Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 09:08:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Problem with network adapter  (Read 7490 times)

iggy67

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Problem with network adapter
« on: December 14, 2008, 01:11:56 PM »
I recently upgraded my network driver because I was getting errors connecting to the web. After the upgrade that fix the errors, but now  network adapter keeps saying it can't find a suitable network driver.
It keeps failing every time. I can't rollback the driver because if I do that, I start getting the connection errors again.

Windows Vista Home Premium
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, 2400 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB
Network: Marvell Yukon 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller

I have no firewall installed.






mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 05:17:12 PM »
can you try setting the network adapter manually in the advanced options dialog?

iggy67

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 05:33:40 PM »
can you try setting the network adapter manually in the advanced options dialog?

Thankx, That done the trick.

dlanor

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Bad test URL caused the problem with network adapter
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2008, 06:40:56 AM »
I had this same problem when I installed and tested URLSnooper today (for the first time btw). Every attempt to find and test a network adaptor resulted in a red string saying "Failed", even though the progress messages during the test showed that multiple packets were being exchanged through that adaptor.

Switching to 'Advanced Mode' showed me that the test is based on finding a specific string (by default "/* breadcrumbs */") on a specific web page (by default "http://www.google.com/css/screen.css"), and when I tested the same default URL in Firefox I found that the page no longer exists (404 message), which is not at all surprising since it belongs to google. They have every right to alter their pages as they please. It would be better for the test URL to refer to some page over which you (the programmer I mean) can exercise some control, over both its continued existence and its specific content.

Editing the test URL and the test string to suit one of the pages I commonly used, which is very stable, I was able to use the automatic test function successfully, so I've already solved the problem for my own needs. But to aid future users, it would be better to modify the release package, to use an existing (and hopefully stable) web page for these tests.

Best regards: dlanor

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2008, 07:41:43 AM »
thanks dlanor -- i will certainly change the default adapter test page.

actually for a very long time the test url pointed to a page on donationcoder.. but a few people were scared that the program was "phoning home" to our website and might be tracking them or something, so that's why i changed the default page to google, and made it user-configurable.

keep in mind the auto network adapter detection is 100% optional, and is not nesc. to use the program -- the easiest way is to set the adapter manually.

lv_richy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2009, 03:46:50 PM »
Windows Ultimate 64bit
Processor: Intel (R) Core(tm) 2 DUo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Network: Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Controler

I've got error: it can't find a suitable network driver

Instaled newest Url snooper, Added Url snooper to firewall, run program as administrator, changed auto detect adapter test URL, but still have this error. Is there sometnig I can do?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2009, 10:09:35 PM »
turn off auto detect, see if you can select your adapter manually.

nnguru

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with network adapter
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2009, 06:44:35 AM »
I have used URL Snooper since July 08 with Sprint Mobile Broadband and Sierra 595u.

I just installed new Sprint s/w for my Sierra 595u.

Auto adapter selection stopped working, so I installed URL Snooper latest version.  Same problem.
I triied manual selection in advanced mode -- best choice of 3 seemed to be Sierra Wireless EM56xx Adapter (others are WAN and ...generic).

I get no url stream for any choice of 3.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance.