Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 30, 2014, 01:00:35 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: BrowserTraySwitch & Vista  (Read 7204 times)
nms1944
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 22, 2008, 09:48:15 AM »

Does BrowserTraySwitch work with Vista SP1????
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,411



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 12:55:19 AM »

the answer is i don't know, but i'd like to hear from people who've tried smiley
Logged
toby
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2009, 06:52:56 AM »

Hi, I used BrowserTraySwitch on Vista SP1.
However, Did not use it on vista.
I know differences appear between Windows XP and Vista.

Please, handle it on Vista.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,411



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2009, 04:05:58 PM »

hopefully it now works in vista in the latest version (2.03.01).
Logged
thomassvensen
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2009, 06:24:48 PM »

Hi, I just found this utility by reading the DonationCoder newsletter. And I think it is really, really cool! I tried to implement something similar myself, but soon realized that it wasn't the simple registry switch I had hoped for. Now, this is way beyond anything I could have done myself. The tray icon is true genius - finally a tray icon that render useful information, if only more of them had been like that!

Thomas
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,411



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2009, 06:27:58 PM »

Thanks for saying so Thomas!
I often wonder if anyone ever uses this program -- it's nice to hear that someone does.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,865



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 02:24:04 PM »

hopefully it now works in vista in the latest version (2.03.01).

I just tried it on Vista64 SP1.  Not quite sure what goes on with it but clicking on help in the Tray Menu would not show the help file.  When I did the install I selected "create desktop icon" and there was no icon.  I used a restore point after removal at that point.

I was looking for an easy way to set default browser, but it looks like if I want to do anything with URL redirection I'm going to have to bite the bullet and delve into the Registry default browser quagmire(it's even worse on 64 bit with those 3264Wow keys or whatever they are.)  Either that or send an email to the author of Browser Chooser.  His app sets about a dozen keys when you set it as default browser.

See I have AutoIt3 routine that can get the program path from the active window, so all it would take is associations where the user would set which browser to open when each app tries to open a URL using the default browser.  That part of the program would probably take a couple of days.  Playing with the registry keys would probably take another week of no fun slogging. smiley

edit: just as a wild guess I'm thinking maybe the help file didn't come up because Vista64 installs 32 bit programs in "C:\Program Files (x86)\" instead of "C:\Program Files\"    .. but anyway smiley
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 02:27:37 PM by MilesAhead » Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,411



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2009, 02:33:32 PM »

Miles,

Let me help you get BrowserTraySwitch working -- i've spent some time on it with x64 OS and vista, and it should work on all of those operating systems.  Sounds like something else is tripping you up with the program.

That's not to disuade you from entering this quagmire, but to help you -- because it's a jungle out there and i'd rather you benefit from my discovery of relevant registry keys than have to figure it all out from scratch.

Email me (mouser@donationcoder.com) and i can give you a list of registry keys, etc. for working with the default browser for your own creations.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,865



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2009, 06:55:15 PM »

Thanks.  I'd appreciate any clues.  I can read C++,C,asm,delphi,vb,c#,ruby,python and some other stuff I don't remember at the moment.  I'll figure it out if you send it. smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
BGM
Participant
*
Posts: 79


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2009, 10:19:18 AM »

Hello!  I like Browser Tray Switch very much.  I have to do web-work on computers that aren't my desk computer, so I carry around all my app-tools on a thumb drive.  I keep several browsers so I can log in under different logins and Browser Tray Switch helps immensely.

Problem however!  Sometimes I have to use a computer with Vista Home, SP2, and the Browser Tray Switch (the config works fine on XP) doesn't change the default.  The icon changes in the task bar, but there is no effect.  Please help!
-BGM
Logged

-BGM
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.01 ]