Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 02, 2014, 03:24:32 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR not saving history anymore..  (Read 4408 times)
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 13, 2008, 02:25:13 PM »

Before this whatever I launch will always appear in the history list.. but in the past few weeks some of them not appear. I don't really know how this happen.. only some of them will appear in the history list, most of them not. This is quite annoying.

Any idea why?

EDIT:

Using FARR v2.30.01

Plugins Installed:

locate
farruninstall
klipkeeper
network connection
service control
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 02:28:22 PM by Kuntau » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 08:03:13 AM »

did you ever get this reolved?
you might try:
1) uninstalling all plugins -- problem still persists?
2) exit farr, rename settings ini file so that a new one is created -- problem still persists?
Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 08:11:26 AM »

The problem still there. The reason I never try uninstall/delete setting file is because I am too lazy to reconfigure FARR to my preference again  Grin
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 08:15:24 AM »

make sure you have settings similar to these:

If yours are different -- how?  the history scores option, if not checked, could cause the behavior you are talking about.

One thing you could do is go to the "Launch History" tab and clearing the contents..

--

ps. make a copy of your settings ini file so you can always restore it if you do something bad to it.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 08:34:53 AM by mouser » Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 08:17:00 AM »

make sure you have settings similar to these: (see attachment in previous post)If your's are different -- how?  the history scores option, if not checked, could cause the behavior you are talking about.

One thing you could do is go to the "Launch History" tab and clearing the contents..

--

ps. make a copy of your settings ini file so you can always restore it if you do something bad to it.

What is [ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ] ?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 08:34:41 AM »

that means i'm an idiot and forgot to attach my screenshot and didn't even notice when it told me so. see now.
Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 08:37:32 AM »

so my max history is only 9.. so I just can launch them using numpad. Did you think this bug related to this setting?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2009, 08:44:36 AM »

yes.
setting it higher wont affect being able to launch with numpad.

probably whats happening is that the newish feature that increases scores for history items that have been launched repeatedly is meaning that some newly launched programs dont make it onto the list.  try setting is to 30 or so.
Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2009, 08:52:07 AM »

hmm.. shouldn't the history list is for most recent launch only & not related to history score?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2009, 08:54:29 AM »

well it incorporates a scoring feature to insure that very frequently launched items dont get pushed off the list to easily.
Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2009, 08:56:17 AM »

Then I guess that really the reason. Is there any way I can turn of that feature?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2009, 08:59:08 AM »

yes, you could uncheck it in the heuristic scoring tab.. but first why dont you try changing history from 9 to 30 and see if that solves your problem.
Logged
Kuntau
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 90


My English is bad :(

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2009, 09:15:32 AM »

I guess that solve the problem.. so far I tried to launch couple of apps and all appear in the list.

But I guess turning off history score in heuristic is not a good idea because it help me if I really do search and not just relaunching recent apps.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,435



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2009, 09:21:28 AM »

I think if you uncheck this it will revert to old behavior where things are scored purely by their recency of being launched, rather than a combo of recency and frequency.  Either way you are still better of increasing from 9 to 30 or even 50 or 100.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.045s | Server load: 0.16 ]