Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 05:32:52 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01  (Read 6458 times)

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« on: December 08, 2009, 11:22:37 PM »
I'm running Windows Vista Home Basic and using URL Snooper v2.23.01.

  • Automatic Network Adapter test fails on various test URLs of basic websites
  • I manually choose a NA (Realtek) from the drop down menu and start sniffing, which doesn't work and brings up the auto-detect menu - which fails again
  • I checked "Run as administrator", restarted the program and that doesn't work either


What else can I do to get it working? Thanks for any help, as this is by far the best program available for sniffing. Worked on another PC but not on this one.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2009, 12:05:27 AM »
just disable automatic network adapter detection from advanced options and set your adapter manually.
automatic network adapter detection is purely optional and does nothing more than help you choose your adapter -- it can fail when a firewall blocks url snooper or for various other reasons, and is unneeded.

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2009, 12:24:08 AM »
Did that and had the same problem as another user - the sniff did nothing, didn't even show the text where it says how many pakcets it's picking up. I think the NA isn't even connecting/operating. Realtek is the only adapter showing on the dropdown menu.

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2009, 12:25:40 AM »
Adding URL Snooper to Windows Firewall exceptions...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2009, 12:26:00 AM »
when you click to start sniffing and then browse the web, you don't see packets counting in the status bar?
do you know if the realtek is your network card?

ps. adding it to the firewall is not needed to sniff -- only to do automatic network adapter detection, which as i said is not important.

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2009, 12:42:57 AM »
No, no packets counting. Nothing changes in the text bar. Firewall exception didn't help. I don't even really know what a network card is, but will have a search now and see if there's another.

Pics show the problem:

http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/5439/errsnp.jpg
Network adapter problem with v2.23.01


http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/5884/errsnp2.jpg
Network adapter problem with v2.23.01


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2009, 12:44:39 AM »
ok that last pic is all that matters.
let me just confirm that the status bar doesnt change when scanning, even if you start browsing the web and going to different websites while it is sniffing?

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2009, 12:48:39 AM »
That's correct.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2009, 12:53:37 AM »
ok well im going to be checking into another issue thats been reported this week that results in network adapters not being shown -- maybe in fixing that i i will fix this as well.

is the realtek the only network adapter in your adapter list?

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2009, 01:00:28 AM »
Yes, it's the only one. Is there a way to download a different adapater?


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2009, 01:06:15 AM »
if only life were so simple :)

let me see what i find when i work on urlsnooper in the next couple of days and report back.

jamessnooper

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2009, 01:08:24 AM »
Thankyou. I have a feeling it's something on my end (obviously), but it says that "the device is working perfectly." Yet, there is a message that says for me to plug in a cable for LAN, but I'm not on a LAN and don't want the adapter for that reason.

stj9

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #12 on: December 09, 2009, 07:08:40 AM »
Hi I'm new here, I registered to get the key. But also have the problem that Url Snooper fails to detect a network adapter on my computer. But I got three network adapters showing in urlsnooper, but the app won't work. I gave it administrative rights, but still no go. Even unchecking Auto determine network on startup wouldn't do the trick.

So I uninstalled urlsnooper and reinstalled it again, but this time i took a screenshots of the install.

Looking at the pic, it shows my computer doesn't have the required files????

I'm running Vista Home Premium (64bit), on a laptop running AMD Turion Dual-Core Mobile 2.20 GHz, and 4 GB ram memory. I bought this laptop only 6 months ago.. But the pic shows I don't have the required files? Maybe this is the reason urlnsnooper doesn't work?
« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 07:27:04 AM by stj9 »

ixxo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2009, 02:20:14 PM »
im kinda envious of you, at least you get adapters.. all I get is empty space  :-[

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,927
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Network adapter problem with v2.23.01
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2009, 08:05:31 PM »
everyone having trouble with network adapters can you please see this post:
http://www.donationc....msg188057#msg188057

and report back on that post your experience there.