Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 01:10:48 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?  (Read 9920 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 6,756
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Lately I have taken up the habit of copying audio sound files from the various programs I am testing, into (XP) Windows NT > Pinball. Of course many files comes with the same names, sound1, sound2, etcetera, and I will have to rename these. But this (Copy To ...) is where Windows (XP) is pi**** me off: why am I only asked if I want to replace, yes, no, or cancel? I simply cannot understand why I not am offered to rename the doublet file names, by hand or automatically. Any unzipper will offer this totally basic feature, so why not Explorer itself?

What do you do?  :tellme: (except for not using Explorer at all, that is!) I have all sorts of programs to help me, but none for this feature. (Or did I forget?) Is there some specialist on this 'Copy & (auto-)rename' feature, for XP's Explorer?


Dirhael

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 382
    • View Profile
    • defreitas.no
    • Donate to Member
I belive TeraCopy should take care of this for you. It can register itself as the default copy handler so it will work just fine with just about any file manager, including explorer :)
Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.

ssoundman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 12:16:20 PM »
TeraCopy rocks! I've been using it for over a year, and lately have been using the beta version (2.0 beta 3) with no adverse effects.

You have choices such as replace, replace all, skip, skip all, overwrite, and overwrite all. Very nice! :-*

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,983
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 12:27:52 PM »
My only beef with Teracopy (which is at beta 4, BTW) is that it doesn't automatically recognise source and target folders when using TC or DOpus (both of which it includes instructions for integrating with). If I have the source and target folders open in separate panes, I'd like to be able to configure Teracopy operations without having to select folders from its interface...
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

ssoundman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 12:31:33 PM »
I obviously haven't checked for updates very recently.  :tellme:  I'll be taking care of that in a couple of minutes...

I forgot to mention that I use it with Windows Explorer on XP.

ssoundman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 12:32:01 PM »
Thanks, Darwin!

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 12:36:05 PM »
ZTreeWin can do sequential rename. But this is far away from Windows Explorer (thanks God!).

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,983
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2008, 01:07:22 PM »
Heh, heh - back on topic  :-[ Dopus will let you do this, Curt! It's kind of a pricey solution, though, isn't it?!

I'm pretty sure that Xyplorer, Xplorer2, and others will do this as well:

I simply cannot understand why I not am offered to rename the doublet file names, by hand or automatically.
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 6,756
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2008, 02:16:07 PM »
I tried TeraCopy for a couple of days, but it was not stable on my unstable XP. Not at all. (Edited: It is my "feeling" that it was colliding with M8 Spartan clipboard.) I am getting more and more excited to take my new Vista into use!
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 02:20:52 PM by Curt »

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I use SuperCopier:
http://supercopier.s...php?sel_lang=english

I did lose data a few times moving files on a network though.  Now that I've personalised the settings I don't seem to have that problem anymore.  If you are copying not moving then I can recommend it.

I haven't looked at the Robocopy GUI:
http://technet.micro...tilityspotlight.aspx


MerleOne

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 941
  • 4D thinking
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Copy (in Explorer): Replace: yes/no/cancel, only. Why not '(auto-)rename'?
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 09:12:31 AM »
My only beef with Teracopy (which is at beta 4, BTW) is that it doesn't automatically recognise source and target folders when using TC or DOpus (both of which it includes instructions for integrating with). If I have the source and target folders open in separate panes, I'd like to be able to configure Teracopy operations without having to select folders from its interface...
Now Teracopy integrates fine with TC.  Here are the button scripts :
Parameters for copy : Copy *"%L" "%T"
Parameters for move : Move *"%L" "%T"
works with last versions of TC and Teracopy

Also note that TC proposes auto-rename when copying a file to another with the same name.
.merle1.