Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 31, 2014, 02:39:11 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: v 1.5 problems - freezes and crashes  (Read 3701 times)
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 479


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 09, 2010, 10:27:24 AM »

When CD opens and I click on Settings in the context menu CD crashes and I get this error message (which of course I can't make head or tail of) and I have to kill the process.

Gone back to previous for now  Sad


* Screenshot - 09_02_2010 , 13_16_46.jpg (124.76 KB, 689x458 - viewed 197 times.)
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 11:05:23 AM »

I am curious to know why you clicked on the "Refresh" button on the Dock Items tab of the Inspector. For you to be able to do that, the Settings dialog loaded correctly so the problem lies elsewhere.

Please use the Problem Report tab of the Inspector to file an incident report: I need further information about you current configuration and that will give it to me.


Mark
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 479


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 12:13:33 PM »

Markham I didn't click on the "Refresh" button on the Dock Items tab of the Inspector - I simply clicked once on the Dock Settings item in the context menu. When I do this a giant bluish bar appears with "loading settings" across it and then the error message is shown.

I can't go further than this so I can't use the Problem Report tab of the Inspector...!

Would it help if I attached the config.ini ?

Thanks for replying.
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2010, 09:38:12 PM »

Let me get this clear. Are you saying that version 1.51 doesn't work, but v1.50 does? Or are you saying that neither v1.51 nor v1.50 work but v1.0 does?

Either way, that is somewhat curious because exactly the same code is being executed in exactly the same order in all three cases, so I really need to know why you're getting failures on one or more versions. Please attach the following files to your reply:

  • Config.xml
  • DockItemData.xml

If you installed Circle Dock into "C:\Program Files\" or "C:\Program Files (x86)\", then both those files will be found in "C:\Users\{YourUserName}\AppData\Local\CircleDock\".


Mark
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 479


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2010, 05:56:48 AM »

Hi Markham,
here are the files.

I'm trying to use 1.5

Maybe I'll just delete everything and do a clean install and then get back to you - I presume you can do a clean install of 1.5 and not have to install it over a previous version ?

* DockItemData.xml (87.43 KB - downloaded 101 times.)
* Config.xml (15.94 KB - downloaded 110 times.)
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2010, 03:05:45 PM »

Yes...you can do a completely clean install.
If you are using Vista or 7 ensure to chase down and delete the AppData files  Wink

Let us know if you try this method and the results  tellme
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 479


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2010, 05:44:02 AM »

Well I did a completely clean install but now CD just freezes (egg timer), the PC isn't frozen, and I have to kill CD.
I'm beginning to wonder if it isn't a DOT Net problem.

CD v.1.52
win xp sp2
dot net ? 3 maybe (I can't remember how to check)

PS Just checked : dot net 3.5 sp1
« Last Edit: February 11, 2010, 05:56:26 AM by joiwind » Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2010, 10:29:40 AM »

Do you have other .NET applications running on your PC?

I have a feeling you may need to install XP Service Pack 3.



Mark
Logged
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2010, 10:33:43 AM »

I did not snap to the Sp2...I must agree with the Install/update of XP SP3....This may eliminate the issue, or at least help narrow down the choices of issue(s)
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 479


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2010, 01:48:09 PM »

Thanks Mark and sgtevmckay. Yes, it could well be sp3 (316 mb !) I'll try to find a friend who has it on CD (cdrom) and see if that's the problem.
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
NigelRBrown
Participant
*
Posts: 6


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2010, 04:20:48 PM »

I have a similar but different crash to that decribed by joiwind with v1.523 and now v1.53. Version 1.0 did not have this problem. In my case with CD open every time I click on Dock Settings in the context menu and exit (not when it opens) CD crashes and I get a sequence of three error messages (which I too can't make head or tail of), one after the other on clicking Abort or Retry and I kill the process.


[ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ]
[ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ]

I am running CD on Windows 7 64-bit, am not getting any mis-behaviour on anything else, and otherwise CD works brilliantly (with just a couple of minor niggles that I will write about separately).

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Logged
NigelRBrown
Participant
*
Posts: 6


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2010, 04:23:13 PM »

Sorry, something went wrong with first two error message attachments.



Thanks again.
Logged
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 10:16:02 PM »

I have a similar but different crash to that decribed by joiwind with v1.523 and now v1.53. Version 1.0 did not have this problem. In my case with CD open every time I click on Dock Settings in the context menu and exit (not when it opens) CD crashes and I get a sequence of three error messages (which I too can't make head or tail of), one after the other on clicking Abort or Retry and I kill the process.

I am running CD on Windows 7 64-bit, am not getting any mis-behaviour on anything else, and otherwise CD works brilliantly (with just a couple of minor niggles that I will write about separately).
Actually your issue occurs when you close the Folder Stack Properties dialog. Circle Dock is unable to write to a configuration file as it is protected by User-Access Control (UAC). You'll need to reduce the UAC setting so that it allows this operation or, in extremis, turn-off UAC completely.


Mark
Logged
NigelRBrown
Participant
*
Posts: 6


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2010, 05:03:25 AM »

Thanks Mark. Actually I have cured the problem by running CD as Administrator. It does the trick for Dock Properties and CD generally seems more stable.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.03 ]