font control is for XP.
W7 is right click desktop, personalize, display.

Hope that helps.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,598



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2010, 01:03:13 PM »

His problem is that netbook screens have such a small vertical resolution (600 pixels) that some applications have dialogs that are taller than the entire screen.
Logged
joby_toss
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 113


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2010, 04:10:14 PM »

I found out that PowerPro can resize ”non resizable” windows, as well as move them partially off the screen using only the keyboard. Not a pretty solution though, but gets the job done.
Logged

I am a 3D body trapping a single dimension soul.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,598



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2010, 04:34:33 PM »

From a right click on the task bar or titlebar for a window, and selecting move, you can use cursor keys to move the window up above the top of the screen -- however as soon as you try to access a control in the window, it will snap back down -- so you cant access controls near the bottom.
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,126


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2010, 01:17:25 AM »

Try this - I've been using it for a while and love it!

Nifty Windows http://www.enovatic.org/p...iftywindows/introduction/
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
tsaint
Charter Member
***
Posts: 430


Hi from the a*** end of the earth

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2010, 04:17:21 AM »

There are some mentioned if you search at the eeePC forum at http://forum.eeeuser.com/search.php
eg (searching on forum: eeePC and Windows XP)
1. MoveMe

http://www.damnsoft.org/c...p=projects;section=moveme

2. Softswitch

http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?id=26564
Logged
vixay
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 137



ViXaY

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2010, 11:48:10 PM »

How about setting a resolution higher than what is allowed?

Sometimes this is what happens: You see only a part of the screen (i.e. your native resolution) but if you move your mouse in any direction, the screen scrolls and shows that part... and voila your screen acts like a window for a larger screen!

This is happened to me when playing games ...etc and the switch back to the desktop was not made correctly, i don't know if it's possible to induce this behavior!
Logged

"Drunk on the Nectar of Life!" -me
t2
Participant
*
Posts: 5


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2010, 10:18:04 AM »

Everybody's missing the point. I believe we're talking about virtual display device, just as there is a virtual CD drive (like the one with Alcohol120% or DaemonTools).
The idea also came to my mind when I tried to play the game Pathologic but the picture wasn't good on widescreen, it doesn't have windowed mode, it can't be tweaked and I'm sick of having played Diablo2 stretched from 800x600.

A virtual display window should be something like a 800x600 window on my 1280x800 desktop (think of windowed Quake 3). I searched the web but AFAIK there is no such thing (yet).
There is a utility to emulate hardware TnL (required for most games nowadays)(see http://www.3dfxzone.it/di...ools/3d_analyze/download/), but that's not it either.
There is an old utility someone made called DXWnd that supposedly runs non-windowed games in a window. Won't work for me (either XP or Vista machine), plus it's directx version-specific.

I'm not sure if this is even possible, huh
if it is, it would need a virtual device driver (any volunteers?).
Logged
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2010, 11:20:21 AM »

check out some of these

virtual desktop ran me around in circles
desktop extender seems to be more what you may want

http://www.google.com/sea...cial&client=firefox-a
Logged
wilsonch
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2010, 05:43:07 PM »

Samsung made a utility available that allows my netbook display to be 1024x768. It looks a little squashed but is okay.

And I bought a monitor that I use at home.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,109



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2010, 10:54:53 PM »

Samsung made a utility available that allows my netbook display to be 1024x768.

are you referring to the "easy display manager"?

http://www.samsung.com/hk...download&menu2=detail
Logged

wilsonch
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2010, 11:21:35 PM »

It's "Easy Resolution Manager." It just allows one to choose one of two resolutions -- 600 tall or 768 tall. That's all it does.
Logged
ha14
Participant
*
Posts: 268

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2010, 12:01:05 PM »

can windowspace be of any help; its a shareware
http://www.ntwind.com/software/windowspace.html

 snap windows to the screen edges and other windows, move and resize them with keyboard shortcuts, maximize vertically or horizontally, pin on top of the other windows, hide from view, minimize to tray, and it’s just the beginning!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.059s | Server load: 0.41 ]