Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 21, 2014, 05:08:53 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Right Click any file and create New Folder by its Name  (Read 55286 times)
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2009, 08:35:15 AM »

Yes, illegal char handling will be implemented.  However, I think I'll leave in the ability to use backslashes because you can use them to make subfolders or to put the files in a parent folder.  For instance, you could specfiy these as the folder name:

path\to\mysubfolder
..\newfolder

Underscores and hyphens can easily be replaced with spaces.  I plan to make this a hidden feature for you.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2009, 08:46:09 AM »

Once again the only thing I can say is a big THANK U Thmbsup
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2009, 09:11:58 AM »

Once again the only thing I can say is a big THANK U Thmbsup

You're welcome.  Here's the latest version:

Download

v1.0.2 - 2009-09-03
    + Illegal chars in the filename are now checked for.
    + Hidden setting to change dashes/hyphens and underscores into spaces
      when creating the foldername from a single file.  To turn this
      behaviour on, create a config.ini in the app's folder with the
      following text:
     
      [Settings]
      Replace_Chars=1
     
      Note: This does not affect a multiple file selection.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 12:07:11 PM by skwire » Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: September 03, 2009, 09:59:33 AM »

Config.ini works but
Sorry Not complaining but just giving you a feedback just try to make a folder from a File Sam@#12 and see


* Capture.JPG (8.76 KB, 112x31 - viewed 848 times.)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 10:04:54 AM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2009, 10:12:39 AM »

Config.ini works but
Sorry Not complaining but just giving you a feedback just try to make a folder from a File Sam@#12 and see
What's wrong with that?  Sam@#12 is a valid filename and foldername.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: September 03, 2009, 11:09:38 AM »

As Far as Special character goes all the allowed special characters in the folder Name except Underscore and Hyphen should be removed and Underscore and hyphen should be given a choice to be replaced by space or removal...

Sorry if Im asking too much, If you have better ideas regarding this then please proceed in that Direction

I think I wanted to remove the characters but this is Fine, Please don't take any special efforts on my behalf
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2009, 11:21:37 AM »

I think I wanted to remove the characters but this is Fine, Please don't take any special efforts on my behalf
I'm happy to replace whatever characters you like...simply provide me with a list of the characters you would like replaced.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2009, 11:28:36 AM »

All these characters found in the start, middle or end should be removed.
!@#$%^&(){}[] and any other if I left out(No Spaces required in their place) Just direct Remove
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 11:36:07 AM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 03, 2009, 12:00:35 PM »

Download

v1.0.3 - 2009-09-03
    + Added a couple more hidden settings.  "Remove_Chars" and
      "Chars_To_Remove".  This will allow you to specify of a list of
      characters that will get removed when building the foldername.
     
      [Settings]
      Remove_Chars=1
      Chars_To_Remove=!@#$%^&(){}[]
     
      Example with the above settings:
     
      Filename of:      Test!@#$%^&()Test
      Resulting folder: TestTest     
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 11:47:41 PM by skwire » Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: September 03, 2009, 12:27:47 PM »

Sorry not working for mem I think Im doing something wrong

Results posted below...



* Download1.JPG (8.83 KB, 240x82 - viewed 309 times.)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 12:32:59 PM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: September 03, 2009, 06:39:05 PM »

You forgot the Remove_Chars=1.  So, you will have three entries total:

[Settings]
Replace_Chars=1
Remove_Chars=1
Chars_To_Remove=!@#$%^&(){}[]
Logged

nogojoe
Charter Member
***
Posts: 136


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: September 03, 2009, 07:12:37 PM »

Do you get any hits if you search your registry for this string: a951a7c0-97b1-11de-b5f4-0002a5d5c51b

Yes My Computer\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\SHELL\Files 2 Folder\Drop Target

nogojoe
Logged

Often the most convincing people are those who have lost the plot so much they don't recognize the difference between fact and fantasy
paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: September 03, 2009, 08:59:20 PM »

Sorry only 1 Word for the Software "PERFECT"
and 1 word for you GENIOUS

As you have given a choice in removing the characters, can't there be a choice in replacing a character, something like 1 more line

[Settings]
Replace_Chars=1
Chars_To_Replace=-
Remove_Chars=1
Chars_To_Remove=!@#$%^&(){}[]

In this case apart from special characters, only hyphen will be replaced by space and not underscore (I've tried this but it doesn't work)
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 09:04:58 PM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: September 03, 2009, 11:29:20 PM »

As you have given a choice in removing the characters, can't there be a choice in replacing a character, something like 1 more line

Done.

Download
Alternate

v1.0.4 - 2009-09-03
    + Added yet another hidden setting.  "Chars_To_Replace" is now an
      option.  If you have "Replace_Chars" set to one, any characters
      in the "Chars_To_Replace" list will be replaced with a space.
     
