Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 12:24:07 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Fixed my network - The Hard Way  (Read 2798 times)

RedPillow

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 141
  • Pillows.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« on: February 28, 2010, 07:51:01 AM »
At last!

Gawd how hard can network-fixing be.
I had a pack of tiny problems which eventually created a big problem - my latency went up to 600 for no reason, dl and ul were aprox 60% lower than they should be, random people could access my network and i pissed me off.

Today I fixed it thou - Couldn`t access my routers setting cause my ip was made by my computer and wasn`t  starting with 192.168.
Solved that part by going to other computer and accessing to the setting from there.

Next thing was that DHCP was off, I tried to find some guides but find none which would work for me.
Solved that by going to routers settings and setting it on - after that I had massive connection problems and my pc said that there was 160 cables connected to my router somewhy.

Solved the new connection problems by rebooting the modem and executing some fixing programs and using tcp-optimizer ( no idea how it finally got fixed)

Then there was even more problems, weird pc`s were connected to my home-network, I removed the antenna from the router cause i thoguht they were using my wlan but they weren`t.
I tried to find some guides again with no success so I decided to find out by myself how can i kick them from my network
Solved that by going again to the setting of the router and blocking their MAC adresses - after that, the 160 cables connected happened again along with message that my ports are overloaded.

So I used that fixing method for the 160 cables like before and still pc spammed tens of ports overloaded -messages.
Solved the messages by releasing and renewing my ip (idk why i thought that would work but it did).

Next thing was that my modem could not connect to internet anymore, I spent hours thinking how to fix it since no guides were found...again.
Finally solved that by flushing dns.

After all those things, I had to do some minor fixes and set-ups and now my connection is perfect, latency 28 and wlan secured!!!

Send in your thoughts, lol :]

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,096
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 10:18:35 AM »
Hmmm....use a different password on your router/modem? And put that in a safe place?

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 10:24:50 AM »
Sounds to me like your system, or one of the systems on your router, is infected with a bot net/root kit of sorts. I would highly recommend running root kit revealer on all of your systems.

RedPillow

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 141
  • Pillows.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2010, 11:45:10 AM »
Sounds to me like your system, or one of the systems on your router, is infected with a bot net/root kit of sorts. I would highly recommend running root kit revealer on all of your systems.

EDIT: Rootkit Revealer crashes on startup - it`s out.

Prefer any?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 11:48:39 AM by RedPillow »

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2010, 11:52:09 AM »
Ice Sword

If these programs are crashing be advised that the root kit might be attempting to prevent their launch. Try launching them in safe mode.

RedPillow

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 141
  • Pillows.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2010, 11:53:36 AM »
Ice Sword

If these programs are crashing be advised that the root kit might be attempting to prevent their launch. Try launching them in safe mode.

Thought so, F-Secure BlackLight doesn`t work either, trying Ice Sword...

EDIT: Failed to initialize  :'(
EDIT2: Gmer works w/o safemode, scanning now.

What was the button for safemode @ startup?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 12:05:44 PM by RedPillow »

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2010, 12:00:15 PM »
F8

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,294
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2010, 01:28:17 PM »
IceSword looks interesting - But it appears to have fallen off the planet back in 2007. Is the Project/Author still active?

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2010, 01:57:36 PM »
Not really alive, but it does its job in Vista/7 still. There is another whose name I cannot remember. It is a suite of tools and root kit detection is one of its main functions.

RedPillow

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 141
  • Pillows.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed my network - The Hard Way
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2010, 12:51:08 AM »
These rootkits seems to be really b*tches in worst case  :'(
I ran the Gmer and it found some files, which are really really small - also, it busted some dll`s and stuff but I really couldn`t do anything to em  :down:
Anyways, Im boarding a ship today - so.. happy posting!