Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 04:50:39 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Auto refresh - thumbnail view  (Read 7725 times)

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« on: November 20, 2007, 06:17:05 AM »
I love Screenshot Captor but the refresh problem is a real pain if you are attempting to rename a file because when it refreshes it aborts what you have typed so far. The latest release (23.37.03) still has it.

Done an un-install/delete folder then re-install and still present. Points to note

1) Yes, I use a non-standard folder for my files
2) No, it only has capture files (.png) and the objects files (.png.objects)

CmputrAce

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 03:49:46 PM »
Same here.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2008, 07:25:33 PM »
i will try to fix -- can you tell me a little clearer the best way to reproduce the problem?

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2008, 07:13:49 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Don't know what to say as to reproducing as it still does it to me. I have tried

1) Re-installing

2) Changing the folder back to default one (and copied all my files in there)

Still does it. This implies something on my configuration causes the problem. Can you tell us what triggers a refresh of the thumbnail view from within Screenshot Captor.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2008, 07:39:24 PM »
if it detects a file system change in the screenshot image directory it will refresh. (ie file deletion, rename, creation, etc.).

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2008, 07:30:34 AM »
Well, the "bug" lies with the program as far as I can see  :(. To prove this I

1) Started Process Monitor from System Internals and set a filter to include the screen shot folder.

2) Waited for several seconds and no captured events (there were 50,000+ events which were ignored /filtered out).

3) Opened Screenshot Captor from minimised state in the system tray and with no other activity / action from me Process Monitor captured 133,000+ events all from Screenshot Captor and the vast majority 'QueryOpen' on the files.

If I filter for this QueryOpen I find it did this 133,376 times in 23 seconds and there were only 380 other events. That seems like a hell of a lot of times it is looking at the files when nothing else is being done. Now as other people aren't seeing this the "bug" seems to be invoked by a configuration related item. Any ideas.

If you are interested the attached ZIP has the Process Explorer log file and the Screenshot Captor configuration files. System is XP Pro SP3 with Screenshot Captor 2.42.01



lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2008, 09:01:26 AM »
mouser, this seems to be a slightly different version of the problem i once had but as of version 2.36.03, it was resolved and no longer appeared.

hubi, try assigning the custom folder to a newly-created/empty folder and see if the problem persists.

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2008, 08:00:28 PM »
Seems good so far as follows

1) Created new folder and changed setting, exited & re-opened program as I run it resident. Looked good but then there are no files

2) Copied in a couple of existing files, seemed OK, exited & re-opened program

3) Copied in a whole heap more files, seemed OK, exited & re-opened program

Many thanks and very happy :) at the moment. Will keep you advised.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2008, 08:34:36 PM »
glad to see you finally tame the 'beast'. :)

but seriously, assigning custom folders with existing images do strange things to SC. :tellme:

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2008, 02:16:26 AM »
Well the bug is not really fixed but it is intermittent  :-\. I'm not aware of what triggers the behaviour but what I have observed is

1) Sometimes it does a few refreshes and then stops

2) SC is seems to rescanning the folder, can see the CPU usage of SC spiking in Process Explorer and these coincide with the refresh

Latest version of SC seems to handle this better than the previous version which use to transfer the focus away from whatever dialog I had open e.g. file rename or options.

Would it be at influenced by the fact that I have a lot of files in the folder, over 1600 ?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2008, 05:00:32 AM »
Quote
Would it be at influenced by the fact that I have a lot of files in the folder, over 1600 ?

most likely.

you might try configuring some MoveTo folders in options and move your screenshots into subdirectories so there aren't so many in the main screenshot window.

addendum:
what do you have your thumbnail size set to? i just set mine to "96x96 (fastest)" and i got the never-ending refresh bug!!!!
try a different setting if you have it set to this.

hubi

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Auto refresh - thumbnail view
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2008, 01:28:49 AM »
It was on "autosize" so have tried '160 x 120'.

I have been keeping all my screen shots as a "history" so may look at using 'Move To'.

Small note - help file does not line up with menus at the moment e.g. help indicates this is in 'General Settings' but under 2.42.01 it is now under 'Interface Options'.

Update: Setting to the fixed size seems to settle it down a fair bit. At times it still goes silly refreshing but mostly it seems to fix it.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 06:59:58 AM by hubi »