Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 08:23:46 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit  (Read 3246 times)

huntnyc

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« on: June 30, 2009, 10:43:33 AM »
I would like to run this utility on my Thinkpad T400 laptop running Intel grpahics (switchable with ATI 3470) but after installing it and trying to launch it, I do not see the program.  I enter my key but still nothing.  Can anyone help and thnaks.  I see the process running under task manager but no interface showing where I can create docks.

Gary

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 10:45:45 AM »
hmm thats strange -- it should on first use pop up something asking you to configure or load your first launch bar i think.. let me try it on a new clean pc and make sure i didn't break anything.

huntnyc

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 10:49:57 AM »
@Mouser,
I am running with ransparency turned off in Windows classic tyle interface.

Gary

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2009, 10:59:12 AM »
when i run it for the first time on a clean pc, it loads an initial dock and docks it to the top of the screen.

let me ask this.. you say you can see it running in task manager.. does it show any cpu usage over 1% ? (that would be a clue that it's hung up somewhere).

is it possible that you were running a higher resolution at some point and switched -- or multi monitor and switched? maybe it is somehow confused about where top of monitor is.

try hitting:

Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Win+L (this is the secret hotkey to bring up options in emergencies)

and see if it pops up the launchbar commander configuration tree form.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2009, 11:00:18 AM »
also make sure the dock is not minimized to your tray -- though that should not be the case on first run.

ps.
there is no reason that LBC should not work on your machine -- so if you don't give up, i won't either, and we'll get it running for you.

huntnyc

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2009, 12:03:34 PM »
Mouser,
Tried your suggestions but no go.  Also, I tried installing LBC after restarting in diagnostic startup from MSConfig but no go.  Process of exe file shown in task manager but using no CPU after I execute the program.  Cannot see any docks in tray or anywhere else.  Running at 1280x800 resolution which is native for this laptop.  Anyway, it is a puzzle.

FWIW - I created a .dmp file that might help but it is very large.  If you can let me know how to post it, will send it to you if I can but might have trouble via email.

Gary

Gary

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2009, 01:10:38 PM »
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Win+L (this is the secret hotkey to bring up options in emergencies) didn't show anything?

huntnyc

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2009, 01:45:15 PM »
Yes, secret hotkey bring up options.  Now what?

Gary

huntnyc

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot Get LBC To Run On Vista Business 32bit
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2009, 01:59:03 PM »
Mouser,
I think I have it.  Had to delete the DonationCoder folder from My Docs folder and then reinstall.  Think it will work now.  Thanks for all.

Gary