Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 31, 2014, 01:25:22 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.2]  (Read 73153 times)
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #175 on: June 25, 2010, 05:57:05 PM »

@Perry Mowbray: I have had to uninstall:
  • Gmail Tasks
  • GooglePlus
  • TimeZone

Each one of them appeared to be causing FARR to crash on start-up.
(I did post about this elsewhere.)

Do you know where? That's interesting, I've had issues with GooglePlus for some time, but TimeZone has been fine.

I'm sorry that you've had problems...
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #176 on: June 25, 2010, 05:58:37 PM »

Using that, puts some icon on the taskbar, which dissapears after 2 seconds. No .ini gets in place. I assume that window is the one that should appear when selecting "Timezone ReDownload" (which does nothing for me). Tried also elevating the prompt to see if that makes any difference, but does the same Sad

That will be FARRTimeZone.exe which does the settings and downloading... it sounds like it's failing in the download...

Logged

CyberEvil
Participant
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #177 on: June 25, 2010, 06:41:59 PM »

Can you please upload somewhere a version with all files on it? that will solve the problem hopefully (have no proxy/firewall/anything, is just not doing the thing Sad)
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #178 on: June 26, 2010, 10:22:27 PM »

Can you please upload somewhere a version with all files on it? that will solve the problem hopefully (have no proxy/firewall/anything, is just not doing the thing Sad)

Everything is in the OP: What do you think you're missing?
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 10:54:26 PM by Perry Mowbray » Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,633


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #179 on: June 27, 2010, 01:38:04 AM »

@Perry Mowbray:
Do you know where? That's interesting, I've had issues with GooglePlus for some time, but TimeZone has been fine.
I'm sorry that you've had problems...
My last post on the details of the crashes with FARR (caused by TimeZone and separately by two other plugins) is here: Re: Latest FARR Release v2.87.03 - May 4, 2010

I am sorry, I should have posted the details to this discussion thread at the time.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2010, 01:42:55 AM by IainB » Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #180 on: June 27, 2010, 08:07:29 AM »

Thanks IanB: I missed that.

Odd: TZ works fine here with the same FARR version... what windows you on?
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,633


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #181 on: June 27, 2010, 11:33:35 AM »

I am using Windows XP Pro SP3, with all updates installed.

My processor is an Intel Centrion Duo. I mention that because I have one application that does not always work well with this processor and it just abends with no error message. I have to keep restarting the program after every abend until it seems to latch on and then it works fine.
Logged
CyberEvil
Participant
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #182 on: June 28, 2010, 09:43:25 AM »

Can you please upload somewhere a version with all files on it? that will solve the problem hopefully (have no proxy/firewall/anything, is just not doing the thing Sad)

Everything is in the OP: What do you think you're missing?

What it should download (data files?)... and the .ini file... maybe that's part of the Timezone plugin not working. Have no clue why is the only one failing for me.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 07:49:12 PM by CyberEvil » Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #183 on: July 28, 2010, 05:19:04 AM »

Hey CyberEvil:

Sorry -- I don't know what's happened to my notifications but they seem to have dropped off  embarassed

First run TZ will scrape the TimeAndDate site and construct the data file.

TZ will work without an ini, but if you change settings an ini will be created.

You can send me your FindAndRunRobot\Plugins\TimeZone directory zipped?
Logged

CyberEvil
Participant
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #184 on: July 28, 2010, 09:31:53 AM »

Hi,

Thanks for the response.

Here's the directory:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7...797/TimeZone/TimeZone.zip

TIA!
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,633


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #185 on: July 29, 2010, 12:51:35 AM »

CyberEvil: Thanks. With some hope, I tried that file (TimeZone.zip), but it just crashes FARR, same as the last version, so I have again disabled TimeZone. I've not been able to use it for months.
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #186 on: July 29, 2010, 01:02:39 AM »

No, I think that's just the zip file (basically) from the OP Iain...

I've got issues at work, but I'll have a look when I get home.

Unfortunately (or fortunately?), TimeZone does not crash my FARR, so I'm not sure what IainB's issues are??  undecided or how to track them down...
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 01:17:13 AM by Perry Mowbray » Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #187 on: July 29, 2010, 05:09:53 AM »

Thanks for the response.

Here's the directory:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7...797/TimeZone/TimeZone.zip

Thanks for your patience CyberEvil: I think I've found your problem. I installed from your files, and yup! No data!!

