New program: Ethervane ActiveHotkeys (freeware) - DonationCoder.com
Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 02, 2015, 03:27:56 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: New program: Ethervane ActiveHotkeys (freeware)  (Read 121070 times)
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: February 14, 2012, 03:41:19 PM »

New (February 2012): ActiveHotkeys is now hosted on my site at tranglos.com. This thread is still good for support and new version info, I'm not going anywhere :-)

No changes in functionality, but a standard installer and a portable version are now available. Latest version direct download:


« Last Edit: February 15, 2012, 12:33:57 PM by tranglos » Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,680



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: February 14, 2012, 04:35:12 PM »

Any comments on the following?

Is there already support for VK_APPS (the key that brings up the context-sensitive menu)?

(I checked the thread so far, the docs, and the app itself but didn't have much luck figuring this out.)
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: February 14, 2012, 04:54:16 PM »

Any comments on the following?

Is there already support for VK_APPS (the key that brings up the context-sensitive menu)?

(I checked the thread so far, the docs, and the app itself but didn't have much luck figuring this out.)

Let me get back to you on that. I am not sure VK_APPS can participate in hotkeys. Do you know of an app that uses it in a hotkey?
Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,680



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: February 14, 2012, 05:22:53 PM »

Thanks for the response.

Do you know of an app that uses it in a hotkey?

Back when I made the original query I was in the process of writing one that did (this was in AHK) -- but I didn't end up releasing it.  Apart from that one I don't recall any at the moment.
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: February 14, 2012, 05:52:51 PM »

Thanks for the response.

Do you know of an app that uses it in a hotkey?

Back when I made the original query I was in the process of writing one that did (this was in AHK) -- but I didn't end up releasing it.  Apart from that one I don't recall any at the moment.

Tried it, and sure enough, VK_APPS can be used in hotkeys. I'll add a test for it. Thanks!
Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,680



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: February 15, 2012, 07:15:16 AM »

Tried it, and sure enough, VK_APPS can be used in hotkeys. I'll add a test for it.

Thanks!
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: February 15, 2012, 08:06:52 AM »

New release 2012-02-15
ActiveHotkeys version 1.3.1 build 16

ADDED: support for the VK_APPS key (context menu key). Thanks, ewemoa!

Download the latest version here
Logged

Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,833



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: February 15, 2012, 09:27:37 AM »

Cool, I love this app ... Its saved my ass more than once.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,680



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: February 16, 2012, 08:26:46 PM »

Thanks for the new release!

Just tested it with VK_APPS and it seemed to work fine  thumbs up
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: February 16, 2012, 08:30:43 PM »

Thanks for the new release!

Just tested it with VK_APPS and it seemed to work fine  thumbs up

When I looked at the code, it was already handled. (It does need some special handling, because Delphi does not have a name built-in for this key, so it could not be displayed without additional hand-holding. It's a bug in XE and XE2, listed on QualityCentral).

What was missing was that I forgot to add the key to one of the groups, as AH always checks all keys in a group (alpha, numeric, etc.). So it could display it, but wasn't checking for it. I'm sorry it took so long!
Logged

doyusi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: May 15, 2013, 07:50:18 AM »

Great app, thanks alot tranglos! I couldn't withheld my appreciation and donated as much as i can smiley

I was looking a long time for such an app to get an overview on existing hotkeys and to use this information to assign new hotkeys.

First i found "Hotkey Commander" but it crashes already at start (Win 7 64x).
Then i tested "Hotkey Explorer" which starts but freezes and doesn't respond few seconds after its start. But it seems to be able for this app to to figure out which hotkey is occupied by which application. May be you(tranglos) can do it, as well.

Additional info: The "standard installer" version (of ActiveHotkeys) doesn't work on my system. I get the error "This program can only be installed on versions of Windows designed for the following processor architectures: x86".
But the portable starts and works well as far.

Thanks alot again!
Logged
josh1978
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: January 23, 2014, 07:21:01 PM »

Thank you for the program - very nice! But I'm not getting hotkeys that programs/applications use, say Microsoft Word. I ran the program and found that control + right arrow is empty, so I assigned that to a global shortcut.

Some time later I opened Microsoft Word, which uses this shortcut, and my global shortcut was ignored.

Not the end of the world. I just want to make sure I'm using your product right. I know that the tool won't identify which program uses the hotkey, but from what I understand, it should show that the hotkey is in use, correct?

Thanks!
Logged
Steven Avery
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 758

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: January 31, 2015, 01:47:01 AM »

The website says it works for 32-bit only, the conversations here seem to be about any Windows OS.

Is the program good for Windows 7 64-bit?
If not, is there a recommended alternative.?

"This application does not work correctly on 64-bit versions of Windows. Use it on 32-bit versions only."
http://www.tranglos.com/activehotkeys/
Logged
charlestek
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: May 03, 2015, 06:54:43 PM »

  ohmy    Tranglos, can you tell me what is the issue with Windows such that one cannot tell which program has registered particular hotkeys or shortcuts or duplicates?

I was discussing this issue over at 7Forums:  Hotkey Conflict
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,380



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: May 03, 2015, 07:21:43 PM »

Hi, charlestek, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.

 ohmy    Tranglos, can you tell me what is the issue with Windows such that one cannot tell which program has registered particular hotkeys or shortcuts or duplicates?

The problem is such that the Windows API offers no function to determine which application has registered which hotkey.  In other words, there is simply no way to get the information from the operating system.
Logged

charlestek
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: May 03, 2015, 08:48:36 PM »

Skwire,

Thank you.   That is pretty crummy.   I'm sure there is no great motivation for Microsoft to fix this.
Logged
charlestek
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: May 03, 2015, 09:14:14 PM »

I just sent an email regarding the same to Charles Petzold.   It would be interesting if he responds.
Logged
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,905


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: May 04, 2015, 12:38:01 AM »

Very frustrating, I know!

I've researched this and have never been able to find a solution. I have installed numerous programs which claimed to be able to map out the current key mappings - none worked and several crashed my machine hard.

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
charlestek
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: May 12, 2015, 10:57:15 PM »

Never hear from Charles Petzold. (who works for Xamarin)

Used to be there would be clear teams from Microsoft that you could identify who was responsible for developing and maintaining what
and you usually could contact someone who could give you some solid information.   After the layoffs and Microsoft's contraction,
it is a lot hard to do this.
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,380



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: May 13, 2015, 05:56:50 AM »

@charlestek: Regarding this issue, I'm of the opinion that if an app could have been written to do this, it would have been a long time ago.  Hell, I would have written it myself if there was a way to get that hotkey data.
Logged

DaynaGirl
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: June 16, 2015, 12:04:37 PM »

Unfortunately I can't test under x64; no-one I know round here uses a 64-bit system. Can you describe what happens?

Every time I run the 'test hotkeys' option I get different results alternating everytime I press the button.
{windows 8.1, x64, options: shift+ctrl, numerical 0-9}

So first time I get a list of 3 hot keys, next time I get 8. next 3, next 8 repeating.

Dayna.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.043s | Server load: 0.08 ]


Share on Facebook
submit to reddit