      [Settings]
      Replace_Chars=1
      Chars_To_Replace=-_
     
      Example with the above settings:
     
      Filename of:      Test_-_Test
      Resulting folder: Test   Test
     
      Note: This only affects single-selection operations.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: September 04, 2009, 01:08:03 AM »

Small Friendly Suggestion is to include Config.ini with all the settings in the archieve along with the software for newcomers and comments to change the config in readme.txt.
Working as Desired and I can say Move it to the Finished Section.Thank you SKWIRE

One off-topics question is Any Suggestion on How to learn Hotkey and where from? Is it difficult, because after seeing you I feel I should also be able to help others?
« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 01:14:50 AM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: September 04, 2009, 02:06:54 AM »

Working as Desired and I can say Move it to the Finished Section.Thank you SKWIRE

Great to hear and you're welcome.  This was an interesting one to code.

One off-topics question is Any Suggestion on How to learn Hotkey and where from? Is it difficult, because after seeing you I feel I should also be able to help others?

This is a great post to start from: http://www.autohotkey.com...m/post-182060.html#182060

My own thoughts on things... 

It's only as difficult as you want it to be.  Too many people are afraid of failure and never even get started.  Others are afraid of the potential immensity of programming and fail to get their hands dirty.  Start very small and create the blocks of knowledge that will eventually lead you into bigger and bigger projects.  As jaco says in that thread, nobody was born knowing this stuff, it takes time. 

The AHK forum has TONS of code examples on how to do just about anything.  Studying others' code is a great way to learn how to do something.  No need to reinvent the wheel, as they say.  Of course, you have to separate the wheat from the chaff but that's to be expected with any online forum.  Also, the help file that is included when you install AutoHotkey is fantastic.  I almost always have it open alongside my editor when coding.

I enjoy the challenge of trying to build something and make it work.  For me, this doesn't only apply to programming; it could be anything from a honey-do project around the house to playing with Play-Doh or Legos with my daughters.  I get a great sense of satisfaction when I can take somebody's idea and write the code to make it into something tangible.

I suppose the main point here is that, if you want to accomplish anything, you must try.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: September 04, 2009, 04:30:50 AM »

 Thmbsup Very True  Thmbsup
Logged
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: September 28, 2009, 07:20:56 AM »

How do you un-register the shell extension if one decides to remove it?
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: September 28, 2009, 07:47:14 AM »

Select the option again.  After doing that, the menu item should be unticked and the context menu entry should be gone.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 08:06:33 PM by skwire » Logged

jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: September 28, 2009, 09:21:20 AM »

I am using Windows XP pro.  The file extension "Files 2 Folder" shows up when I right click on one or more files but nothing happens.  No new folder is created.  There is nothing to tick or untick.  What am I doing wrong?
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: September 28, 2009, 09:40:47 AM »

Apologies, I got confused with some of my other apps.  Files 2 Folder has no GUI so, when you run the exe for the first time, it asks you if you want to register the shell extension context menu entry.  It also creates a shortcut in the same folder that's named "Files 2 Folder - Unregister shell extension.lnk" if you would like to get rid of the context menu entry.  As for your issue, you didn't move the executable after registering the shell extension, did you?
Logged

techidave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 960


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: September 28, 2009, 01:18:08 PM »

What a fantastic app, skwire!  thanks for coding this! Thmbsup Thmbsup Cool
Logged
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: September 28, 2009, 02:48:38 PM »

skwire, I followed your instructions and now I'm in business.  Awewsome app! Thmbsup
Logged
mateek
Charter Member
***
Posts: 68


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: September 28, 2009, 03:40:18 PM »

This is a great idea for a program.  Thanks paarkhi and skwire!  I tried this last night, but nothing showed up in my context menu.  I figured when I rebooted in the morning it'd show up.  I did find the 'Files 2 Folder' entry, but ONLY in the Quick Launch items context menus!  The files on my Desktop didn't have the entry, and trying the context menu with an open Explorer didn't help.

At this point I'd like to ask what might prove to make me look stupid, but where are the hidden settings?  I've used a lot of stuff I haven't been shy messing with as far as settings, like Rainlender, Sumarize, etc.  I tried opening Files2Folder.exe in ResHacker, but didn't see them there.  I didn't see a folder in 'Application Data.'  I thought maybe I had to point to the desktop or something, although that really doesn't make any sense.

I should add my context menus are a bit jazzed up.  I use MMM+, and Folder Guide.  Would that interfere with the registration process?  Also, I hadn't quite read down here far enough to figure out I should've answered Yes when the initial prompt to register appeared.  I said No on the first run, and when I realized my mistake went back and said Yes on the second run.  Like I said, the entry did appear after in one context menu, just not everywhere.

Anyone have any ideas?
Logged

Stop war: GetAnd.   Mobile edition: AndAnd.
jdd
Charter Member
***
Posts: 214


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: September 28, 2009, 07:10:04 PM »

Mateek,  I had a similar issue.  Try this.

Create a folder somewhere that you do not intend to move.  Extract the contents of the zip file to the folder.  Run the 'Files 2 Folder - Unregister shell extension' shortcut to remove what you have already installed.  Then, run the 'Files2Folder.exe' executable.  Answer yes.  Do NOT move the folder or anything in it to another location.  Should work now.  At least...........it worked for me.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.24 ]