topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 1:43 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line  (Read 14180 times)

Chyndonax

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« on: April 30, 2005, 01:45 AM »
Two for the price of one. Hope that's OK.

First request. A Way to force any window to maximize. I looked for this awhile back but couldn't find it. It's probably included in some bloatware progaram but I would like it to be a discreet seperate process. Ideally it would be a very simple GUI with a list of windows or processes on one side and a maximize button on the other (or bottom or top).

Second is a right click menu item that will open a simple window similar to the run window in XP. It would only have to appear as an option when an executable is right clicked in Explorer. This way when I want to run a program with special paramater I can just right click on it and choose the new dialog. There's probably a registery hack to do this but maybe not.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 12:09 PM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2005, 04:24 AM »
there are some good "launch command line here" shell extensions which allow you to open a dos box in the directory that the app lives in, which is usually sufficient for what you are wanting to do.

but it's an interesting idea to have a right-click entry that basically let you type in commandline parameters (maybe with a history drop down box) and then ran the program (either in a dos box or not).  seems doable.

frogblast

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2005, 05:06 AM »
Second is a right click menu item that will open a simple window similar to the run window in XP. It would only have to appear as an option when an executable is right clicked in Explorer. This way when I want to run a program with special paramater I can just right click on it and choose the new dialog. There's probably a registery hack to do this but maybe not.

Try ExecParm (http://www.mainsoft....r/Files/execparm.zip). It works.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2005, 05:30 AM »
awesome, frogblast !

i can see this section is having another use as well, helping people find very cool software that already exists.

other nice little utilities on mainsoft site:
http://www.mainsoft.fr/en/downloads.htm

epheterson

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2005, 11:36 PM »
For the maximize program, something I've noticed is with my logitech mouse, you can program one of the buttons to maximize a window and even when a window has the maximize button grayed out, it still maximizes it, check out if your mouse has that!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2005, 12:35 AM »
scott told me about this tool that adds some cool buttons to your windows, which will do the maximize thing plus more:
http://www.actualtools.com/

there are other freeware things that are similar too, but i cant rememebr names.  search snapfiles freeware maybe..

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2005, 07:49 AM »
nudone's column today also discusses a scripting tool that might be useful:
https://www.donation...005/05/autoit_3.html

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
DONE: Force Maximize and Right Click Run Line
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2005, 11:43 AM »
 :) The shortest script yet!

WinMax will maximize most windows on your system. It's _very_ crude, so be warned! Maybe I'll make a real script which only maximizes the windows upon creation and checks the state to stop them from covering the start menu?

Download and install AutoHotKey from www.autohotkey.com. Save the script as WinMax.ahk and doubleclick to run.

Skrommel


;WinMax.ahk - Maximizes windows

Loop
{
  WinMaximize,A
}
« Last Edit: August 05, 2005, 04:56 PM by skrommel »