Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:52:57 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Questions about circle dock...  (Read 11248 times)

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Questions about circle dock...
« on: January 17, 2010, 09:54:41 PM »
Hi, I had a couple questions about circle dock
1. How do you make multiple docks in 1.0?
2. when I use the standalone stack on the dock it disappears when i try to acces the menu with your files displayed in it.
  how do I get this to work right?

thanks in advance for any answers :)

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 01:35:00 AM »
here are some errors when I installed and ran multiple instances of circle dock

Markham

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 01:41:37 AM »
Please read the Help, which explains multiple instances and how to make use of them; you should also read this message.


Mark
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 01:50:09 AM by Markham »

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2010, 01:54:58 AM »
I read the help and i do have the other instance in another directory but i am still getting these errors..
i new with this version so sorry if im frustrating you...

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2010, 10:08:41 AM »
Greetings

What is your Operating system version and service pack if any.

I am about to lay odds on Vista or Windows 7. I have yet to blow up the images you provided.

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2010, 11:17:07 AM »
I have windows 7

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2010, 03:35:10 PM »
You may not like what I am about to suggest, but it is the best I have at this time.
It is a copy of my current set up  ;)

I am running CD on Windows 7 64bit, and the following is how I got it to work all but flawlessly.
At the very least try it.

Create a new folder in your C: Drive.
I created a new folder for independent programs that do not require install (ie. Portable Applications software or Self Contained software...Linux folks will immediately understand)

I gave myself a new Program Files called; Program Files (Alternative)
File Address:
C:\Program Files (Alternative)

This assists is several areas, but most of all, it avoids the UAC catches from other closely monitored folders.
Circle Dock is already a stand alone program for the most part, so this is a good way to go....and if in the future you utilize, say Process Explorer, you have a place to put them and you know right where it is ;)

Uninstall the current version of Circle Dock and be sure to check your AppData files to be sure there is no remnants of the old install remaining:
C:\Users\USER NAME\AppData
The Appdata is typically a hidden file so you may need to "show hidden files" in Folder Options, or copy and paste the above address and change the red User Name to the name that you use on your system, or that you signed in with.
Also be sure to go back and delete any Circle Dock folders left in either the Program Files, or the Program Files (x86) if running Windows 7 64bit.

If you still have Circle Dock 1.0 downloaded then double click the Circle Dock Install, and then where it ask for the directory to install, search and install to the New Program Files (Alternative Directory you created earlier.)

Finish the setup process, and at the end of the process...you are asked, via check boxes, if you want to start Circle Dock and the Help file....UNCHECK both of these, and complete the install.

Once the install window Clears...you can then utilize the Start menu or the desktop shortcut, and start Circle Dock.
Start Circle Dock, before you open the help file!!!

This is the exact procedure that I utilized and it works like a champ.

Final Note:
If you are comfortable with Running the UAC on, as I am, but you have programs that write information back to the
Program file...Then the "Program Files (Alternative)" as an excellent place to install these programs, be they 32 or 64 bit...Just be aware that this folder will not be monitored by The UAC, so be careful what you install and run from this folder.
This concept also has proven to be a welcome addition to my Program Files line up.
I run Firefox portable, Thunderbird 3 portable, Process Explorer, Kompozer, ResHack, CPU-Z, GPU-Z, and sTabLauncher as stand alone installs to this folder...I had to create shortcuts after unzipping and installing, but hey...small price.
This is also where I installed Circle Dock and Zoom player 7 Max

I hope this helps
If not let us know and we will try something else  :Thmbsup:

Let me know  8)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 03:40:16 PM by sgtevmckay »

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2010, 04:54:59 PM »
working perfectly so far.  :)
thanks

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2010, 04:55:40 PM »
 :Thmbsup:

Let us know if you have any further issues  8)

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2010, 06:56:41 PM »
ok thanks again!

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2010, 10:21:28 PM »
when i changed the Z-level one of the docks i got an error saying only one instance could run at a time and had to reload that dock.
however dock 1's contents were copied to dock 2 when i restarted it... I have no idea of what happened other than it is linked to the z-level option...  :o

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2010, 10:43:14 PM »
im still getting the same errors...  :(
i did install the program twice though as circle dock, and circle dock2 that might be the problem...
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 10:47:50 PM by Archon of Fate »

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2010, 11:44:50 PM »
as long as i dont change the z-level the program works just fine

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2010, 06:02:21 AM »
Go into settings and select the "Set Portable" Mode in each....

Close and restart each CD...

This may very well correct this situation.
Be aware that Circle Dock will now write all files to itself, and not the AppData file
« Last Edit: January 19, 2010, 12:45:04 PM by sgtevmckay »

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2010, 04:33:01 PM »
i tried enabling portability mode and after a bit i tried to run settings and the first error. the 2nd smaller error is from autoruning from the startup folder.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2010, 06:13:28 PM by Archon of Fate »

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2010, 07:29:40 PM »
Are you certain you deleted the AppData Circle Dock files from the previous install(s)???

Markham

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2010, 10:04:20 PM »
Did you use Circle Dock's own "Portable App Creator"? It seems there are essential files missing.


Mark

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2010, 11:20:59 PM »
im pretty sure I deleted the app data... maybe if I reinstall the dock and make them portable before I change anything maybe this might work.  

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2010, 02:09:06 AM »
I will  be upfront in saying: I have no idea.

But that said: I am curious.

Try it and let us know.
There is also the option of a dead install, and then to create a zip stand alone and then install this as well.

Have you read the help file on running multiple instances????

Markham

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2010, 03:02:36 AM »
I'm not certain if this is related, but there was a bug which could prevent Circle Dock's "Portable Application" creator from including the configuration files. Please read this link http://redmine.dcmembers.com/issues/63.


Mark

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2010, 10:17:44 AM »
after looking at the bug it sounds like that might be my problem... I will still try my idea though.
do you think that running 32 bit might be playing a rule in this error?

sgtevmckay

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 838
  • Magis Esse
    • View Profile
    • Rainmeter
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2010, 03:00:17 PM »
No

Not at all
Circle Dock is not currently platform dependent, so this will make no difference what-so-ever.
As long as you have .Net 2.0 or higher, you are good to go  ;)

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #22 on: January 27, 2010, 07:33:17 PM »
after messing around with the program I think that it is the portable application bug you mentioned earlier, thanks anyway  :)

Archon of Fate

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2010, 08:50:37 PM »
quick question, was the bug mentioned earlier fixed in 1.5?

Markham

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
    • Circle Dock
    • Donate to Member
Re: Questions about circle dock...
« Reply #24 on: February 07, 2010, 09:13:26 PM »
If you follow the link I provided in my earlier reply, you will see that I fixed that bug for v1.5 and the issue is now closed - as v1.5 has been released.


Mark