Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 25, 2014, 01:43:13 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?  (Read 8569 times)
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,306

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 31, 2008, 04:49:18 AM »

Lately I have taken up the habit of copying audio sound files from the various programs I am testing, into (XP) Windows NT > Pinball. Of course many files comes with the same names, sound1, sound2, etcetera, and I will have to rename these. But this (Copy To ...) is where Windows (XP) is pi**** me off: why am I only asked if I want to replace, yes, no, or cancel? I simply cannot understand why I not am offered to rename the doublet file names, by hand or automatically. Any unzipper will offer this totally basic feature, so why not Explorer itself?

What do you do?  tellme (except for not using Explorer at all, that is!) I have all sorts of programs to help me, but none for this feature. (Or did I forget?) Is there some specialist on this 'Copy & (auto-)rename' feature, for XP's Explorer?

Logged
Dirhael
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 355


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 06:49:15 AM »

I belive TeraCopy should take care of this for you. It can register itself as the default copy handler so it will work just fine with just about any file manager, including explorer smiley
Logged

Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
ssoundman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 46


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 12:16:20 PM »

TeraCopy rocks! I've been using it for over a year, and lately have been using the beta version (2.0 beta 3) with no adverse effects.

You have choices such as replace, replace all, skip, skip all, overwrite, and overwrite all. Very nice! Kiss
Logged
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 12:27:52 PM »

My only beef with Teracopy (which is at beta 4, BTW) is that it doesn't automatically recognise source and target folders when using TC or DOpus (both of which it includes instructions for integrating with). If I have the source and target folders open in separate panes, I'd like to be able to configure Teracopy operations without having to select folders from its interface...
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
ssoundman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 46


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 12:31:33 PM »

I obviously haven't checked for updates very recently.  tellme  I'll be taking care of that in a couple of minutes...

I forgot to mention that I use it with Windows Explorer on XP.
Logged
ssoundman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 46


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 12:32:01 PM »

Thanks, Darwin!
Logged
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 460


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 12:36:05 PM »

ZTreeWin can do sequential rename. But this is far away from Windows Explorer (thanks God!).
Logged
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2008, 01:07:22 PM »

Heh, heh - back on topic  embarassed Dopus will let you do this, Curt! It's kind of a pricey solution, though, isn't it?!

I'm pretty sure that Xyplorer, Xplorer2, and others will do this as well:

I simply cannot understand why I not am offered to rename the doublet file names, by hand or automatically.
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,306

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2008, 02:16:07 PM »

I tried TeraCopy for a couple of days, but it was not stable on my unstable XP. Not at all. (Edited: It is my "feeling" that it was colliding with M8 Spartan clipboard.) I am getting more and more excited to take my new Vista into use!
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 02:20:52 PM by Curt » Logged
skywalka
Member
**
Posts: 253


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2009, 06:22:40 AM »

I use SuperCopier:
http://supercopier.sfxtea...ndex.php?sel_lang=english

I did lose data a few times moving files on a network though.  Now that I've personalised the settings I don't seem to have that problem anymore.  If you are copying not moving then I can recommend it.

I haven't looked at the Robocopy GUI:
http://technet.microsoft.....11.utilityspotlight.aspx

Logged
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 883


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 09:12:31 AM »

My only beef with Teracopy (which is at beta 4, BTW) is that it doesn't automatically recognise source and target folders when using TC or DOpus (both of which it includes instructions for integrating with). If I have the source and target folders open in separate panes, I'd like to be able to configure Teracopy operations without having to select folders from its interface...
Now Teracopy integrates fine with TC.  Here are the button scripts :
Parameters for copy : Copy *"%L" "%T"
Parameters for move : Move *"%L" "%T"
works with last versions of TC and Teracopy

Also note that TC proposes auto-rename when copying a file to another with the same name.
Logged

.merle1.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.06 ]