Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 08:14:25 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Poll

32Bit or 64Bit?  How long will they last as the most used?  Take your best guess.

32 Bit - Less than 5 years.
1 (10%)
32 Bit - More than 5 years, but less than 10.
3 (30%)
32 Bit - More than 10 years.
3 (30%)
64 Bit - Less than 5 years.
0 (0%)
64 Bit - More than 5 years, but less than 10.
1 (10%)
64 Bit - More than 10 years.
1 (10%)
Neither will be around in 5 years
0 (0%)
Neither will be around in 10 years
1 (10%)

Total Members Voted: 10

Author Topic: 32Bit or 64Bit? How long will they last as the most used? Take your best guess  (Read 3312 times)

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
This conversation has recenly come up so I thought I would put it to a vote on DC. 
Inquiring minds want to know!  :D

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Need to be able to pick more than one option!

Anyway I say both will still be here in 10+ years time. As will their successor(s?).

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,714
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I think 32-bit has already been "most used" for the past ten years, hasn't it?


CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Need to be able to pick more than one option!

Anyway I say both will still be here in 10+ years time. As will their successor(s?).

Tried to do that for you, but it won't let me edit that option, Sorry. :(

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
End users don't need 64 bit yet. Never seen a home user having to work with files of that size.
(So most things he does is whinging in boards "why does my application not start in 64 bit mode?" ...)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,714
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
End users don't need 64 bit yet.

We need it for our massive amounts of RAM! :P


Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Ah, yes, 8 GB RAM. 6 of those will never be used anyway, but who cares ...  ;D

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I like my OS being able to manage 8gb, even if most my apps are still 32bit :)

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I like my OS being able to manage 8gb, even if most my apps are still 32bit :)

At least two things are constant.
  • You can never have too much RAM.
  • You can never have too much disk space.

Maybe we ought to make it a triad...
  • You can never have too much speed!  Vaaaarrroooommm!

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
End users don't need 64 bit yet. Never seen a home user having to work with files of that size.
(So most things he does is whinging in boards "why does my application not start in 64 bit mode?" ...)
You don't need a 64bit CPU to handle huge files - it just makes it easier to do so with memory-mapped files. There's home users authoring their own BluRay discs...

Ah, yes, 8 GB RAM. 6 of those will never be used anyway, but who cares ...  ;D
Oh really? Depends on how many applications you run. Also, on a 64bit OS, 32bit applications (the ones marked large-address aware) can utilize full 4GB of memory, WoW64 doesn't have the 2:2/3:1 memory split that 32bit Windows has.
- carpe noctem

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Most people I know with an eminent amount of RAM don't use it for doing more productive stuff, they just fill it with useless gimmicks "because it's there".