Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 03:33:23 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Won't start in system tray  (Read 3858 times)

chooky

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Won't start in system tray
« on: February 22, 2009, 10:27:49 AM »
Process Tamer used to start in the system with no configure window showing now every time it starts I have to close the configure window. Any way of fixing this?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Won't start in system tray
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2009, 06:06:45 PM »
never heard of this problem.. can you try deleting any process tamer entries from the start menu and confirming that PT does not start automatically when you boot.  then try running it manually and confirm it doesnt show config when it starts.  then if all that works, check the option saying to start with windows and see if that happens ok.

chooky

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Won't start in system tray
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2009, 09:32:59 PM »
I moved ProccessTamer out of the startup folder. Rebooted and ProccessTamer did not start. I then started it from the desktop and the config screen came up. Running ProcessTamerTray.exe directly from Windows Explorer gives the same result. ProcessTamerTray.exe is 212KB.
This is the target from the shortcut.
"C:\Program Files (x86)\ProcessTamer\ProcessTamerTray.exe"
Changing the run Normal window or Minimized makes no difference.

Here is ProcessTamer.ini

[General]

Program=ProcessTamer



[GuiConfig]

FileVersion=1

Window.Left=300

Window.Top=183

Window.Width=510

Window.Height=422

ActivePage=1

HideLowCPUs=1

CheckBoxRemoveOldProcs=1

StartWithWindows=0

SortOrder_CpuInstant=0

SortOrder_CpuAvg=0

SortOrder_AppName=0

SortOrder_Priority=0

SortOrder_Rule=0



[Settings]

LeftClickLaunch=

LaunchCaption=

Logging=0

BalloonTipsTame=1

BalloonTipsUnTame=1

BalloonTipsExplicit=1

BalloonTipsForeground=0

ForegroundBoost=1

ForegroundProtect=1

AutoRunHighPriority=1

CpuTriggerHigh=70

CpuTriggerLow=8

CpuMinInterval=8

CpuSmoothing=80

TameCpuEnable=1

DoubleClickMethod=2



[Rules]

RuleStrings=




In the registry HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-4088112083-3976415086-2754777626-1002\Software\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\nView\WindowManagement\processtamerconfigurator
IndividualSettings = 0

Weird isn't it?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Won't start in system tray
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2009, 10:19:31 PM »
sounds like there is a configuration in your nvidia nview controlling how process tamer configurator is displayed.. maybe that has something to do with it.  look in your nvidia config and remove any setting for it maybe.

question: have you put in a license key yet? check the about box.. maybe if license is expired this will happen.

 if not try putting one in from: http://www.donationc...r.com/Keys/index.php

chooky

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Won't start in system tray
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2009, 04:16:30 AM »
I reinstalled with a new key unfortunatelty this did not fix anything. I think the nvidia entry in the registry is just to say it isn't doing anything with it.

So what is telling ProcessTamerConfigurator.exe to run?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Won't start in system tray
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2009, 04:29:06 AM »
why don't you email me directly and i can try to help more and we can post the solution when we find it, rather than try to talk back and forth here. (mouser@donationcoder.com)