Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 05, 2016, 01:06:41 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space  (Read 9757 times)

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,897
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« on: January 24, 2008, 06:16:38 AM »
I'm sure this came up before, but FARR is unable to launch Windows Live Messenger. It runs the shortcut in my start menu, but when I run it with farr (it does come up in the results), nothing happens. Whether I have "always launch shortcuts directly instead of resolving links" selected (current) or not does not have any effect. Ah I see by default WLM shortcut has a space as the last character: "Windows Live Messenger ". When I remove that, FARR launches it.

Find+Run Robot v2.00.145
latest windows live messenger (filehippo.com)

I'm sure it did come up, but it's not in the official bugslist, and windows live messenger is quite a popular program.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,870
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 06:33:25 AM »
why on god's earth is there a space at the end of that file name?

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,897
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 07:35:45 AM »
it's not at the end of the filename but the name of the shortcut, i'll include a screenshot:
2008-01-24_133502.png
Google doesn't enlighten me to why this is, but donationcoder seems to crop up for often on my search results :D
« Last Edit: January 24, 2008, 07:38:23 AM by justice »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,717
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 09:45:00 AM »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 09:46:02 PM »
all because of a space?!?  ;D ;D ;D seriously, i've been tearing my hair out because Farr wouldn't open a AHK script. i've been poking file association settings in the registry. and by chance i found this thread, i'm totally relieved. thanks justice for discovering this anomaly.. :up:

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,897
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2008, 01:41:27 PM »
Armando discovered it first :)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2008, 07:09:34 PM »
Armando discovered it first :)

Oops! oh, thanks to you too, Armando.. :Thmbsup:

TrevorHart1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2008, 02:54:21 PM »
Hi all,

I had reported this back in December...

http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=11361.0

Trevor

TrevorHart1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2008, 07:04:40 PM »
My bad :( I should have read the whole post - thanks Armando!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2008, 08:27:40 PM »
My bad :( I should have read the whole post - thanks Armando!

TrevorHart1, what was the discussion between you & Armando? ;) [lanux128 being nosey].

justice

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,897
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that start with a space either :P
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2008, 03:32:10 AM »
OMG found another one: the shortcut for Artrage 2.5 Free edition starts with a space, which means it's another program FARR cannot launch. I think the stupid idea with this one is that it shows up as the first entry in its start menu group. Makes me wonder what kind of hacks are in the rest of the software, although it's a most excellent program.

To reproduce:
download artrage from http://www.ambientde...com/artragedown.html
install it (without desktop icon if it asks, can't remember0
try and launch it from FARR

If you know of any other software that this issue affects I'd recommend to post it in this thread. That way we get a better idea of the importance of this bug.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2008, 03:38:17 AM by justice »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2008, 12:08:19 PM »
i think we had more or less established that Farr can't execute programs/shortcuts with a trailing space. maybe it's time this problem is listed here.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,870
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2008, 08:44:59 PM »
on my todo list.

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,717
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2008, 12:18:51 AM »
[slightly off-topic]Why not using something like mantis for mouser's software bug reports/suggestions (pplandry got me "hooked" to mantis -- used for his SQL-Notes project...) ?

mouser could just give members the special permission to add a suggestion or bug reports to Mantis after proper forum discussion, when necessary. [/slightly off-topic]

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2008, 03:02:33 AM »
Armando, this may serve as an answer to your query. ;)

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,717
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2008, 06:04:23 AM »
Ooooooops! Oh well... Thanks lanux. :)

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #16 on: April 29, 2009, 09:04:46 AM »
Ahhh, so that was why I was never able to start Windows Live Messenger with FARR!

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Windows Live\Windows Live Messenger .lnk

Now why on earth did they put a space in there, just before the extension?

proxide

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2009, 08:31:07 AM »
hahaha :)

finally, an answer to the absurd weirdness i've been wondering about!!

farr rules

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,870
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2012, 10:13:04 AM »
I am testing a fix to this which should be in upcoming version 2.202 release.  Sorry it's taken so long to fix  :-[

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,870
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space
« Reply #19 on: September 30, 2012, 11:10:58 AM »
Alpha upload of just the new exe (not setup; replace existing exe with this one), for anyone who wants to test out the space fix and make sure i didn't break anything else in the process:

http://www.donationc...dAndRunRobot220a.zip