Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:54:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: AHK script for easy FARR win resize  (Read 2891 times)

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
AHK script for easy FARR win resize
« on: January 09, 2009, 04:04:00 PM »
Here's a small AHK script for easy toggling the FARR win width between two sizes. Very convenient if you like me prefer a small FARR win as default but still often need to increase the width to see long file names.

; AHK (Autohotkey) script for easy FARR win resize, by nod5
^CapsLock::
WinGetPos, , ,w,H,A     
WinGet, active_p, ProcessName, A
if active_p = FindAndRunRobot.exe
 {
  if (W != 258)
   WinMove, A, , , , 258,
  else
   WinMove, A, , , , 450,
 }
Return

Things you can tweak: The widths 258 and 450. The hotkey (but control + capslock is pretty handy!)

d4ni

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AHK script for easy FARR win resize
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 05:37:44 PM »
It's usually better to use relatives like a ratio of @DesktopWidth (this is how the built-in variable is called in Autoitv3, not sure how AHK calls it). For example, @DesktopWidth/5 for standard and @DesktopWidth/4 for wide (just throwing some random numbers here). This ensures FARR takes up the same size on any resolution (relative to the resolution of the screen).

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AHK script for easy FARR win resize
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 10:45:22 AM »
But why is that better?  :tellme: I'm at 1280x1024. If I moved to higher resolution I can't think of a reason to also want to increase the FARR window size.

Anyway, the relevant autohotkey variables are:
A_ScreenWidth
A_ScreenHeight

d4ni

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AHK script for easy FARR win resize
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 01:25:21 PM »
Uhm, yes you might want that. Farr would be harder to read at a higher resolution as it gets smaller relatively. Farr is about 1/3 of my screen width. I would like to keep it that way. At 640x480 it would otherwise take up like 88% of my screenwidth, which is something I would not want. Not that I ever use 640x480 ;)