Didn't take long to find... In some circumstances FARRTimeZone.exe would not notify FARR that it'd finished, so the Data never got loaded. All fixed now!

Thanks for reporting it and sorry it's taken a while to get rid of it.

You should be able to use dcUpdater to update to the latest version, or you can overwrite the files with the archive in the OP.

Let me know how you go  Thmbsup
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #188 on: July 29, 2010, 05:12:51 AM »

CyberEvil: Thanks. With some hope, I tried that file (TimeZone.zip), but it just crashes FARR, same as the last version, so I have again disabled TimeZone. I've not been able to use it for months.

Hey Iain: in fixing CyberEvil's bug I discovered that the javascript file had been written using a UTC-8 codepage. It would not load into FARR, though I got an error message rather than a crash??

Anyway, I've fixed the CodePage and it's all good on my machine again.

I'd be interested to know if that fixes your problem too?
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,633


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #189 on: July 29, 2010, 09:12:45 AM »

@Perry Mowbray:
No the situation is as per my comment above, viz:
@Perry Mowbray:
My last post on the details of the crashes with FARR (caused by TimeZone and separately by two other plugins) is here: Re: Latest FARR Release v2.87.03 - May 4, 2010

I am sorry, I should have posted the details to this discussion thread at the time.

That is, if TimeZone is included in the plugins, it causes FARR to crash on startup, and this has been the case since at least May 4th 2010.
I have thus removed TimeZone from my plugins.
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #190 on: July 29, 2010, 05:57:54 PM »

@Perry Mowbray:
No the situation is as per my comment above, viz:

with the latest version 1.4.1?? Funny: May 4 is after the CodePage error I introduced in April 9  undecided ...
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 06:00:11 PM by Perry Mowbray » Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,633


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #191 on: July 30, 2010, 01:59:36 AM »

@Perry Mowbray: No, it just doesn't work, whatever I do.

I just re-enabled Timezone and ran DCupdater to update from v1.4.0 to v1.4.1.
Restarted FARR. FARR crashed as usual.
Removed Timezone from plugins.
Restarted FARR.
No crash.

So I reinstalled Timezone using v1.4.1 .ZIP from ScribbledBits.
FARR shut down by itself (?) and did not restart.
I restarted FARR.
Error message that it had disabled Timezone.
I stopped FARR.
Restarted FARR. FARR crashed as usual.

Removed Timezone from plugins.
Restarted FARR.
FARR runs fine - No crash.
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #192 on: July 30, 2010, 03:10:44 AM »

OK, sorry Iain... that's a shame, though (I thought I'd found it  Wink )

Logged

CyberEvil
Participant
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #193 on: August 05, 2010, 02:54:29 PM »

Hi everyone, sorry was on a short vacation smiley

Thanks for updating this with the fix!

The problem is, is not working yet... I have the same problem about TZ not doing anything... maybe I updated this wrongly? what I did, is go back to the first post here, redownload the new file, delete the timezone folder and put in place the new one...

Not working yet, tried restarting FARR as well.

Thanks for the hand!
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #194 on: August 05, 2010, 06:53:00 PM »

Sorry for the problems CyberEvil: can I get you to zip up the TimeZone directory again for me?
Logged

CyberEvil
Participant
*
Posts: 22


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #195 on: August 09, 2010, 09:01:24 AM »

No problem, thanks for the help!

Here goes the directory:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7...797/TimeZone/TimeZone.zip

Thanks!
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #196 on: August 12, 2010, 03:16:37 AM »

I hate to say this CyberEvil, but I replaced my TimeZone directory with yours and it grabbed the data fine when FARR restarted.  Sad

What I'll do is put something together to try and find where the problem is... I'll PM you the link.
Logged

sri
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 673


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #197 on: August 17, 2010, 03:24:56 PM »

Just installed the plugin. The settings window does not appear.
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #198 on: August 17, 2010, 05:53:39 PM »

Just installed the plugin. The settings window does not appear.

When invoked from FARR? I just installed at work and it all worked fine  undecided

What's your system? There's a few odd things happening that I'm having issues tracking down as they don't happen here...
Logged

sri
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 673


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #199 on: August 17, 2010, 09:52:20 PM »

Yes, when invoked from FARR.

Please watch this small screencast: http://screenr.com/Hr0

Here's a screenshot of aplugins: http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/4898/aplugins.png

System Info: http://speccy.piriform.co...s/SFJ48ov1Ad1EpImjTUUzI1R
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.045s | Server load: 0.01 ]