Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 02:09:14 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: need IE6 in Vista home  (Read 4188 times)

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
need IE6 in Vista home
« on: May 27, 2008, 04:46:07 PM »
Ok heres a cracker for you donation coder folk. You havent let me down yet! n this isnt going to be the time!
A web designer friend of mine recently got a nice new laptop, which runs vista home. however, problem when trying to run ie6 using the method before.
anyone know of a way it can be run, sandboxed or otherwise? i know virtual machines, but it seems you need the vista pro or higher to use them.

You know, I really do love donation coder. Its so the place to be! =D
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 04:59:56 PM »
Google with the following term:

"IE6eolasNT"

or "IE6eolas"

These should get you stand alone versions from IE. At least that version is running on my XP system.

mwb1100

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,522
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 05:10:36 PM »
My understanding is the Virtual PC 2007 will install and run on Vista Home, but it's not a 'supported' configuration and it will give warnings during install.  However, it is reported to work.  If you go that route, you can try running Microsoft's virtual Machine image that has WinXP with IE6 installed on it:

http://www.microsoft...F&displaylang=en

This image will expire on 3 July 2008.  Microsoft periodically updates the image with a new one that has a later expiration date (no telling when they'll decide to stop doing that, though).

Some other URLs that should have helpful information:

http://tredosoft.com...IE6_For_Vista_Part_1 (install IE6 on Vista - sort of)

http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE (run multiple versions of IE side-by-side. This does not work on Vista, but might still have useful information)

mwb1100

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,522
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2008, 05:33:02 PM »
Also, I should have mentioned that you can of course run whatever virtual machine host software you want on your Vista Home laptop.  As far as I know, the following support Vista Home Basic as a host platform with WinXP or Win2K as a guest VM:

  • VMware Workstation
  • VMware Player (free)
  • Parallels Workstation
  • VirtualBox (free)
  • Xen (if you have the right CPU) (free)

Also, Virtual PC 2007 is not supported, but is reported to still work.  With any of these VM platforms you can install your own non-expiring WinXP or Windows 2000 guest and have IE 6 available for as long as you need.

The advantage to this is that you're not dependent on Microsoft continually updating their IE6 test VM image and you don't have to use potentially system destabilizing hacks to get IE6 to run on your Vista system.

relequestual

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • AppAholic
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2008, 06:24:27 PM »
Google with the following term:

"IE6eolasNT"

or "IE6eolas"

These should get you stand alone versions from IE. At least that version is running on my XP system.
This is reported not to work on vista.

Note to mwb1100
cheers, i will let them know. cant test it myself, but thanks! =D
<a href="http://feeds.feedbur...om/~r/Appaholic/~6/3"><img src="http://feeds.feedbur....com/Appaholic.3.gif" alt="Are You An AppAholic?" style="border:0"></a>

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2008, 01:29:25 AM »
you could try IETester: http://www.my-debugb...ki/IETester/HomePage

i've not tried it with vista but it says on the homepage that it will work.

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,898
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2008, 04:45:21 AM »
What mwb1100 said. It is the recommended option from Microsoft to run multiple versions of IE side by side (via virtual pc)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: need IE6 in Vista home
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2008, 07:25:20 AM »