Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 06:28:34 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Help me with Process Tamer  (Read 4731 times)

chrismt

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Help me with Process Tamer
« on: January 03, 2010, 08:49:09 AM »
Hey

I used to use Process Lasso but I found out your software on the internet and it uses much less RAM compared with Process Lasso

Here are the list of the process I am running

System
smss.exe
csrss.exe
winlogon.exe
services.exe
lsass.exe
svchost.exe 5 of em
pfsvc.exe
agent.exe
oodag.exe
alg.exe
explorer.exe
iptray.exe
oodtray.exe
PF6.exe
ctfmon.exe
net.exe
net1.exe
firefox.exe
processtamertray.exe
processtamerconfigurator.exe


Can anyone tell me the maximum tweaked priority or explicit rule for these processes?

I am using XP SP 2 and Firefox as my main browser and use a dongle to get internet access

Very old PC with less RAM

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,008
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help me with Process Tamer
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2010, 09:06:29 AM »
hi chris, just missed you in the chat channel.

in general its safe to put anything "above normal" priority, and you should not put anything as real-time priority.

having said that, most of the time what you want to do is leave everything normal and not adjusted -- and just look for processes that use a lot of cpu (say over 20%) and set those to low.

process tamer will automatically lower the priority of processes that use too much cpu, so you dont really have to do anything manually.  but you could pay attention to what process tamer does and force something low if PT is changing it automatically often.

chrismt

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help me with Process Tamer
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2010, 09:09:47 AM »
May I ask you a question  :-\

According to you

Process Lasso is better or Process Tamer for a 128MB Ram Pc

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,008
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help me with Process Tamer
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2010, 09:23:05 AM »
both are good programs that do similar things.
use them both and decide which works best for you -- probably either one will be fine.

davidwi34

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help me with Process Tamer
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2010, 01:16:03 AM »
I had use the process tamer.Default is good as for optimization.